We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Two couples stayed here together and we all upgraded to beachfront bungalows.

The upgrade was definitely worth the money as we had unobstructed views of the beach and sea. The bungalows are really spacious and very comfortable. My only quibble was the outside shower room which was grand during the day but in the dark a late evening shower could have you coming up close and personal with nature when you least expect it! The only other thing to note about this beach front bungalow is that the resort vehicles do pass you r door frequently and there is a lot of foot traffic as other guests make their way to the beach.

You need to be out early to get well located sun loungers and there definitely seems to be a shortage of loungers for the number of guests staying. The staff are all very friendly and helpful if you have any queries or problems. The hotel restaurant is very nice indeed and is a nice way to finish a lazy day in the sun followed by cocktails at the cocktail bar on the beach.

There are a lot of great restaurants located within a short walk of the resort but the climb up the steep hill out of June resort can leave you a little breathless. The walk into town only takes a few minutes and the choices of bars and restaurants are great.

I recommend getting a local tuk tuk to take you to various waterfalls and nearby tourist areas. We took a tuk tuk with King who is in a local tourist office. She was great and a very careful driver with lots of info to give as you travel along.

Be sure to visit the tsunami museum and see the rescue boat stranded well inland. It gives you a very real sense of what happened to the area. Despite the sadness of the event, the local people have really worked hard to get the area back to a sense of normality.

The resort is located in a nice quiet part of the beach and you can walk quite a long way when the tide is out which is a lovely way to see the area without climbing the hill every time. There is a good shop on site as well as a library and internet access room. You won't be bored!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beach front or at least the row behind the beach for the best views and less jungle sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Khun Jenny 079,
Thank you for taking some time to write a comment about Khaolak Resort. We are all very pleased that you find your upgraded accommodation to your liking. Our staffs are also happy to know that you like our restaurant and their friendly service.
We will take your comments about the shower room, vehicles passing by and sun loungers into consideration while we are undergoing construction work.
We hope that you will visit us again in the future when our expanded property will be fully opened early 2015. It certainly would be my pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warmest regards,
Daeng Nithithoranan (Sun)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    253
    52
    5
    5
See reviews for
106
561
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here last year with my friends and love the resort. Its in the middle of tropical forest atmosphere. We had breakfast in the middle of the lotus pond looking at the beautiful khaolak beach. The swimming pools are all surrounded by big big trees.
The best thing about the hotel is the location which is only a short stroll away from the Khaolak city center where you can find nice restaurants and bar. This is one best hotel in Khaolak!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaninan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Khun Chaninan,
Thank you for your comments about Khaolak Resort. We are all very happy that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. Yes, you are correct in that our resort is one of the few that is surrounded by so much vegetation. This has given it a very natural atmosphere.
The resort is now closed as we are undergoing some major construction work. We are targeting to commence operations in December 2014/January 2015. We sincerely hope you will come back and visit us again and we are confident that you will find our expanded property just as good as or even better than what you experienced during your previous stay here with us.

Warmest regards,
Daeng Nithithoranan (Sun)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a superior room, surrounded by trees which was shady, quiet and peaceful. The beach isn't crowded and neither are the pools. We found the staff to be very helpful, and the rooms were clean. It is in easy walking distance of bars and some good restaurants which is a plus after an energetic day lying around the pool or beside the beach! The Resort is currently undergoing some renovations and I hope there'll be a little more storage space, and for a tall person the safe was a bit low down, but these are minor criticisms. We have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Khun Meroo,

Many thanks for your feedback on Khaolak Resort.
We are all very pleased you find the resort to your liking. All members of our staff try their best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay here with us and your complimentary write-up has made them feel that their efforts have been richly rewarded. We also thank you for your comments about storage space and will try to make improvements during this construction phase.

We are happy to learn that you are planning to make a return visit. Just a small reminder though; the resort is now closed for construction work. We plan to re-open a part of it in mid-December 2014 and the whole resort from January 2015.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Warmest regards.

Daeng Nithithoraan (Sun)
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just before it get's crowded, as much as Khao Lak can get, the Khao Lak resort is very well situated in the national park.
The resort will keep you in fit physical condition as you will have to walk plenty of stairs, but that's just make it more interesting compared to the neighbouring resorts.
The room was spatious, clean and nice view to the see.
The breakfast was not that great. Tipical for an Asian hotel (English breakfast, baked potates, noodles etc.), therefore for an European coming the first time might not be a good experience.
What I disliked was that I had to bargain with the lady from the front desk the fair for the taxi, Upon the arrival of the taxi she took money from taxi driver and when I asked the second time to call me a taxi and said that I will pay less she said the taxi won't come.
Another thing that I found less pleasent was that most the guests were elder people from Germany or the Nordics who were waking very early to ocupy the beach chairs and come later.
The staff could be trained better in customer service and English. I had to specifically ask them to clean the table on the beach or go to the bar to order drinks. One day I found the left overs from the previous day where we stayed on the beach.
Anyways the place was worth and had an enjoyable experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Khun Dragos,
Thank you for your recent review of Khaolak Resort. We are very pleased that, in general, you find Khaolak Resort to your liking, especially as a way for your exercise!
We try to maintain our breakfast to suit all our guests. In the past we have also received many comments for a good American breakfast and we have tried our best to satisfy the guests on this issue. However, in order to break this monotony for some of our guests (like you), we have also included a section serving local food.
Actually, our Front Office staff can only call the taxi stand, in front of the hotel, on guest’s request. These taxis have their own fixed price, depending on where our guests want to go. The hotel does not receive any commission from the taxis for this service. Our staff will only “bargain” with them when our guests ask for a lower price than that proposed by the taxis. In the case you mentioned, our staff did not take any money from the taxi driver, but rather the taxi driver gave her the money to change for smaller notes.
In addition, the reason why the taxi driver did not want to take you out the second time was because he was unable to accept the price you are prepared to pay him and conveyed this through the Front Office staff.
Thank you for your comments about sun-decked chairs being occupied and staff service level. We will certainly make a note of that. We have now closed our hotel for expansion construction and will re-open for business in December 2014. This will be a good time to train our staff in English and providing efficient service. Although the matter of reserving sun decked chairs early in the morning is a problem we have experienced for a while, we will try to find a way to overcome it when we commence business later this year.
We would like to invite you to make a return visit to Khaolak Resort after our expansion work has been completed and hope that you will have an even better time staying here.
Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a superior room - very clean and apparently being refurbished this year. Although the room was 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts this really didn't phase us. The resteraunt run by David provided both excellent service with mouthwatering meals - Try the blue crab in yellow curry its amazing. Just 5 minutes down the beach is Peter's bar where you can meet Mr. Moo who will organise any trip you require for excellent prices - try a night on Ko Rat!
The experience was so good we intend to return next February to a beach front bungalow and we're already planning trips for Mr Moo to organise for us. - TOP RATE PLACE

Room Tip: All round wanderful experience - we had a superior room 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grahamg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, ผู้จัดการ at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Sawasdee from Moracea by Khao Lak Resort !!!

Foremost - please accept our sincere thank you very much for your valued feedback and current stay with Moracea by Khaolak Resort for your pleasant holidays.

We are really satisfy that Overall Resort features are reached your satisfactions, especially your valued feedback is expressed on TripAdvisor Review, and other Tourist will gain a valued recommendation on their trips, and our Staff will truly thrill and energize to gaining more job motivation to continuous improvement their Services Standard to gain more Guests' memorable experiences at Moracea.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again with our true spirit of hospitality and warmest services as your second home.

Warmest regards,

The Management of Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n e england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this resort after Bangkok and Krabi. Its a liitle bit of paradise in an idyllic location.We were upgraded to a superior bungalow which was great so peaceful. Just a short walk to the centre with plenty bars and restaurants and several just outside the resort entrance.Agree with previous reviewers that needed a liittle more storage space but didnt bother us as we travel light. Great air conditioning and also a ceiling fan We will definitely return for a winter break if possible

Room Tip: its personal choice but we liked the superior bungalows as they are near the beach but quite quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Annthomp,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.
Thank you for your valuable time to write and share your wonderful holiday at Khaolak Resort. We are always very pleased to know that our guests enjoyed their upgraded room to a Superior Bungalow.

We have noticed most of comments from our guests regarding the storage space. As we are closing from 1st April to the end of October to have major renovation and also expending to include more accommodation which will modernize the whole concept.

Thank you again for your stay, we look forward to welcome you back again after our renovation.

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan (Mr. Sun)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our three children in July 2013 for just over a week. We booked two interconnecting rooms which were simply furnished but nice and clean. We had rainy weather for much of our week but still had a lovely time wandering along the beach to town. The hotel grounds were really lovely, lots of wildlife and well tended. The pools were great and enjoyed by all. The hotel food was the biggest disappointment, room service was awful and the lunch we had upon our arrival, was the only time we ate in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was ok. There are great dining options within easy walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly and just wonderful to the kids.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank nicolew31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Khun Nicole31,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and we are very happy to hear that you found the hotel surroundings a wonderful escape to nature and enjoyed staying with us.

We regret that you were not satisfied with our restaurants and food while you were here with your family.

We continually try to improve our food and service standards to please everyone of our guests and try our best to make their stay memorable experience to take back home.

If you ever return back to Khaolak area, We would like you to try our Hotel and food one more time as we are completely renovating this summer and will offer new experiences throughout the hotel and restaurants.. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you have a pleasant year....

We look forward to welcoming you back again in very near future

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 64 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
9.1 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#12 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
6.8 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
7.8 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#9 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
6.1 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Property: Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moracea by Khao Lak Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Moracea by Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing