We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, great location but could be much better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice hotel, great location but could be much better.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 days in March 2013.
We enjoyed the location as we were about 10 mins by baht bus from the town. The beach was quite nice with just a few rocks.

The rooms were really damp smelling and my friends who have asthma needed to have their room moved.

The food in the hotel was not cheap but was really tasty. I don't recommend the thai dancing night though as there seemed to be 4 people dancing, they did not know the routines and only danced 4 times. Thai dancing normally includes a number of short dances and tells a story but this did not seem to.

The waiting and bar staff were really helpful and friendly but the manager was useless.

On the last morning, we were woken up by the smell of burning electrics followed by the sound of a fire alarm. We rushed out of bed to find smoke coming through the stairs to the first floor. We waited outside to see what was happening. Eventually the smoke died down after you heard several buckets of water being thrown.

No one came to speak to the guests apart from a waiter who asked which room was on fire! Eventually we went to the restaurant to get a coffee whilst we waited to see what was happening.

My friend asked to see the manager, he advised that we did not matter as we were checking out. Our rooms were filled with smoke and all of our clothes smelt really strongly as the smoke seemed to blow into our room.

What disturbs me is that no-one came to check to see if everyone was out of their rooms. Even if they thought they could control it surely someone should of checked in case they couldn't.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackqprrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    88
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
58
123
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great Resort for families ,couples . Resort is set right on the beach front and next to other resorts in walking distance to restrautants along the beach- Great place to eat is Pete's Place 50m up the beach .
Breakfast needed to be a bit more varied and a english speaking person on reception would be great . Pool BAR the best the staff are great . we were the only aussies in the resort manily Europeans .Rooms good but ask for ground floor near the pool area is the best

Room Tip: Ground floor near pool - a bit of walk to top for reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaynglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Front between two diving trips and have no length experience from it. The staff is very nice and helpful. We had booked two nights and needed to re-arrange to move one of these two nights firther into the future. In spite that the voucher did not allow this, the hotel accepted without any additional extra charge. That is good service.
We booked the de-luxe romms, very nice and spatious. The breakfast could be better, given the price and quality of hotel. But, enough to fill the stomach.
The location is OK but if you want to dine outside it is a bit far from Khao Lak center, maybe a 20 min walk or a few minutes by songthaow (a whoping 50 Baht per person and direction).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Set on a lovely beach which although not private feels like it! This resort is great value for money. The rooms are clean and spacious and all face out onto nice garden surrounds. Having the two pools is great and provides two nice spots to sit and read a book as well. I was traveling alone and my room was a deluxe standard which had two double beds. I am not sure of the layout of other rooms but it would be worth asking if you wanted to be sure of a queen sized or one big bed for two of you. The staff are very helpful and friendly and are concerned that you have a great stay. Christmas Eve party was hilarious!

Highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaursMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

On the bright side:
- very nice spot with the jungle in the back and the beach in the front! (quiet part of the beach, but just a short walk from town)
- nice looking resort/pool/rooms
- good breakfast buffet!

on the other page:
- any extra services are very overpriced, as: massage, laundry, airport shuttle
- loads of german fellows there (I am a german, but do not need to hear german everywhere during my holidays...)

Khao Lak in general is overcrowded with catalogue travelers brought to you by Neckermann, Tui, Thomas Cook and all the others - something that you can hear and even feel since the locals are way less friendly then in other parts of the country...

Room Tip: The "deluxe rooms" are very nice, I would not recommend the lowest price category, since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Lovely garden setting around two pools and fronting a lovely beach (Sunset) which I personally thought much nicer than the more poplar beaches. Excellent location a 15min stroll to the restuarant at night or taxis wait outside and it was nice to be away a bit from the town. The hotel is very reasonably priced and their breakfast is of good quality and varied every day. Lovely staff and has a nice homely feel. We were the only english speaking people there as a lot of Germans, Austrians, Russians and Dutch people like this hotel but I expect this is the same for most of the hotels. Would certainly return here another time.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room with mountain and pool view but upstairs as if you were on the ground floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights towards the end of October so it was still at low season rates - extremely good value.Friendly effecient staff. We had the superior room which faced in to lots of trees and was very comfortable. As it rained most afternoons the big balcony was really handy. Breakfast was good and so was lunch at a very reasonable price. The swimming pools and grounds are very well kept and it has a great sandy beach right in front. Its only a 15 minute walk to the village or 100bht so handy to pick up cheaper liquid supplies.
The only slight negative was that we were surprised at the amount of smoking in the restaurants by Europeans which has been illegal for ages in most western countries - we were careful selecting our table in the morning and sometimes moved when others started smoking, and one night at the outside restaurant actually left our table before ordering and went next door to the Palms Beach restaurant, and returned there another night for 2 good meals.
For a good view of the beach climb the steps at the end of the beach to the yellow Muanlai restaurant for a cheapbeer or local lunch. For a very good wood fired pizza try the Pinocchio managed by Samantha - an Italian - about 250 meters on the side road down to Mukdara resort - by taxi 150bht. This was our second time in this area and definitely will come back to the Bayfront.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
Baan Krating Khao Lak
Baan Krating Khao Lak
#55 of 69 in Khao Lak
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#3 of 7 in Khuk Khak
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Khaolak Oriental Resort
Khaolak Oriental Resort
#23 of 69 in Khao Lak
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Wanaburee Resort
Khaolak Wanaburee Resort
#59 of 69 in Khao Lak
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
#42 of 69 in Khao Lak
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak

Property: Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak
Address: 26/12 Moo 7, T.Khuk-Kak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Khaolak Bayfront Resort Hotel Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing