We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khaolak Merlin Resort
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

There isn't one thing i can fault this hotel about. Its a beautiful hotel, in a beautiful, unspoilt area of Thailand. The room we stayed in was perfect, always kept spotless. There was an amazing selection of food at breakfast and in an evening and we ordered room service a few evenings which was amazing as well.
There was loads of trips to book on to from the hotel at reasonable prices and TukTuk's waiting just outside the hotel ready to take you into the small centre of Khao lak if you wanted.
One of the best holidays and most beautiful hotels i have stayed in so far...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 964 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at the Merlin in Khao lak and I can't find a bad word to say about it. Khao lak is 1hr north of Phuket airport and as soon as you arrive it is too easy to relax.
The grounds are beautiful and the kids loved having 5 swimming pools to try out!
The staff are lovely and the service is excellent. The rooms are 5 star and did I mention how beautiful the grounds are.
Breakfast was outstanding and a good walk along the beach was required to make room for more great thai food.
We had 4 rainy days and the rest were fine, but the rain didn't stop us going for a dip in the pools.
Overall a very relaxing stay.
Outside of the hotel in the village there are a few good places to eat as well as lot's of places to get a massage; my wifes tip was the Lovely massage .
For the best food in the area we got a taxi into Khoa lak and kept going back to Hill Tribe.
The Tutle sanctury is a must and a trip to the waterfalls and white sand beach is also a must.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed for one week from 6/6/13 to 13/6/13 in room 2301 overlooking the old spa pool.
The room was very modern and recently built and kept spotless by the maid.
All the staff were beautiful and very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble.
I had breakfast every day and ate dinner on a few occasions in the hotel.The food was excellent.
I would agree with previous reviews that the local restaurants, Bamboo and Roy Yim, were better value.
The bar in the hotel was a little expensive compared to the local bars.
The hotel fronts onto the beach which again is beautiful and not crowded.
There is a beach bar about 300 mts along the beach to the left of the hotel that serves beautiful ice cold drinks.
I would recommend Mr Moo tours along the beach to the right of the hotel. Ask for tours operated by Mr Char - the Khao Lak tour guide. Excellent

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurence72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived at khao lak merlin resort on 27th may 2013 by taxi from Phuket airport (1600 tbt) around an hours drive. Returned to Phuket airport by hotel taxi (1800 tbt) on 11th June.

Weather: majority of the days were sunny, however we had rain nearly every night and around 5 days we had rain through the day, only for an hour or so. The last few days of the holiday we had torrential rain and cloudy all day.

Places to eat: we ate at the hotel restaurant twice for tea, twice for lunch. Food very nice however more expensive than restaurants outside of the hotel, 1500 tbt (£35 approx) for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 drinks, 1 dessert).. Drinks at the hotel also expensive, coca cola 60tbt at hotel 18tbt at the local shop. We bought water, beer and snacks from the local shop (turn left outside hotel, go down the road and turn left at the bottom of the road and the shop is on your left. We mainly ate in khao lak village, which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel, again turn left out of the hotel, go down the road and turn right at the end. There are a few choices of restaurants, an Italian, a Thai/Seafood restaurant called Mali and two Thai restaurants that we really liked. The first restaurant called bamboo in khao lak village, our meals were on average 400-500 tbt (£10-12) for 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 drinks. The second restaurant we really liked was called Roy Yim, again similar prices to Bamboo, pineapple chunks free of charge before the meal and a shot of Thai whiskey when you have finished your meal. Try the coconut curry with grilled chicken - amazing! Roy Yim has a lovely garden attached, with water features and lots of wildlife. You can hear the bull frogs, lizards and birds all around you while you eat. Cocktails 100tbt and music playing in the background! The service at both Bamboo and Roy Yim is excellent, friendly staff, fast service. The only problem we had with both restaurants was being sat next to smokers!! This was a problem everywhere we went, including in the hotel lobby lounge and by the pool/beach. We also tried another few restaurants in khao lak centre (160tbt one way, hotel will also pick you up at arranged time) called the Viking restaurant and Mojo. Viking was average food, lots of English food and we found the restaurant to be very expensive, would not recommend. Mojo offered great service, lovely food but again was more expensive than the restaurants in khao lak village. I was disappointed with khao lak centre as there didn't seem to be much going on, lots of taxis available though! Mainly restaurants or tourist shops to book trips. We found that khao lak village had everything we needed therefore stayed here for our meals. 2 or 3 of the restaurants were closed by our second week, I presume this was due to it being out of season and this was probably the case with khao lak centre as well.

Trips: we checked out some of the places in khao lak centre for our trips as we really wanted to do elephant trekking, but found them to be very expensive (2000tbt plus). We walked to Mr Moo from the hotel, as others from trip advisor had advised. You can get to Mr Moo by turning right onto the beach from the hotel and walking for about 5 minutes then turn right over a small bridge and you will see signs from here. You can also get to Mr Moo by turning left out of the front of the hotel, down the hill, right at the bottom past Bamboo. When you get to the main road turn left and walk for about 5 mins and turn left at the sign for Joes Seafood. Walk down the hill and Mr Moo is on your left. Would definitely recommend visiting Mr Moo as his friendly banter and knowledge of the tours and the local area is second to none. We chose the 3 hour elephant trek which included a visit to a waterfall, where you could swim if you wanted to, followed by a visit to the turtle sanctuary. Both the guide on the elephant and the guide who assisted us for the full tour were excellent. They were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. They had my camera for most of the tour and took picture of me and my boyfriend, which was nice.

The hotel: maid service excellent - cleaned our room daily, change of towels, replaced water, tea, coffee and milk. All the staff at the hotel were friendly, also smiled and said hello when you saw them. Free wifi Internet in the lobby lounge at the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic, try the omelettes, they are great! I think we were one of 2 English couples at the hotel, the majority were German or Russian. As we visited out of season the hotel was quiet, especially around the pools; a few times we had the pool to ourselves. Lots of sunbeds on the grounds facing the beach and sea, very peaceful to relax in the shade of the trees looking out onto the sea. Took advice from trip advisor and walked along the beach at 10:45am to watch the elephants cross the beach - great photo opportunity! For the elephants walking along the beach turn left on the beach (opposite to Mr Moo) and walk for around 15-20mins along the bay. Past komols corner and keep walking. May have to walk over some rocks depending on the tide! We had a massage at a place on the beach front (turn left on the beach and walk 2 minutes and you will see it). Full Thai massage fantastic, and only 300tbt for an hour.

Free use of the gym, which we used a few times, has Cardio equipment and lots of weights. We took our iPods in as there is no music. Towels and water provided.

Would definitely visit again, but maybe in season, however we did like the quietness of the hotel out of season! The hotel gives the feel that it is placed in a jungle, with lots of wildlife, very peaceful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lauren6485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here with my family of five for ten nights from 1st May. There is not really much I can say about this resort that hasn't already been said many times in the previous reviews but we were so impressed by the Merlin that I felt the need to write a review anyway. I loved absolutely everything about the resort and give a big thumbs up and a ten out of ten to the wonderful staff, the beautiful gardens, the great location, the amazing rooms, the best pools, the gorgeous beach and the delicious restaurants. I searched far and wide for a resort that offered peace and quiet in beautiful relaxing surrounds for some much needed R&R and I made the perfect choice in the Merlin Resort.

As there is so much information about the resort in previous reviews I thought some people might find it helpful to have a little information about the area in general. The little village outside the resort is a two minute walk from the resort entrance. It is only small but we found it had everything we needed without having to travel. It contains approximately 7 restaurants, 4 massage places, 5 tailors, 4 tourist shops & 3 small convenience stores selling the basics such as snacks, insect repellant, drinks etc. We used our travel card to withdraw cash from the ATM at the Turtle & Family Mart outside The Emerald Resort without any problems. There are also a couple of places to get massages and a couple of restaurants along the beach. We were told by a local that some of these businesses close for a while through the low season though. We made only one trip into Khao Lak Town Centre and we weren't very impressed as it just didn't have any character. We much preferred the atmosphere of the small village near the Merlin. We also went to Bang Niang markets which I highly recommend if you want to shop. We organised taxi's to and from both these places in advance with the very friendly lady at the taxi desk in the lobby of the resort. It was no more expensive than getting a taxi from the village and we had no problems at all.

For a massage I can personally recommend Dokkaew Massage which is owned by a very lovely lady. If you want to utilise a tailor then go and see Raja at Boss Tailors. We had two evening dresses made and cannot fault Raja's service or professionalism. The lady at Bamboo massage does wonderful nail art. Our favourite restaurants were Bamboo and Roy Yim's. To organise any tour or trip to anywhere you can't go wrong with Mr Moo next to Joe's Seafood.

If I had to find one thing to complain about it would be the smoking. We are a big non-smoking family and unfortunately most public areas around the resort allow smoking including the restaurants. This is however my one and only complaint.

If you are after a busy, party atmosphere then this resort is not the one for you but for us it was everything we were hoping for and more and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank lula412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

returned from khao lak friday 10th may,after our first visit.stayed at the merlin resort for 16 nights,the place is stunning,lovely grounds and a beach straight out of a bounty advert!!!!!!sunbeds not allowed on beaches which just adds to the beauty of the place.there are a dozen or so restaurants and a few bars 2 minutes from the hotel.my only (slight dissapointment)was not over impressed with khao lak town itself,please note we had several nights in the town over our stay nice bars and restuarants,but to me it just lacked a little something,was hoping for a bit more thai feel to it.i am not saying its not worth going it is just my own oppinion,so please dont be put off.breakfasts and service at the merlin were first class,a word of warning be prepared for running the gauntlet by the 4 or 5 tailors shops in the space of about 30 yards friendly but as others have said it can get on your nerves after the first few nights,i know they have a living to make just wonder if they would get more custon if they left you to decide if you want to buy.to sum up loved the place very very pretty,would not hessitate to go back. went on the lake explorer trip simply amazing day out what scenery,and the weather was fantastic.thanks garryblake

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garryblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Why only write a review when something was wrong?
We spent 10 days at this hotel around Christmas, and it was a beautiful experience. A huge, super clean and charming room with an amazing bathroom. Lush gardens where it was always possible to find a quiet spot, lots of swimming pools, a beach made for long walks, extremely friendly personnel. Breakfast was very good and varied catering for many different tastes, and the couple of times we had dinner at the hotel we were not disappointed, even if a bit pricey compared to the restaurants outside.
Only point that could be made is that the little town outside the hotel is indeed very small (a couple of restaurants and a few very eager tailors). If you want a bigger choice of shops and restaurants you will have to take a taxi. Don't hesitate to use the limousine service of the hotel, at least for going, cars are much more comfortable than the ones you get outside the hotel, and the price is the same....

Room Tip: Rooms close to the reception are bigger and more "modern", but the walk to the beach could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jesperbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
1.8 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
2.8 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
10.8 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 69 in Khao Lak
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 69 in Khao Lak
582 reviews
11.2 mi away
Bangsak Village
Bangsak Village
#7 of 69 in Khao Lak
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Merlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Merlin Resort

Address: 7 / 7 Phetkasem Road | Lamkaen, Taimuang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#8 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $64 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Merlin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Khaolak Merlin Resort is a deluxe resort with style inspired by Thailand's rich culture, situated approximately 50 minutes away from Phuket International Airport yet set amongst peaceful tropical forest landscape and tranquil beaches. It has direct access to 190 meters of Khao Lak Beach front and is surrounded by 15 acres of lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khaolak Merlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Merlin Khao Lak
Khaolak Merlin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing