We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights in may with secret escapes who were Premier holidays ( fantastic service and a few very nice touches from premier holidays) we would recommend them anytime.
The khao lak resort is lovely the staff were friendly polite and helpful,a credit to the hotel !!
The weather you can't control and we had a few heavy days but it was still hot and fun,we loved peters bar which is on the beach to the left as you face the sea about 50 meters down near the big rock !! Great food and massage next door 300-450 baht.
The hotel food was fab and we enjoyed our stay,more Germans than Englush but they were fine and a laugh and yes they nicked the sunbeds :) !!! Steep steps if your very old or disabled but staff will help!! We lvd it 46 and 48 yrs oh and the backpackers place was gr8 for food and drink

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfp3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Khun bfp3061,
Thank you for choosing Khaolak Resort as your holiday destination. Thank you also for your very nice review. We always try to maintain a standard of service that will please and satisfy most of our guests. Your comments have been very encouraging and given us that “push” to continue providing this service level.
We are still trying to solve the problem of sunbeds and have met with limited success. I suppose this requires a degree of co-operation from our guests in order to introduce some proper sequence in the use of these beds. Unfortunately, this is not always the case, but nevertheless we are still trying.
Thank you again and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Khaolak Resort in the near future.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped here for 8 nights April 2013 in a deluxe bungalow, very spacious with a large comfortable bed. Pool was just in front if bungalow and we had a wonderful sea view. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was OK not a massive choice but sufficient. The lunch and dinner however was fantastic as good as you would get at any top restaurant. The frozen cocktails were excellent. The beach was nice and clean and nice to swim in the very warm sea. My wife really enjoyed the complimentary massage at the spa. Such a quiet and tranquil place amongst the lush vegetation and trees. 10 minute walk and you were at the Main Street shops, bars and restaurants. Would love to revisit definitely recommend the bungalows very Thai, fantastic ;)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Khun Darren207,
Many thanks for your recent review on Khaolak Resort .
My staff and I are truly happy and grateful that our resort and the people here have created a very favourable impression on you. This recognition has tremendously encouraged us to continue putting in our best effort to ensure that such a service level will be sustainable for the years ahead.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Khaolak Resort in the near future.
We thank you again for your compliments.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a multi-centre holiday going from Bangkok to Elephant Hills and then here in May.
Great hotel, we loved our Deluxe Bungalow overlooking the pool and sea. Spacious, well laid out and designed, gorgeous interior, large bed (rather hard), lovely bathroom and balcony. Not having seen the superior rooms inside, I would say it is definitely worth paying extra for a bungalow because it means no trek up the stairs and you are directly near the pool with a better (in my opinion) view.
Service in the hotel was excellent, friendly and the staff were incredibly hard working. Nothing was too much trouble...except for our slightly rude check out service.
There was always a red flag on the beach but it was so nice to go for a walk and look at the beautiful sand and waves.
Sunbeds were a bit of a nightmare...we asked a member of staff to please bring us over some sunbeds to the pool area near our bungalow, as a lot were placed in a very shady area (that remained shady throughout the day) and people got up very early to reserve them even though there are many signs saying this is not allowed. Basically, if you don't reserve them, you are unlikely to get any!
Unfortunately the Spa was not in use when we were there - they had moved it to a hotel room and we had our complimentary massage in there. It was very good but I would've liked to have experienced the proper spa area as it looked very pretty and more relaxing.
The bungalow itself had a lizard problem! This was a bit of a nightmare as they are nocturnal and came out every night are were running around the walls and waking us up with their loud 'call' as they hunted for insects in our room!! One day we came back to find a dead gecko on our sofa and let's just say the lizards left us little 'presents' as well! Not very nice.
The nearby town is about 15mins walk away and it's great! Much better than I had expected. My boyfriend and I recommend 'Busaba' Thai restaurant, it was absolutely fantastic and one of the best meals we had in Thailand over 16 days! It was very reasonable and the service was great too, pretty decor.
The food in the hotel was very good, especially the Thai food of course. I would recommend going for this rather than the European food on the menu at dinner time. The lunch menu was excellent and we loved the club sandwiches! Cocktails were fantastic in the hotel, especially the Pina Collada's in a whole coconut!
Overall, this was a very relaxing stay that we thoroughly enjoyed. To summarize:
Good points: bungalow decor, space and location; beach; pool areas; food and drinks; staff; location; free WiFi.
Not so good points: wildlife in the rooms! no inside restaurant with air con - all tables outside and very humid and mosquito's etc flying about; spa not properly open when we were there; no entertainment at all; no pretty flowers in the hotel grounds - only greenery. This may sound silly but I really think it would've brightened up the hotel and made it look more fresh and renovated.
Hope this helps :)

Room Tip: Go for a Bungalow! :) We loved ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenileeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Khun JenileeR,

Thank you for spending some time to write a review on Khaolak Resort.
Thank you also for the favourable points you mentioned on most aspects of our resort.
I have also passed your comments on the areas that, in your opinion, need improvements to the responsible departments. Thank you for these comments as I am sure these will be very informative and useful to us.
As our resort is situated next to a natural park area, we tend to get more than our fair share of insects and small animals. The encroachment by these 4 and 6 legged “friends” into our guests’ rooms is a perennial problem, especially the gecko lizards; it seems that for every one we dispatch, two more will come up and take its place! I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you. Nevertheless, we will definitely try our best to “control” their movements. I am not sure if you informed the staff about this during your stay here. It would have been helpful to us if you did. Our housekeeping unit would certainly have helped keep your room as clean as possible and ensure that such interruptions are kept minimal.
We are also very glad you liked the Thai food and cocktails served at our restaurant. We hope to maintain this standard at all times.
Finally, we hope that you will visit us again in the near future and permit me the opportunity to welcome you back to Khaolak Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely hotel just on the outskirts of town so about a 15 minute walk to the nearest shop. We were upgraded to a deluxe garden view bungalow but were very unhappy as it overlooked a stagnant pond which was teeming with mozzies and the view from our balcony was the bathroom of the bungalow in front. We were moved after four nights to a pool/sea view room which was much better and we at last were able to enjoy the balcony and a view. Food and service at the hotel was great. Beach was gorgeous but we always had red flags banning swimming as it was so rough on our particular stretch. Downsides were definitely not enough sunbeds. These were getting reserved by 6am! Hotel was not full as construction was going on but there still weren't enough for everyone. There were also a little too many trees. Although it was great to look at, it wasn't good for sunbathing as the light was continually blocked and bits from the trees were always dropping on you. Also I've never stayed in a hotel that had so many bugs in the rooms. We had an ant infestation in the bathroom, cockroaches, a mouse and bugs crackling in the bed headboard all night. I did ask that the room be sprayed (we did buy our own for the ants), which seemed to help for a day but the headboard was 'moving' again the following night. I would have expected weekly 'bombing' in such a tropical environment.

Room Tip: Avoid deluxe garden bungalows 201-204. Beach front is definitely worth the extra money but poolside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hevfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Khun Hevfred,
Thank you for spending your holiday at Khaolak Resort.
We are sorry that you found the “deluxe view bungalow” not to your expectation. But we are glad that you were happy with the “pool/sea view” room.
With the start of the wet season, the waves can be quite rough and the whole of the Khaolak area would be subject to similarly strong waves. The red flags posted are to warn our guests of this situation.
As our resort is situated in a hilly area with thick vegetation, our guests are often exposed to a variety of insects and animals (non- dangerous) in their rooms and within the hotel compound. We try to keep this effect to a minimum.
We would like to sincerely thank Khun Hevfred for the compliments expressed in his review and will look into the problems and inconveniences he experienced during his stay here with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome Khun Hevfred back to Khaolak Resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited this resort late April early May and overall we had a fantastic time. This was our first time to Thailand and also the Far East. We have usually done the Caribbean over the last few years and these are 2 completely different experiences. So here goes:
Check in: After a long flight and an excellent transfer via hotelbeds check in was relatively easy although our room wasn't ready which was fair enough as we had arrived at 11am. The room was ready for 12 and they gave us a nice cold face cloth and a free drink at the bar whilst we waited.

Room: We booked a Deluxe Bungalow but was given a free upgrade to Deluxe Beachfront Bungalow which was in a fantastic location with stunning beach and sea views. This was particularly stunning at sunset we have some great pictures which we will post with this review. The room itself was quite basic but had everything we needed although a little more wardrobe space would have been appreciated especially as we were on a 2 week holiday.

Location: This is the best part, built on a hillside in the middle of lush green jungle, fantastic beach and nice winding swimming pools running through the resort. A few minutes walk left out of the hotel brings you to the first few restaurants in the resort. All of these were very good, Gold Elephant, Everyday & Sun sea I think it was called and 1 other which I can't remember. There is also a nice cocktail bar in the middle of these which was very good and only 99 baht for cocktails. A further 5 min walk takes you to the main strip with many restaurants and bars to choose from. A further mile down the same road brings you to another township where the tsunami boat memorial is. You can find many more quality restaurants & bars here and it's only 100 baht in a taxi from the strip. We ate out every night and didn't have a bad meal anywhere. It's very cheap everywhere for food and drink around 200 baht (£4)for a main Thai meal and between 50 & 80 baht (£1 to £1-50)for a Chang or Singha bottle of beer.

Staff: We didn't find anyone outstanding, everyone was polite enough but no one really engaged in long conversation although this maybe due to the staff not speaking very good English and ourselves not speaking very good Thai :) no one was rude though so not a problem.

Bars & Restaurants: This was the only thing we thought let the place down. There was no real social place to gather and meet people and this is why we went out every night to eat and drink. We would always have a drink at he beach bar before we ventured out but there was rarely many people about to chat with. Tables were spread out quite far apart and it's only a small bar so you can't really gather round it. There is no lobby bar as such which is a shame and the beach bar closes at 10pm which was too early for us. This wasn't a problem as we went out but for anyone wanting to stay at the hotel for the night it obviously was. The drinks are priced too high compared to the resort which doesn't make sense around 30 baht more in some cases. The food was always good in the restaurant where we ate most lunch times but again a lot more expensive than the resort. We didn't eat here any evening but people who did said it was very good but to us it doesn't make sense as you can walk out of the hotel entrance and pay a lot less 2 minutes away.

Services: We had a free massage at the Spa which was excellent. They have a shop on site which was reasonably priced in fact you can get a can of beer here for 35 baht or go to the bar and pay for a bottle same size 90 baht??? You do the math! We stocked our fridge with beer and soft drinks which were also inexpensive. Towel service near the beach where you can swap your towel when you want. One excellent bit of service was when my wife's hair straighteners broke and the hotel arranged for someone to drive us to a town 30km away so we could buy a new pair! Fantastic service :)

We had a brilliant time in Khao Lak and would recommend this hotel as a perfect base to explore the area as it has a great location and beach. Enjoy!!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank brian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Khun Brian1966,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Khaolak Resort. We hope that you have had an enjoyable time on your first trip to this part of the world.

We are very happy that you find many aspects of Khaolak Resort to your liking. At the same time, we will also try and see if something could be done to those areas that you feel need improvements.

We also hope that you will come back to visit Thailand and, in particular, Khaolak Resort again in the near future.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived at 8 p.m. local time, very tired and were told that there were no rooms free, despite having booked the holiday over 6 months beforehand. They moved us to another nearby hotel, Khao Lak Bayfront, for 3 nights.
While we were at the Bayfront, our holiday rep visited us and we explained our disappointment. He rang the hotel and as a result we were given a room upgrade to a bungalow with a sea view, vouchers for 3 evening meals, a free Thai massage each and late check-out to 4 p.m.
This made up for the disappointment considerably!
Once we were back at the Khao Lak Resort it was lovely. The hotel is right on the beach and our bungalow was only 50 meters away down a hill. The verandah on our bungalow looked down onto the beach through the trees and we spent many happy hours there reading and listening to the sea and the birdlife.
The staff were all friendly and the food was good and not too pricey for a good hotel. Our only complaint was the hardness of the mattresses.
The shop on site is also very handy for water and snacks as the town is a good 20 minute walk away.
Our tip would be to visit Peter's Bar, just 200 Meters south along the beach. The food and cocktails there were great and very inexpensive and the staff really friendly. We even had a free hot pot meal there on our last night because we were such regular customers.
We only ate out in the town once because there is a lot of road noise in all the restaurants on the main street and the prices were not any cheaper than at Peter's.
Wouldn't recommend the night market at all. The goods are not priced and they start to haggle at such high prices it discouraged us. We found you could buy all the same items in the shops in town anyway, and know what price to expect.

Room Tip: The extra cost for a bungalow would be well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandD681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed 12 nights in this beautiful bit of paradise. Bungalow set back in a bit of rain forest was comfortable with a large bathroom.Pleasant,relaxing and unpretentious. The staff were friendly and helpful. A bit of a climb to breakfast but food and variety was good and it was wonderful looking out over the resort which was not too large. The hotel restaurants and bars more expensive than in khao lak but good local dishes for lunch. Thai massages also more expensive but worth the extra due to friendly service and spotless surroundings. The walk into khao lak only took about 10 mins depending on pace and was easily manageable every evening unless you have walking difficulties.Most of the way was lit. But I liked to have a small torch for the late walks back. One of the few places I really would have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows 1 row behind the beach bungalows if your budget does not stretch to beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Particular B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
9.1 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
553 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#12 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,025 reviews
6.1 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $51 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moracea by Khao Lak Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moracea by Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing