We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
371 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
“We loved it here!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed 10 nights and absolutely loved it. It is rustic, the rooms are in keeping with a rustic beach bungalow, they are very spacious in face the bed was the biggest I have ever seen, we had a beach and pool view and lovely veranda. The surroundings are lovely and the noise from the insects was far louder than I had imagined...it felt like being in the jungle. The beach was lovely and the water like a warm bath. Breakfast was stunning, vast array of bread, pastry, cereal, fruit, eggs and my favorite was the Thai soups, rice and stir fry vegtables!

The staff are fantastic, smiley, polite, will always acknowledge us when we walked past.

We ate at the restaurant with lovely beach views and the juices were amazing.

We loved it!! A truly relaxing place, easy to switch off and the beach was lovely a real retreat. That aside town is only 10 minutes away and there are so many amazing restaurants there too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SakeSake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Khun Sakesake,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time in writing a review on your recent visit to Khaolak Resort.

Our management team and I would like to extend our special thanks to you, as we were all delighted to read about your holiday experience with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, especially enjoying the rustic jungle experience we offer here at KhaoLak Resort. Our staff always tries to make our guest stay a pleasant experience and always provide superior service.

Khaolak Resort is proud to be situated in a natural jungle setting, also being one of the nicest in the whole Khaolak area. We pride ourselves in that our rooms are designed to provide our guests with a relaxing comfortable holiday while enjoying the natural beauty and nature of the area.
We appreciate our guest’s feedback and whether positive like yours or negative feedback makes our staffs try harder to make our guests holiday the most memorable they have ever had.
We would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Front Office Manager & Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    377
    82
    12
    5
See reviews for
168
779
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for around 9 nights and to be honest it took us a while to settle into the hotel. We had been touring in Bangkok and Chiang Mai and it was meant to be the 'beach and rest' part of our trip. The residue of the hurricane that hit the Philippines meant overcast and some heavy rain, so maybe we were a little more critical of our hotel as a result.
There were many positives, the quality of the location, the good service and the bungalows looked great, although we were in the main building, our room was well appointed and spacious. Breakfast was fine with the usual fruit, cooked options, egg station, tea, coffee etc. We also had a meal the hotel laid on to celebrate a religious event (sorry, unable to recall its name) and the meal was very good. My wife is a veggie and they made extra dishes for her, so much I had to help out. My wife also ate twice in the day while I was off diving and was quiet complimentary around the quality and service. Being in part of a National Park, as are many of the top 10 hotels on TA, they are not allowed to put out sunbeds onto the beach and so you are 'stuck' on sunbeds behind the tree line or around the pool. Pool bar and beach bar were OK but a common complaint we found when talking to residents of this and most other hotels was a lack of atmosphere or meeting point. Customers kept very much to themselves. If you wanted a social scene then we headed to 'Pete's Bar' along the beach around 100m away where you can get food, drink, massage and trips. (see separate review)
Only issue we had was around the toilets - not allowed to put any paper down the loo. Ours 'backed up' three times despite us following the instructions and suspect a neighbour was not. Hope this will be sorted in the refurb the hotel, if not at least put a bin with a lid to keep off the flies, etc.
Had a hotel massage and one at 'Pete's Bar' both were of an equal quality. Overall a good hotel and location, helpful and friendly staff I would be happy to return too and recommend.

Room Tip: If sorting a taxi from Phuket, the hotel add a 'premium' if they arrange it. Company in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Khun Alanstour,
Thank you for your recent review and also for choosing Khaolak Resort as your place of stay during your holiday here. It was unfortunate that the weather was a bit “off” while you were at Khaolak. However, we are happy that you found most aspects of the hotel to your liking.
We are sorry about the area limitations for positioning sunbeds. All hotels in Khaolak have come to an arrangement with the local tourism office that the beaches in the area should be kept clean and in their natural state as much as possible. This means that all commercial activities (e.g. restaurant, motor scooter and sunbed rentals, traditional massages) are not allowed on the beach area. Unfortunately this includes the placing of hotels’ sunbeds on the beach. However, we believe this is for the general good in the preservation of the natural state of the area’s beach surroundings.
Thank you for your comment about a common meeting point or a place with atmosphere. What we currently have is some cooking class activities. However, I will take this matter up with our management to see if some other activities could be added.
We also regret you encountered some problems regarding your toilet being “backed-up”. This has been a perennial problem for us and is likely due to the terrain on which the hotel is situated. As we will be carrying out some expansion work next year, we will try and see if something can be done about this problem as well.
We are very thrilled to learn that you will recommend our property as well as the fact that you are happy to make a return visit here. I look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. However, please note that our hotel will be closed from April 1 - Oct. 31, 2014 for expansion work. We plan to commence operations from Nov.1, 2014.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in Khao Lak Resort for tree weeks in november and its super. The staff is very friendly and our bungalow 228 was the best, near by the beach and our "own" swimmingpool ten steps from door and about 40 steps from beach. Very peaceful and we had the nature round the corner. Special thank to Bow in the Pool Bar who was extremly friendly and caring. We ate most of the meals at the hotell and the food was very good and thou we had not reserved tabel they allways arranged one. We vill return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarja228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Khun Tarja,

Greetings from Khaolak Resort.

We thank you for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We are always pleased to read positive reviews expressing how you enjoyed your holiday experience at Khaolak Resort.

I will pass your thanks to Bow at the Pool Bar together with the rest of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Khaolak Resort in very near future.

Warmest regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed in Khao Lak Resort for a few days in Novemebr. The hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of private beach in the serene and beautiful city of Khao Lak. The hotel itself is a visual feast with rooms and bangalows scattered in between beautiful and well maintained piece of nature. the food is great and the staff are of the highest calibre. i can not recoomend this resort enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Khun Louie O,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this lovely review of Khaolak Resort.

We all sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at Khaolak Resort.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday with us and enjoyed our unique unadulterated natural environment.

We are always appreciative of our guests comments, whether positive or negative as in this way we are able to continue improving our hotel and services.

We truly hope to welcome you back for another pleasant stay with us again in the very near future.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The resort is set in a lovely location, with a great beach and plenty of shady spots. Having read reviews about it being hilly this is the case and therefore may not be suitable for all. Our room was great, with complementary fruit and two small bottles of water per day. It would have been nice to have access to free water all day (water in the mini bar and shop was expensive), however we remedied this by buying water in bulk from a local supermarket. The food in the hotel was not as expensive as we thought it would be however it was still vastly cheaper to eat in town which was a 10 min walk. The fitness centre was extremely dated and didn't have any weights etc. You can easily run around the grounds or on the beach. We were a little surprised to have a 10% surcharge on the drinks/meals we ate at the hotel, especially with tip jars dotted around the resort.
The resort was very peaceful and well maintained and we would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paz752451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Khun Paz752451,

Many thanks for your comments and also for choosing Khaolak Resort as your holiday destination in this part of the country. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay here with us.

It is standard practice for hotels to provide a certain quantity of complementary drinking water and we are happy that you have successfully made arrangements to obtain drinking water in excess of that provided. As we will be expanding our hotel sometime next year, the fitness room will therefore be improved accordingly. I am sure you will find this to your liking.

The tip-boxes that you noticed are only placed at the Malila Restaurant and Pool Bar. Any contributions made into them are purely voluntary. If a guest is particularly happy with the service, ambience or food, he or she may just want to make a tip to show appreciation. If I may raise an example, when I dine at a restaurant/hotel and at the end, the waiter submits the bill that shows the food, service and tax components separately. When I use my credit card or cash as payment, the waiter will return the slip or change in a binder. If I am happy with food or service, I will normally put some money in the binder to show my appreciation and this would be in addition to that disclosed on the bill; but this act is voluntary. The tip-box you saw works under the same principle.

We are also very glad to know you will make a return visit but please note that the resort will be closed from April 1, 2014 till Oct. 31, 2014 for expansion work. We plan to commence operation on Nov 1 and look forward to welcoming you back to our renovated resort. We are sure that you will find the expanded resort equally attractive.

Thank you and warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty resort nice and quiet. Be warned if you have a room in the main building there are a lot of steps and if it rains it can be a bit slippy. Resort is lovely and staff are great. Very quiet at night most people tend to go into town ( ten minute walk or get tuk tuk free from resort ) try and get to see tsunami memorial about 2k away it shows how much people lost and how many lives were lost. The town is all quite new for this reason.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chrislondon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Khun Chrislondon61,

Thank you for your choice of Khaolak Resort during your stay here and also thank you for your comments posted on Trip advisor.

We are very glad that you like the resort and the staff service here. You are quite correct in that there are a lot of steps around. This is because the hotel is built on a sloping terrain that starts from the hill base and rolls out into the sea. It is an attractive feature of the place. Our steps are constructed to ensure the surface is fairly rough, in order to minimise the chance of someone slipping over them. We clean them regularly to ensure that moss do not collect as they can be slippery.

We do hope that you will come back and visit us in the near future.
Please be informed that we will be closed for construction/expansion work from April1, 2014 to Oct 31, 2014. We are targeting to commence business on Nov 1, 2014. I am sure you will find the expanded resort as pleasant as the one you stayed in.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

There are many, many resorts to choose from in Khao Lok, and my husband chose this one because it was rated as one of the more romantic ones. The grounds were gorgeous and I think almost every room has an ocean view. I was very disappointed, though when they gave us a room which had two obviously single beds pushed together to make a large bed. We hadn't unpacked, I called the front desk and they did quickly move us to another room - with a real king sized bed, located very close to the original room. Overall the service was excellent, very responsive, with many of those nice touches- fresh cool juice, fruit, flowers upon arrival...

The beach was beautiful, great for swimming, with great views of the lush jungle surrounding it. Hit by the big tsunami years ago, most of the people survived due to the proximity of the nearby hills, so there is a clearly marked evacuation route, in case of tsunami.

I loved the series of pools, along the length of the property, and they weren't at all crowded, with plenty of huge trees on the grounds (providing vital shade when needed - as I did get somewhat sunburned.

They also have romantic, beachside dining, but as a vegetarian, I wasn't too thrilled by their food. Luckily just a few minutes away is the excellent, inexpensive Gold Elephant Restaurant. The breakfast buffet does offer a huge selection of food and is very well done.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs, if you choose the rooms, as opposed to the villas, but they might be more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbrouillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Khun Cbrouillet,

Greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.

We thank you for your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you found all our staff were courteous and helpful, as well our facilities and services was excellent.

We do apologies about the bed. We have experienced over the years, there are may demands from our guests who mostly like to have 2 twin beds which could be modified into a double bed rather than one double. We always try to do everything so our guests have a most memorable and enjoyable holiday at Khaolak Resort.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Khaolak Resort in near future.

Warmest regards,
Front Office Manager & Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
9.1 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
7.0 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
6.1 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Property: Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moracea by Khao Lak Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moracea by Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing