We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chongfah Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in April for 8 nights and chose this hotel because of the ratings on tripadvisor.
Pro's:
- peaceful location
- spacious room
- good food in hotel restaurant, breakfast buffet
- do their best to keep mosquitos away
- deliver top mattress if the bed is to hard for you
Con's:
- room is outdated and to dark. No attention to detail in the bathroom ( mould on the blinds, open spaces under the sink what is not hygienic)
- the beach on the hotel grounds is unfinished. The concrete wall is unfinished and debris (small concrete rocks)of construction is still there!! I do not understand why the don't put any effort in making this small beach a nice place to stay
- level of English at the bar. Some people do not speak and understand enough English to be in contact with customers. It took us 3! days to explain my wife didn't want raw vegetables on her plate! In the restaurants outside the hotel it took them 1 minute to understand!!
- hygiene at the bar. They do not cover cut fruits they use for the cocktails, they do not even put it on a plate! They just put it in the fridge near the beer bottles???

In a lot of reviews I read fantastic comments about service and friendliness. I think this is not so great at all. I have been to 8 hotels ( 3, 4 and 5 stars)in the last two years in Thailand and this hotel doesn't match with the level of service in the others! Some examples:
- all staff in hotels, restaurants and other public services in Thailand smile a lot and are friendly!! Thailand is known for this!!! In the comments of this resort people are overwhelmed with smiles and service. The hotel is apparently a German Tiu hotel so this can be the explanation...
- Booked the free trip to the turtle sanctuary. An hour before departure the guy at the reception tells me the sanctuary is closed? Very weird because they go the whole season on the same day. He told me they planned to go on Monday instead. I have never seen a communication about the changes so he was telling a lie and probably thought I am stupid...? Low season could not be the argument because I have paid high season prices...
- after paying the final bill I needed to ask for someone to help with my luggage (stayed on the first floor). Clearly a wrong mentality...if they can't earn any money anymore, the service and the smiling stops immediately
- Bird droppings stayed on the sun beds on my terrace during the whole stay? If i mentioned it at the reception they maybe solved it, but do you really need to ask this in a hotel that is rated number 1 on Trip advisor?

For me this hotel , compared with the others I visited in Thailand, is a 3 star hotel that deserves at best a 3 star rating. + 100 euros is therefor highly overrated? I suggest to pay the same amount or some euros more for a real 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JerryBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    56
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
303
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and at home. It is truly a lovely place to stay, safe, quiet, beachfront and all beautiful tasty cooked meals for breakfast, lunch & dinner.

The service is great, nothing we needed really as everything is there. My husband, absolutely soaked up the atmosphere, and enjoyed many quiet days relaxing by the infinity pool. I liked to venture out, a bit more and enjoyed the courtesy bicycle every day, and cycled up to the shops, markets and looked around. We didn't hire a car, and used the local taxi service to get to the Phuket airport, about an hour and 20 minute drive.

If you don't enjoy this place, their is something wrong, because we will be back, can't wait.
Thanks Chongfah for a lovely relaxing holiday

Room Tip: We stayed in the Motel style room, these are more than adequate, try the beachfront bungalows for be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiarobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Thailand with Chong Fah resort being our first port of call after a long flight from Aus. Thoroughly enjoyed the personal touches that come with this beautiful resort. Impeccable service and patience provided by all the staff, particularly Sod and Rong, really made it a great first impression of Thailand. It was the little things which set it apart including the refreshments on arrival, nightly treats in room etc. Didnt actually have a spa or fitness centre at the resort but that didnt matter to us but we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this great small resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieClinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My review of Chongfah beach resort.

Highlights:
Room - spacious, smart design, lounge chairs and dining table on balcony, a view of the ocean, four different pillow options, good night sweets, refresh drink sent to your room during the day....
Housekeep - room was ready after I finished breakfast!
Resort restaurant - best fresh mango juice I had so far .... at only 90 baht. Amazing.
Service - friendly, helpful and details-oriented staff. Rong works in the restaurant but he asked me about my transfer one day before I check out.
Bicycle for rent free of charge to explore nearby area.
Care for the environment - you can see environment-friendly culture from the room. No bathtub and resort collects plastic and paper for recycling.
Location - very near to the city center and also convenient to go to white sand beach at 250baht.

Cons
Location - The resort sits on rocks next to the ocean. No beach in front when tide is high.
Restaurant outside - went to one called Mali for Thai food recommended by the resort. Food was overcooked and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Honestly, look no further. This is the place you want to stay in Khao Lak. My husband and I are proud of the amount of places we have travelled to, and we both agreed this was in the top 3 of all the hotels we have stayed at in the world. The beachfront room is perfection - you have uninterrupted ocean views from your bed, so you can sleep and wake with the sound and view of the ocean. Isn't there any greater joy in life? The room also has immaculate facilities, a beautiful outdoor shower and bath, and fabulous sunbeds both in your room and right in front of the water. It's a quiet resort (which was what I found appealing when booking it), so other guests never crowd you. The service is exceptional, the staff are so friendly! There is never anything too much trouble. We really enjoyed the little extras, like the free bikes to ride into town or just see the local area, we used them every day and absolutely loved it! The little treats in your room and the generous amounts of bottled water in your room, it's those little caring touches that make you feel valued and cared for. The food at the restaurant for breakfast was outstanding and we enjoyed dinner there on a number of occasions. The cocktails were a daily institution for us, love a good happy hour! The massage place just along the beach was some the best I've had in Thailand, ask for Pen, she will change your life. I had a massage every day... heaven!!!
Anyway, as you can see it's a very special kind of place. Don't hesitate in booking this place, I strongly recommend Chongfah.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a beachfront room, it's heaven. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vickylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
293 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place is just perfect. I don't want to write too much about the service and the little things they do to make your stay great, so that i don't spoil it for you. If you are in Khaolak there is no better place. The Marriot and Kantary are very impressive, but they don't have the location or the personal service of this place.

The accommodation is excellent with the ground floor bungalow that we had having a bathroom with inside shower, and an outside shower, with an outside Jacuzzi bath, set in a tropical well kept garden. There was a balcony with two sunbeds. All the finishes are top class, no expense has been spared, and it is very tastefully done.

The best aspect of the resort for me was the restaurant which was the best food we had in Thailand. The pricing is rather good as well, with most dishes being less than 200B. We found most of the other hotels in Thailand charge crazy prices for food so you always have to try other places which is a hassle. The breakfast is done just so well, and the staff know what they are doing. At night they light up little red lanterns and it really does look great.

The only unfortunate thing about the resort is that it seems like the beach has been eroded by the tides and there is really no beach. You walk down a set of steps onto a small sand patch and then into the ocean. When you are here you laze by the pool and look out over the ocean.

At reception there are bicycles that are free for you to use to ride around town. The resort i in the middle of the town and it is very flat place so it is dead easy to get around on the bikes. There are plenty restaurants and shops nearby.

They have got the mix of service, quality and price right at this place and you wont find better accommodation at many places in the world.

Room Tip: Use the bikes, we saw plenty of other guests walking, the bikes are so easy because it is dead flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very nice hotel by the sea, with great swimming pool. We stayed for 5 nights and found the place to be fantastic. Pool area is overlooking a the sea and the grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers and tropical trees. Room is very spacious and clean. All rooms have a balcony or outside private space. Very nice touch are the little complementary snacks served every night during evening room service. There is also a morning room cleaning cleaning service. Complementary water tea and coffee in the room. Two min from the beach and close by activities. Staff is very friendly and go the extra mile. Wifi was very good in the room and around the garden, pool area and beach. Breakfast is extensive with a wide selection of thai and continental food, they even have baked beans and sausages, if you need to! Very relaxing place, many thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#2 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#12 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#11 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#9 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Property: Chongfah Beach Resort
Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including seaview bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing