We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay at Chongfah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely stay at Chongfah”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed in a beach front Bungalow for 10 nights - it was a very peaceful and relaxed place to stay. Staff were great, the facilities excellent and the bed comfortable. The only negative was the air con unit was a bit noisy. The resort itself is relaxed and you don't need to dress up too much so you feel 'at home'. The restaurant food was excellent as was the Happy Hour each day for 1.5 hours, we enjoyed our cocktails while watching the beautiful sunsets. It is very close to the main street with lots of restaurants to choose from - all so reasonably priced and delicious. There is a market several days a week where you can buy various items. The beaches are great, with plenty of Thai Massages available in either direction - I had a massage every day for 300 Baht which is A$10 for 1 hour. I used the Spa for a facial at Casa de la Flora which was just a couple of mins walk away - they had beautiful treatments at half price which worked out at A$50 - I'd go back in an instant. It was good to support Khao Lak - they are still recovering from the Tsunami - I felt very safe.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a beach front bungalow so you enjoy the view and have the sea right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaeGarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    69
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
381
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
merimbula aust
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

After reading reports on Trip Advisor we decided to book 4 nights and we were not disappointed. We were after something nice and quiet, not hundreds of people and just loved it. From the moment we arrived we were made feel like one of the family, not just someone on holidays.
We booked one of the Beachfront units and everything was just great, private sun lounges, comfy room, serviced daily and turn down each night with a small treat. Chongfah is a 30 room Resort and the staff were just amazing - everyone knew our names by the second day. The staff were always attentive without being over the top and you just felt like being at home away from home - only with all the goodies. Meals were excellent and well priced - on a par with other local restaurants but we feel much better flavour and of course the service. Breakfast offered good variety and regularly topped up with fresh serves. Complimentary fruit juice or fruit plate about mid day, happy (2) hour 2 for 1 cocktails every evening - this place has got it right!!!!!!!!!!! Well located with easy walk to markets, shops and restaurants. Complimentary push bikes, good tour service at front desk and nothing is a problem. Booked 4 nights -stayed 7 and would like to have stayed longer. Could not recommend highly enough and thanks to others who shared their reports that gave us the info we needed to book this great resort. Would definitely go back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed one week in Chongfah Beach Resort. It was an amazing experience.
We did many tours (Ride elephant, water falls, mangrove, canoeing) with The Milestone Travel agency.
The service in the hotel is excellent, the food and the coktails are delicious.
Also many good restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This resort is absolutely amazing, from the time you arrive you feel special. Chongfah sent their driver to pick us up and in the van Mr Pat had nice cool face washers and a variety of drinks for us. "What a great start" Chonfah is about 1 hour from Phuket Airport. When we arrived we were greeted with a cheerful smile and a beautiful Lei placed around our necks, a cool drink and a delicious coconut jelly. Yum! They also have a pillow menu so that you can choose which pillow suits you. Our room was a delight with a welcoming tray of fruit and cookies. The room was large and well equipped with aircon,TV, small fridge, tea/coffee facilities and also large bathroom with a shower and the water always hot, and supplied shower gel, shampoo/conditioner, face washer and large towels. Balcony looks over the resort and although we only had glimpses of the ocean it was still a delight to rest on the loungers there and very peaceful. The bed was very comfortable but the lighting if you wished to read was a bit dull .Breakfast was really good and a good selection of fruit, cereals, yogurts, fruit juice, salads, hot dishes, eggs, breads, plus waffles, pancakes and crepes. All the staff were so friendly and made you feel special. The resort was always kept very clean and gardeners always working in the gardens. There is a lot of small stalls up the road and many Massage places and although there is massage at Chongfah by the pool you have to book ahead so more convenient to go out. Markets are not far and are open Monday, Wednesday and Saturday with fresh food stalls and clothing. Bikes are available for use if required. Early evening you would receive in your room a little treat of good night cookies with a card wishing you Good Night, Sleep Tight, or Sweet Dreams. Another delightful personal touch. ALL the staff were so friendly and very quick to help you. Once again an amazing, beautiful place and would recommend to stay here. This is from Marlene and Jeanette and we stayed 18 nights at this magnificent place. August 2014

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with villas on beach front and bungalows through out the beautiful grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I cannot speak more highly of this place. From the moment you walk through the front entrance you are made to feel at home by all of the amazing staff. Because this is a small resort you get the personal touch and for what you pay it's more than worth it. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped. The pool is nice, the views are gorgeous but nothing compares to the staff here. They are wonderful and are the reason I will go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naremburn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This small resort has it all ... best location, brilliant staff and supremely comfortable rooms. We could not find fault on any count.

A word of advice is necessary however about Khao Lak itself. Regrettably the place is unforgivably neglected .There appears to be no interest in keeping the place relatively clean - free from rubbish, weeds and dirt.Crumbling footpaths. We have visited many developing areas in and around SE Asia ...all with their own set of challenges but it still surprised us to see the miserable condition of this town despite the opportunities to rebuild and renew after the tsunami and the aide money that was given for this purpose. Where has the money gone ?

If you have decided on Khao Lak as your destination, staying at the Chongfah is the best decision you could make

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank einnob078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here 23rd July for 3 nights and loved this boutique resort. The staff were fabulous and so accommodating. The weather wasn't the best due to monsoon rains but luckily we had a room overlooking the water so we were able to watch the torrential rain storms sweep across the ocean. Moved to a large resort at Kata Noi and are very sorry we split our time between both.

Room Tip: By the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiatpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 69 in Khao Lak
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#12 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Property: Chongfah Beach Resort
Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including seaview bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing