We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Super holiday”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my first time to visit Thailand, on the 19th November for 2 weeks. When we arrived at the hotel, we advised that our room had been upgraded to a sea view room, a very pleasant surprise. This was a single storey building, with a wonderful view over looking the beach and gardens.The room was spotlessly clear, the bed was extremely comfortable with crisp fresh clean bedding. There was a mini bar, which was well stocked and not too expensive. Everyday there were 2 bottles of drinking water provided free of charge. Additionally there were towels provided for the sun beds, all towels and bedding were changed every day.

Although our holiday was on a bed and breakfast basis, there were facilities to eat ate the hotel during the day and in the evening. Apart from breakfast we did not eat in the hotel, however, a number of people chose to do so and the food was beautifully presented. We had a drink a few times at the hotel bar, the staff were friendly, think it was about 90 bhat (£1.80) for a small beer, there was a happy hour early evening when drinks were cheaper.

The hotel is situated a little bit out of the main town, but a 10 minute walk, or a taxi ride (100 bhat) will soon have you in the centre of the town where there are lots of shops and restaurants to visit. Our favourite restaurant was Sand and Sea (be careful as there are 2 restaurants with this name). The one we visited was on the right hand side of the road, near the Gold Elephant, 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The food was amazing and the dish of chicken fried with thai basil leaves was amazing and a large beer was only 100 bhat, £2.00.

Another regular place to eat and drink on the beach was Peter Bar - I will review this separately as it deserves to be mentioned.This bar, a bit like a Goan shack, was about 150 yards along , on the right hand side from the hotel.

If I was asked is there anything the hotel and it's staff could have done to make my stay more enjoyable, my response would be no, it was perfect and would highly recommend it.

The only downside is we flew Premium Class on the Thomson Dreamliner, this was disappointing and not worth the extra cost. The person sitting in the window seat almost had to climb in to the seat as the arm rest was too big, as it housed the entertainment screen, there was very little room left to manoeuvre. There was a foot rest attached to the seat which only supported the backs of your legs and your feet were left dangling uncomfortably. The seats did not recline sufficiently, so you were virtually trying to sleep sitting up, not brilliant on the 13 hour return flight. Also the food on the return flight was disgraceful. I have passed on my comments to Thomson but am still awaiting a response.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    88
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
58
122
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just returned from Thailand 18.12.2013. Have stayed 14nights in this hotel. Nice and clean small hotel. me and my wife had stayed at room 1025 for a week and then went to room 2033 which was on second floor. The room was classified as de -luxe room with airconditioning , shower and lcd television . There was fridge with cold drinks in it but you would have to pay for drinks about £1 for non alco and £2 for a beer. Prices in the shop are much cheaper..

some of the rooms have connective doors to other rooms this means that if other room will open connective doors together with you you can access each other's rooms. Not just that even with closed doors you could hear what other couple is doing in their room. This was the reason why we requested room with double bed instead of two single and no connective doors. As hotel was full we had to wait a week to get room like this.

Staff are polite and smiling all the time but will not go extra mile if needed. For example there is no options to have latte or capuchino at breakfast time so I have bought little coffie frother and made my self capucino every morning. Only one staff member his name was See (from Bharma) ofered me a hot milk for my coffe every day. The breakfast is bit poor and despite having Thai food option for breakfast I found option of one ham, one cheese,one bacon as bit dissapointing. The bread is rubbish and some people included me bought bread in the local shop and took with them for breakfast every day.

We have never tried the other food at this hotel as in my opinion it was too expensive (by Thai standarts) Some people were complaining to us about taste of this food as well.. There is a lots of restaurants in near by town about 15mins walk down the hilll or for lazy people taxi is only 100baths each way per taxi not per person. One of the best restaurant is the Elephant restaurant just on the right when you go to Khao lak willage. prices reasonable about 150baths to 500baths for a meal. IT IS VERY SPICY - Thai people do not understand the word not spicy so better say no chilly in the food please.

We have done our own trips to james bond island. We have rented scooter for 250baths a day and drove to Phnag Gha (about 60kms) where we have rented - hired a long boat with driver for about 1500baths. Always to haggle with prices you can get price down by half. Trips oferred by Thomson were double the price as elswhere in the town. For example Thomson charged 3300baths per person to james bond island and elsewhere you could get it for 1600bath. With renting a scooter be advised that there is no insurance for scooters in Thailland so in case of accidents you end up paying all costs involved. - but who cares it is so chaep that you will take a risk gladly.

The clothing and things like bags are very cheap in Thailand there are all of them fakes but still very good quality. My wife bought replica of mullbery bag for about £50 and this is still real leather and very good quality. I bouth t-shirts for about £5 each (nike, lacosta etc...)

There is a market near by on Mon, Wed and Saturday that is a must as there is a lots of cheap and lovely food such as pancakes, crepes , barbecue and thai food. Clothing, hanbags and other suveniers.

Regarding coktails there priced as around 150baths so not cheap. but some places will do for 100baths or will do happy hour - buy one get one free. Neibourhood hotel did this and it was ok.

No fitness centre in this hotel.

Conclusion : nice hotel if you get a cheap price. If you can try to get neibourhood Sensimar Hotel this was much nicer then ours. I have asked how much would bayfront hotel charged me for a room when we would like to come privately and the price is about £100 per night - and we would newer pay this but with Thoson we got good deal so yes it was worht the money we payed and yes we would come back if the price would stay the same or less. If not then we would go for Sensimar Hotel but we will return next year anyway. Thailand is better the Caribbean holidays by a mile.

Last advise do always check how much you are asked to pay (bill) for your meals and drinks as it has happened twice to us that Thais tried to charge us for drinks or food we newer had.

Room Tip: Choose the room without connective doors .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milan1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Recently back from two weeks Thomson's package to this great value hotel. Beautiful grounds leading down to the palm-fringed tropical beach. De luxe room was spacious and comfortable and kept immaculately clean with pillow cases changed every day and sheets every other. Clean beach towels daily, free room safe and free bottled water were an unexpected bonus. The staff were wonderful, friendly with nothing too much trouble.

A wide choice of Thai and European foods at breakfast with seemingly unlimited coffee, excellent in our opinion.

A 20 minute walk into Bang La On (Khao Lak Centre) although at night a torch is advised due to several street lights being out and uneven pavement. Taxis available from outside the hotel at 100 Baht each way.

Recommend that you book your tours through Mr Moo situated at Peter Bar (about 100 yards right on the beach from the hotel). Also the bar is handy for lunchtime snacks and beer, friendly service and very reasonably priced.

Overall an excellent small and friendly hotel that well exceeds it's official three star rating.

J and T

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyandTerryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Came back from visit to this resort last Wednesday. The Hotel was fabulous. We were made to feel welcome right from the off. The rooms were massive bungalow type with massive shower room and toilet at the back. A little strange to have fridge in the shower room but heyho. The whole resort was kept spotless. Beach towels and room towels changed every day, pillow cases changed every day. Sheets every couple of days. Fresh flowers in the room when we arrived. Pools lovely and clean. Pool Bar fab. got to mention Deejay and his staff at the bar as he was brilliant. If you are booking any trips use Mr Moo from just inside Peters Bar on the beach. He was fantastic and much cheaper than elsewhere.

Room Tip: Say to your travel company when you book that you want a floor level room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The resort has a few stray cats and dogs by the entrance and the pool bar staff has zero idea how to make a mojito, but beyond that the resort is ideal. Clean rooms with good a/c and plenty of room. The resort reception starts up the hill off the main road and stretches in a two row pattern past 3 pools and two massage bungalows and a breakfast/dining area .........all the way yo the beach! Fantastic views toward the sea and back uphill. Breakfast was consistently great, the staff always friendly (even if they do make mulch out of mint leaves in mojitos) throughout the resort. They were always available to help with directions, restaurant suggestions and ensuring we could shower at the reception area on the day of our departure well after checkout. The hotel is a 5 minute cab ride from the 'main downtown' but for a real look go 5-30 minutes past to the market or outskirts of town and other beaches. Rent a scooter and head north!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andras S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for 5 days, had a great relaxing time.
Deluxe rooms upstairs was spacious and clean. Housekeeping kept it spotless. Not a spot of anything out of place. This whole resort is managed so well, and maintained by the owners to a standard that they keep very high
We had a feast at the restaurant( ,outdoor by the pool in fine weather) every night.
Staff are very pleasant and aim to meet your needs. We specially enjoyed the company of Dai, a barman with ambition.
A great place to stay and enjoy the lovely beach walking.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely hotel at the end of the beach! Clean pool and sun beds for everyone! Take a walk on the beach and swim in the sea! Fresh fruit juice at the pool bar ! Nice holiday!
Take a day trip to the Surin Islands with snorkeling! Lovely water and a lot of different fishes and corals.
Visit the Tsunami Memorial museum. The local market is nearby! Here you can buy good food, clothes and bijouteries.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 70Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.3 mi away
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Baan Krating Khao Lak
#53 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
#40 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Sunset Resort
Khaolak Sunset Resort
#5 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Khaolak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak

Property: Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
Address: 26/12 Moo 7, T.Khuk-Kak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing