We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Merlin Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khaolak Merlin Resort
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 12 nights at the Merlin Hotel. It truly is a gem set in a jungle of fragrant flowers and with plenty of pools for all. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Khao Lak is a very beautiful resort with spectacular beaches which were very quiet whilst we were there. There enough restaurants locally to the hotel to offer a choice of venue and all were extremely reasonable in price - average meal was less than £8 including a couple of cocktails/beers. Only thing that is expensive is wine.
Excellent excursion prices if booked locally at the Khao Lak Elephant Trekking travel agency at far end of town - did the Similan Islands - stunning; elephant trekking and kayaking - brilliant and James Bond and kayaking - great but very touristy.
Overall this was a brilliant holiday booked through Best at Travel using the hotels taxi for transfers. Would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: We had a standard superior room that had plenty of space and a lovely balcony overlooking one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skifans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    241
    45
    7
    7
See reviews for
154
417
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel is built on a hillside so lots of ramps and steps - definitely NOT for someone with walking difficulties but superb in every other way.
A few minutes by bus south of Khao Lak and on a gorgeous sandy beach the main reception is large and cool. The Superior (= standard) rooms are quite big with comfortable beds, sunken baths and efficient air conditioning. The deluxe rooms are so much bigger and with big seperate shower cubicles, big enough or four or five adults (no we didn't!!!!!). Again the air conditioning is brilliant and, with temperatures in the high thirties, it needed to be.
Lunch was served in the sea front restaurant which meant a long descent if you were in the upper part of the resort - and, of course, the reverse journey was a long ascent!!!
Breakfast and evening meals were served in a beautiful restuarant called The Veranda which was in the higher regions....close to the reception area.
Evening meals teneded to be a choice between themed buffet or a la carte, One night the buffet would be in the Veranda, a la carte at the sea front, next night vice versa so pleanty of choice for both venue and food served.
At both venues the food was superb and the staff were pleasant in the extreme. It was hard to believe these people work for less a day than most of us earn per hour - and I'm talking minimum wage UK here.
The spa was a beautiful experience (an aroma therapy massage) and I lost count of the number of pools....some very small but all clean and blended in with the almost jungle feel of the resort.
Good choice of drinks for all inclusive....better than its sister resort in Patong and plenty of menu choice too.
A great place for a quiet romantice stay.

Room Tip: Don't go here if you are not good on your feet....the steps/ramps with the high temperatures and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howard_leroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Arried back yesterday from one of the most amazing holidays I've ever had! Where the hotel is situated is lovely and it has a great beach. The rooms were cleanced everyday and were always spotless. The main thing myself and partner loved about the hotel was the staff, they couldn't do enough for you. The restauant staff in the tropical garden and the bar in particular. Gutted to be back home and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2weeks at Easter with my husband and 2children. What a great time. Lovely interconnecting rooms over looking pool 4. Very quiet room so good sleep , only the frogs could be heard. Breakfast was plentiful. Lovely banana milkshakes at the beach bar. Lunch by the beach was so good especially the pad Thai! Evening meals were good with lots of variation and in the 2different restaurants. We had great fun with the staff at the beach bar , they are trying very hard to learn English.
We did some trips with mr moo which were great value for money , only 1bad tour guide. A lot cheaper than first choice.
We loved this hotel and had an amazing holiday. I don't understand people saying first choice will ruin the little village and restaurants by going all inclusive as when we were there only 20guests were with first choice!
Would definatly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saa661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in April . We were very happy with the hotel, the room was nice , well equipped with hairdryer , safe , fridge although we could have done with more space for hanging clothes but we managed. Cleaned every day with beach towels left too as well as toiletries etc. Bed was a bit lumpy , think the mattress topper just needed a good shake out ! And the air con was a bit noisy but we had to have it on it was just too hot otherwise.
Our room was quite high up and a little way to the beach, we didn't mind but if you have a trouble walking up stairs them you may struggle a bit.
Breakfast was lovely, different things everyday in the hot area as well as the egg counter for omelettes and poached eggs etc. lots of bread and cakes too as well as cold meat and cheeses. Staff all friendly and helpful.
Free wifi in lounge area , only used it a couple of times .
We ate in the hotel when we arrived and also at the Thai buffet night which was lovely as we could try lots of different foods which were all delicious.
Lots of little restaurants around the hotel, we like Pete's bar and restaurant, turn right along the beach and you come to a little row of restaurants right at the end . The food was great here so much choice and the taste and quality was brilliant along with the prices, £12 for 2 courses each with 2/3 beers each.
The beach was beautiful at the Merlin, lovely walks in both directions, during our second week the high tide was very high and the waves came crashing right up to the edge of the hotel grass. The rest of the time it was fine for swimming in, so warm and clean.
The fact that no sunbeds are allowed on the beach makes it much nicer . There were plenty of sunbeds available in the hotel grounds, if you couldn't get an umbrella it was just as easy to move the sunbed under the many trees for some shade. Nicer actually as the umbrella s were all a bit on top of each other really.
We had a lovely relaxing chilled holiday here and would recommend this hotel. Not many children either !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank konatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive.food fab,drinks okay.staff are lovely and cant do enough for you.room4259 ok but not much hanging or draw space.beautiful beach and warm sea.wiifi only in lobby bar which is far too hot.there isnt a public area with air con and that was a real down side for us as it was around 34 + degrees and very humid so no where only room to get some respite.had a wonderful 2 weeks.not sure i would go back to this hotel.not a luxurious hotel and missing some of the extra touches that make it special.(was our 30th wedding anniversary) we had a great time though,met some lovely people.elephant trecking good fun,lady boy show was fun,patong good to visit for the day but i thought it was tacky and sleazy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We just had 6 magnificent nights here in a pool access room, with our two teenage girls. Well worth the extra expense for this room type as we had our own "private" pool with waterfall right off the balcony. These rooms are numbered around 3132 to 3145 and worth going for. Room itself was nice, although agree with previous comment that the mattress was a bit lumpy... But that was solved by asking for a "soft overlay". We found all the staff to be very friendly and ready to help. The 5 pools are all very well maintained. During our time, we found the beach to be excellent, not rough at all and no currents. The food was excellent at the places we visited within the resort, which included the main restaurant on Thai Buffet night, Beach bar, Verandah bar and even room service. The grounds are simply beautiful, with a very large grass area leading up to the beach. We used the free shuttle bus service to Khao Lak town a couple of times which our teenagers enjoyed to satisfy their shopping cravings.

This is our 4th trip to Thailand and the family voted this the best resort so far. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.9 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 64 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
10.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#14 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
8.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#11 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Merlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Merlin Resort

Property: Khaolak Merlin Resort
Address: 7 7 Phetkasem Road, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Merlin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Khaolak Merlin Resort is a deluxe resort with style inspired by Thailand's rich culture, situated approximately 50 minutes away from Phuket International Airport yet set amongst peaceful tropical forest landscape and tranquil beaches. It has direct access to 190 meters of Khao Lak Beach front and is surrounded by 15 acres of lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Khaolak Merlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Merlin Khao Lak
Khaolak Merlin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing