We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There needs to be a button above excellent for this one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There needs to be a button above excellent for this one”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to be pampered beyond you most wildest reaches of your imagination, you've found the place here. From the cool exotic fruit drink & floral scented refrigerated towels to the "Kob koon krab" that ends every sentence from a staff member you will be transported to a world you've always dreamed but never thought really existed but it does and it is here.

I recommend staying in the pool access rooms, we (currently) reside in room 2020. It's a HUGE, what is referred by staff as a family room. It is like a temple inside huge bed, with lounging beds that with 4 in the room you could comfortable sleep six people. The dark mahogany floors and ascents give you a feeling of peace & tranquility, couple that with the staff and the stress of life just floats away.
The room has a deck with loungers and a 4 foot walk you just slide into the Infinity Pool that you need to experience to believe. It is like a peaceful winding river that passed throughout the entire resort connecting other at least 4 other pools and a fabulous long swim up bar. If you go to the bar, say hello to "Wat" the most gracious and able bartender. He will alway greet you with a infectious smile.
A short swim from the bar and you step out to the ocean's white sand prestine beach. You have a vast selection of fine dining to choose from on site as well as genuine Thai open air restaurants along the beach. Do not miss out on that experience you will never regret it.

Th journey here is long from the USA but well worth the adventure of the travel. Let the journey begin.
"SPLASH"

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreasureDiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,364
    751
    170
    57
    28
See reviews for
1,063
1,664
53
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We travelled to the Marriott in February. We had an amazing time - other than one day of bad weather where we travelled to Patong. The hotel (and especially the staff) were amazing.

The resort is in Khoa Lak, which is a drive from Phuket airport (Patong is far closer but also a lot more overrun).

Service was perfect throughout, while not quite a five star hotel in say London (the vibe is different in Asia), the staff were very super friendly and would go out of their way to help if we asked for anything.

Rooms are quite large and stuff like flat screen TVs are all included. (There wasn't a specific German channel that we could find, but we are fluent in English so it was fine).

The beach is really nice, far better than any European beach we've been to! We loved the table tennis and volleyball.

Food was very good, breakfast buffet is huge and there are options just outside the hotel as well which were very cheap.

Will definitely recommend and come back. Thank you everyone at Marriott for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I travel regularly to Phuket and Vietnam for our holidays, and after discovering JW Marriott Khao Lak in 2010, we have been back four times already.

The resort is simply enormous, the pools endless, the quality of the rooms and amenities are always impeccable, and the staff remember us and welcome us back like we are family. It is by far and away the best resort in the South of Thailand (other than the Conrad in Koh Samui).

We have always stayed in a Pool Access room - which makes life easy, but this time we brought my nephews with us and stayed in the Family Suite. The kids had a ball in the swimming pool, and there was plenty of 'junk' food for them to tuck in to while we had some great seafood as well as Margarita pizza at Olive restaurant.

A minor complaint is that there needs to be a bit more attention around the swimming pool with providing guests towels and drinking water - but given the size of the pool - it may be a big task. It wasn't a big deal though, as we could easily find a towel boy - but it would be good to get that to match the level of service you receive everywhere else on the resort.

Also check out the German restaurant in main street of Khao Lak - great schnitzels and European food. Good value, and makes a nice break from dining at the resort.

That reminds me, the breakfast is phenomenal. Literally a dining hall full of options. Go the egg white omelette with mushroom.

If you have a bit of cash to spend, we also recommend getting one of the "signature treatments" at the Spa. It is divine. Pricey, but well worth it.

Will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This J W Marriott did stand up to its name and was a superb stay. We had organised here a FULL ON wedding party for three nights. Guests came from all over world. We had 220 rooms booked for us.
It has a exclusive beach front which is almost 3 Kilometers long with white sand and plenty of waves for surfing or just relaxing.
They do yoga classes on the beach if you want. Nice sports room , gym and spa.
Food is just perfect with in House Chinese, Indian , Italian, Thai and continental chefs. They have staff from almost all countries so language will definitely be NOT a problem.
They have huge swimming pool and the feeling is of staying in Bunglow rather than hotel rooms. The structure of the building roof tops is similar to Thai temples and is eye candy.

Its quite a distance from Phuket airport almost 1hrs 30 mins by car / van. Khao Lak town is like 25 mins drive and its just a strip of about 2 kilometers long with shops on either side of main road.

Its ideal for family weddings where everyone checks in and has a quality time fully arranged by hotel.
One can also come as couples or family for completely relaxed and pampered by hotel staff which is very friendly and courteous. Great spot for Honeymooners.

If you are looking for secluded peaceful and comfortable destination go for this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I struggle to review this hotel. Is it value for money; if you consider the poor service: "no", if you look at the location and pool "absolutely".
We travelled in December, two weeks at Christmas time. Our children, 5and7 loved loved LOVED the pool which is endless. At first we were given a room with difficult access to the pool, there was a little path down to the pool which runs by the rooms as a river. Especially getting back to your room was hard as there were no steps so the children couldn't easily get out. After requesting another room we were given a room in the "3000" part which was brilliant. There was a little transparent gate keeping kids from falling/jumping in the water, and steps to easily and safely get in and out of the pool.
The beach too is very nice, a broad stretch of white sand and a shallow water. However the see does tend to get rough so be careful with little ones and hold on to your trunks with those strong waves!
All the restaurants were of excellent quality the only HUGE minor issue was the service. Perhaps because of xmas time there was a lot of temporarily staff who clearly hadn't a clue, unfortunately they didn't get either that a smile gets you a long way.
We are silver members so get certain discounts. I found it quite annoying and at times embarrassing having to ask for these conditions to be applied as we had to sign off the bill at every lunch, dinner or drinks. Not once! did they get it right from the first time. To top it off on our last meal we had to send the check back FIVE times before they got it right.
I do have to say the F&B manager did his utmost to set things straight but the poor guy had to be all over the place.
Our children also loved the Christmas event, the hotel had arranged for a santa and gifts which was very special to them.
Also the kids' club is quite nice for an afternoon of fun when the sun's too hot.
We decided to not get worked up because of the bad service and had a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool access. However if you have young children ask for a room with steps to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meenanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've stayed at many many JW Marriott properties, including JW Phuket Thailand. We were a bit disappointed with JW Khao Lak. It felt a little run down, service was not 5 star and many of the details commonly found at a JW were missing. Beach Towels could only be found in 1 location (by the beach) and not at the other 5 pools, a very long walk with young children to get towels (if we were by the pool we had to wait 20+ minutes for my husband to go retrieve towels and bring them back)! There was NO pool side service as far as beverages/food. We had to constantly go get them and ask them if we could eat by our seats. Even on the beach, there was a tiny makeshift "food and drink" bar but again, they didnt come to us to see if we wanted anything. There really werent any water sports or activities on the beach either with the exception of boogie boards (which there was a long wait for), and Kayaks.

some great things included: elephant petting on the beach a few times a week, beautiful beach, easy beach for kids with some shade, occasional pool/beach front snacks, fresh surprise juices in the afternoon beach side (and sometimes pool side,this is where the inconsistencies came into play as well), cool towels at beach and some of the pools in the afternoon as well. The pool bar at the main pool was AMAZING! it was much larger than most pool bars, stools were easy to sit on, water shallow, and service was good (although at time slow). the food and drinks were quite good here too.

SAFETY note, the pool is BLACK and the steps and stools are hard to see. be careful it is easy to fall or miss a step and this pool is DEEP. Beautiful relaxing pool however!

When I booked the hotel I was told it was 2 years old. Wow! great! high expectations. It also says on the website it is a "flagship property". Later at check in my husband asked and the girl nervously said 6 or 7 years old. That seemed right (from what we could see at night as far as the condition of the hotel). The next day my mother asked how old the hotel was and she was told 3 years old. So I asked yet another person and was told "maybe 8 or 9". So we felt like something was "up". We happened to go on an elephant trek a few miles away and there was a memorial board to the Tsunami...we saw our hotel devistated, it was a Sofitel and that Tsunami was more than 9 yrs ago. it was all making sense.

I am fine with the fact that this property was previously owned by other companies and had been seriously rennovated after the devistating Tsunami, and I can respect the fact that they do not want to make that public knowledge or bring attention to the devistation. But the staff needs to be on the same page. and if they are going to call it a 2 year old hotel, it needs to LOOK like a 2 year old hotel. Our rooms had HUGE water stains down the wall over the TV (the wall was some sort of fabric), our showers were both broken (we had 2 rooms - they came and fixed them several times but still then spit water out of the handles), weeds were growing on roof tiles everywhere, the wooden eaves of buildings were falling down, most of the buildings needed a serious paint job, the pool and rec room looked like it had indeed had serious water damage (which again, I understand and sympathyze with, but fix it properly...you are a JW brand).

Probably our biggest complaint was at the main pool a make shift wooden (rickety, wobbly) "Deck" was construced at the edge of the pool. it was dangerous, hard to walk on, and painted black so very HOT. Please tear this out and pour a proper stone walk way/patio to be poolside.

Sorry to sound so negative but we have stayed at so many amazing JW properties.

I do want to say the little "cafe" Deli in the basement under the lobby is great. the girls there were wonderful and I highly suggest you drink tons of their fresh Thai Iced Tea and have a sandwich. we went up there often (too bad it was so far from the beach and our room). The snacks were yummy and service great!

Also, the little Shop up by the lobby selling Kashmir rugs...really great quality things. I have bought rugs all over the world (and my husband spends alot of time in North India and has bought rugs there). This shop offers some great rugs, one of a kind, top quality rugs! He is honest, knowledgeable, and has been in the business for a long time. He's a good negotiator, but he is willing to negotiate hard. I love the silk Kashmir rug I bought from him!

One other note, we did feel that as far as "resort restaurants and food" are concerned, their prices were good. the food was good, not quite great... although we did enjoy the Japanese and Thai restaurants two times each!

Room Tip: The rooms all seem good, it just depends what you want. I do recomend a ground level room where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well, it wasn't 3rd time lucky for me as I knew the Resort was brilliant; that's why I keep going back. This time I enjoyed more of the Resort activities that were available. Played tennis; did Yoga almost daily; hired a bike and did a trip to a local waterfall.
The Resort is still perfect in my opinion. Fabulous pool access rooms; the lagoon pools are just divine; breakfast has everything and the staff are just wonderful. You can do lots or nothing in Khao Lak. We went to the local Bang Niang market twice and it's fun. Cheap clothes or gifts and lovely food stalls.
Had a massage at the resort which was divine. Also had a massage in Khao Lak town and that was also relaxing. We went to the Japanese and Thai restaurants at the Resort and whilst they are more expensive than the local restaurants on the beach, the food was beautifully prepared and very tasty.
Tip - get your laundry done at Phens on the beach (first restaurant on right). They have it done in a day and do a geat job and it's very cheap.

Room Tip: Get laundry done at Phens restaurant on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
541 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
1.4 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#20 of 69 in Khao Lak
832 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 69 in Khao Lak
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Address: 41/12 Moo 3 | Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing