We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Khao Lak
Post
Inbox
Search

“We ate here numerous times”

Running Deer Bar Khaolak
Ranked #114 of 358 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $2,000
Description: Running Deer Bar is located near Nangthong Beach. Its quite beautiful place where you can enjoy the good music, Drinks and food
Restaurant details
Description: Running Deer Bar is located near Nangthong Beach. Its quite beautiful place where you can enjoy the good music, Drinks and food
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here numerous times during our three week holiday since they are right beside our hotel and would deliver poolside. We tried the green curry (amazing), the pineapple filled with rice and shrimp (also amazing) the chicken nuggets (8 huge pieces of chicken breast), bruschetta, spring rolls, burgers, chicken cordon bleu and numerous other dishes that were all great. Pizza is also quite good. Staff is very friendly!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank CDT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to this place at the end of our holiday. It was the worst we’ve been to. We entered and was asked if we would be eating, we said yes. They told us to sit wherever, so we did. We sat by the pond. The furniture was nice and the whole place it’s self looked unique and very nice. We were given drinks menu’s not a food menu though. We went along thinking it might just be an odd little place that give you a food menu after you order drinks. My fiancée ordered a mango smoothie. She couldn’t drink it. It didn’t taste right at all. I had a mojito and it was lacking alcohol and sugar. Very weak.

After having to asking for food menus we ordered. A 400g ribeye- 900bhat (£23) and a alfreado pasta. The steak was too gristly too fatty and tough. Came medium not rare. Quality was just shocking. Crinkle cut oven chips that resembled supermarket style ones. Blue cheese sauce was nothing to be impressed. Pasta was undercooked still a little hard. The sauce was just cream, no seasoning at all.
During the meal I ordered a martini. It was just pure vodka not even vermouth. I noticed a layer of grease on top of the cocktail and refused to drink anymore. The service was odd the staff kept laughing at us and one sleazy waiter kept staring at my fiancée. The kitchen staff kept looking at us out of the kitchen door. Very odd.

It was dead inside now we know why. Do not go here.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank samsV8596HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

This is a nice place to visit in Khaolak, nice people and great food, miss it already and I haven't leave get.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank peterburnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2019

We visited the Running Deer on the strength of the reviews. It is part of a larger resort complex and after two weeks we just fancied some simple ‘plain food’ so ordered mussels to start (really good), a plain burger and chips (also OK) and an Australian Rib Eye steak at 640 baht. The steak was shocking. It was tough, dry, gristly and about 1.5cm thick. It was a minute steak not a rib eye and ‘medium’ was cooked right through. With one beer and two cocktails the bill came to 1540 baht, far and away the most expensive dinner of our trip. The service was so pleasant we didn’t complain but I would suggest that a walk up to the strip will yield better food and value. The general rule of thumb is if it’s quiet there is usually a reason.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank DobcrossDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2019 via mobile

This was our out pit stop for most of our excellent week in Khaolak. Great food , fantastic staff , excellent service .

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Mikeydread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Running Deer Bar Khaolak also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Takua Pa, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Running Deer Bar Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing