We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khaolak Paradise Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khaolak Paradise Resort
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in low season. Booked this after seeing the great reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Did not realise it was a Boutique Hotel with only 38 rooms and villa’s when booking and booked because we liked the sound of it being nestled in the jungle yet had easy access to the beach. There was a great pool and being low-season travellers we virtually had the place to ourselves. This said, I’m sure with only 38 rooms you would not struggle to get a sun-bed or space by the pool in high season. The town is only 10 minutes walk & you can get on a tuk-tuk for 50bhts per person, therefore a ride to town and back is 200bhts for 2 people. The hotel hires mopeds for 250bhts per 24 hours, so this is a no brainer and we hired the moped instead. The hotel is on the South side of the village and my initial thoughts were that it may be slightly away from immediate amenities, however this is not the case and enjoys both a quiet location within easy reach of village life & amenities.

We stayed in a room, which was part of a block of 4 with grass roof. Room was large with sea-view balcony & had a large bathroom with both walk in shower and bathtub. The shutters by the bathtub opened onto to room so you could enjoy the view from beyond the balcony. Toiletries were included. There was free wifi throughout the hotel rights down to the beach. In room safe, aircon, fridge, flat screen TV, kettle etc. Basically everything you would need for a decent stay, complete with complimentary water everyday.

We loved the fact that the accommodation was nestled in the jungle and you were surrounded by trees and shrubs and the noise of the insects and frogs at night was amazing.

The pool area and bar were immaculate and the sun beds were on an area covered by palm trees before you stepped onto the beach.

Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful. The resort is not new and blends into the surrounding in such a way you hardly notice the other guest accommodation.

Highly recommend and would not hesitate to re-book.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Petegaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    33
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
109
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. They upgraded us to a beachfront villa at no up-charge. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Pool is wonderful, beach is very nice. You really feel like you are in the jungle at this resort. Resort feels very low key, local feeling, thatched hut-like buildings. There is a restaurant on site and one night, they offered a traditional Thai buffet, Thai dancing w/ entertainment and the traditional sending of the Thai lanterns over the ocean. We loved our stay and would highly recommend this property. Town is about 10 minutes away walking-5 minute Tuk-tuk ride. There is a natural park about a 10 minute walk from the resort which is a nice morning activity. Food at the resort is very good and there are other restaurants nearby. We went scuba diving to the Similan Island one day through Captain Mark and would also highly recommend his tour group.

Room Tip: Closer to the sea the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gsculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This really deserve the name. It is located in the jungle with an amazing garden and a fantastic little own beach but without a fence. You are truly direct in the nature and the rooms are clean very nicely designed and huge. We stayed there with the entire family and it doesn't get boring within that fantastic nature. The kids could explore jungle in the own hotel garden and the staff is very polite and always there if you need them. Fantastic! Food is excellent and only the limited choice of main courses is the only little negative item we have explored. Bit there is a number of nice places within a distance of a taxi ride for 100 bht. Try it, you will love it

Room Tip: We have chosen the two beach villas - they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImmerUnterwegs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a great small resort. Rooms are in small blocks. We had a standard room, and were upgraded when we extended our stay to a very superior room. The staff are attentive and friendly, but not overbearing. You do not have to fight for a sun bed, as there are plenty. Breakfasts are excellent and there is an added bonus of welcome fruit every afternoon whilst sunbathing. The gardens are lovely and give a feeling of seclusion. There is a good beach bar next door.
We extended our stay because we were enjoying the comfort of this place so much. Nit is in ideal position for a quiet, relaxing holiday, but in walking distance of the town. Couldn't be better. Good tour agency in the beach bar too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willcp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Set on the slope down to the beach, with the restaurant and pool right by the beach, the accommodations are scattered among trees and boulders giving a sense of seclusion. Wonderful setting and our room, though set back from the beach, had a nice view of the ocean through the trees. The room itself was a little disappointing, it wasn't as clean as it could have been plus it was billed as a luxury room which it fell short of. It may have been unfortunate timing but the room seemed unfinished, wardrobe door hanging off its hinges, divider between the bedroom and the bathroom could not close etc etc. The bed was very, very firm and we've enjoyed better linens but they were ok. The bathroom was roomy and adequate but there was a shortage of towel rails and no extractor fan. The breakfast was good, a nice selection of Asian and European food. The coffee offered was dire; ask for coffee from the bar machine, it is then freshly made and very good. The staff were friendly and efficient-ish (?), few of them seemed to be genuinely happy and friendly. The room cleaning service seemed to focus more on producing animals out of towels than actually cleaning the room. We did dine at the resort a couple of evenings and whilst the menu was not very adventurous, the food was good, but it was more expensive than in town, some 10 to 15 minute walk away, and many guests seemed to ignore the resort restaurant and head for town. It's a shame because in the evening, the tables are candlelit and right on the beach; very romantic. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the resort but it just fell short of what we expected, no single thing, just an overall impression.

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper level in a block of four. It had nice views over the landscaping to the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A 5 star resort, the best I stayed in while in Thailand. Truly a paradise, wonderful garden with some wild life, very well taken care of and designed with small beautiful lake and nice alleys, very beautiful beach and very nice villas scattered in the forest or near the beach. Quiet and splendid. Great relaxation time on terrace and on the beautiful beach. Staff very helpful and not at all exagerrated. We were watched for assistance, but discretely, so we had the feeling that our privacy was respected. The reception woman very professional and helpful. We got wet towels and cold juices on our arrival and were very much appreciated. Other nice surprisses included a basket of fruits in the room, lots of fruits at breakfast and nice animals made of towels and flowers by the room cleaning staff;

Room Tip: Rooms we had: 504 on the second level, 501, 502 ground floor were excellent. The rooms number 201...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marievandongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 16 nights and enjoyed every one of them. The hotel is built in line with nature, meaning it looks as if it has always been there! The biggest "blocks" only have 4 rooms in them, so it is really a rather small resort.

We stayed at a beachfront villa and it was perfect with direct view over the beach, sunloungers facing the beach and a spacious bathroom with a jacuzi. Would certainly recommend booking this if you are planning on staying at the resort.

The food at the restaurant is some of the best in the area, there is a small beachbar next door, as well as a massage place and a tour operator - what more do you need for a good vacation? :-)

Room Tip: Beachvilla 101 has the best view of the two villas as 102 is closer to the wall of the perimeter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banko-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.0 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.0 mi away
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Baan Krating Khao Lak
#42 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Khaolak Sunset Resort
Khaolak Sunset Resort
#54 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khaolak Laguna Resort
Khaolak Laguna Resort
#1 of 4 in Khuk Khak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Paradise Resort

Property: Khaolak Paradise Resort
Address: 26/24 Moo7, Khuk Khak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Paradise Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Khaolak Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing