We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“By the sea, away from the buzz, yet close” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chongfah Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“By the sea, away from the buzz, yet close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel. It is 5-min walking distance from the street's bars, restaurants and massage parlours. The room and bathroom were quite big. Big verandah to laze and relax. The pool overlooks the sea and is perfect to spend the day relaxing in and around it. The restaurant is lovely for sunset drinks because it overlooks the sea! Menu prices are competitive with the other neighbouring restaurants and not as noisy. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of variety. What stood out was the Eco friendliness of the hotel and it's amenities. Really appreciated that. Overall, preferred this hotel to The Leaf, which we stayed at for 2 nights- Chong Fah had a better view, is located right on the beach which is better and had better breakfast as well as tea & coffee in the room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liveformynextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    55
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
302
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Such a lovely hotel. Everything right about it, the rooms, the breakfast, the staff, proximity to restaurants. But the beach isn't there very much as they have built a wall and rocks to hold back the sea. So enjoy the pool for swimming or take a walk along to the nearby beaches. Not a big deal as this is by far the nicest hotel. But the others have better beaches. Having said that this is a fairly busy part of Khao Lak, not quite the centre. Not as busy as Phuket either. There is a nearby National Park, some Tsunami memorials and some snorkelling trips to nearby islands. They also lend you excellent bikes if you fancy a short trip (no lights). Perhaps next time we should stay a bit further north, for better beaches.

Room Tip: Massages next door from 400BHT an hour are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarereviewerEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We are Thai and was only Thai family stayed at the hotel that time. They surprised us with a BD cake & gift & decorate with flower on bed for my boyfriend's BD. All staff are friendly and fully of service mind especially the MD. The location is excellent for a peaceful and extreme of relaxing. We love this hotel and sure to be back again:)

Kat

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Chong Fah Resort was a lovely surprise. Located on the water, with welcoming views and beautiful sunsets. The resort staff were always friendly, helpful and very accommodating in assisting to organize various sightseeing activities. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. Each night the staff dropped off a short note and delicious bedtime treat! The balconies were especially lovely with a gorgeous view. I recommend an end unit for the convenience and views. The resort also provided bicycles for the use of guests to ride through the town, which was a nice touch. Great location, great views and wonderful accommodation, it was a quiet and yet fun place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose an end unit on the second floor if you can. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53debbie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Awesome view with a five star service. Really liked it. A little expensive but its worth money. Best in town. One can not easily complain about this hotel. I didn't feel like im outside of England. Well done Chongfah.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rej h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Chongfah management team have got it right - from the time we arrived in a rather weary state after a long journey from the UK to our departure, all the staff here were really friendly and helpful. We're not usually hotel lovers but this one is outstanding! It's small and personal and wonderfully comfortable. We stayed in 2 rooms over 9 nights, one was a ground floor one which is the cheapest style but very nice, a good size, well equipped and comfy and then moved to a sea view bungalow which was gorgeous. The beds are firm but not rock hard and the pillows wonderfully soft and there are lots of lovely touches like the electric mosquito holders inside the rooms, ceramic mosquito holders for the external sitting area - they even provide fresh coils each day, plentiful supplies of towels for beach and bathroom but with an eye on the environment so guests are encouraged to use towels for more than one day and as much waste as possible is recycled, daily supplies of drinking water and in the bungalow a rather good coffee machine and personal sun beds just outside your room. Every evening staff come round to check that have all the supplies you need in your room and to leave a couple of sweets (cookies etc) and good night wishes.
The breakfast is excellent with a wide range of food including European and Asian, lovely fresh fruit, a choice of teas and coffees and eggs and pancakes/waffles freshly cooked to order.
The beach is just steps away from the hotel though the Tsunami precautions mean that there's a high wall between beach and hotel but unless it's high tide it's easy to walk down to the beach and it's a great one. The hotel also has a fabulous infinity pool - warm and hardly chlorinated so it's a wonderful place to cool off and spend time looking over the sea.
The only small criticism we'd have is the food in the restaurant - we ate one evening meal and one lunch and both were relatively expensive and poor quality compared to the food on offer just a short walk away. To be honest this didn't matter as we'd prefer to eat and out and it's easy to do so with a good range of restaurants within walking distance.
We were wonderfully relaxed at the end of our stay and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The sea view bungalows opposite the beach are wonderful but if too pricey go for an upstairs room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have just got back from a long weekend at this hotel and I absolutely loved every minute of it! Everything was perfect, from the pre stay email communication, to the pick up at the airport, super comfy car with lots of drinks to help yourself to, the staff, who were very helpful and friendly, the room - just perfect, towels - massive and plenty, breakfast, pool, and location, ideal to walk to many restaurants, shops etc, it was all excellent. The hotel has bikes (really good bikes) which you can borrow and take out which was also a great touch.

We were unable to get a late check out, but the staff came to find us by the pool to advise we could use the shower room before heading back to the airport, which turned out to be a guest room, better than the one we'd stayed in, so was a really lovely way to end a perfect trip before heading back to the airport.

We decided to stay in Khao Lak, as was advised it was a less touristy area, and as a weekend break, didn't want to go far from the airport, so this was only an hour away from Phuket airport. There is tourists there, many Europeans, couples and some families, but what it didn't have was a lot of young people that you find in other areas in Thailand, which was really nice.

The beach in front of the hotel is not big, it is long and makes for a nice evening walk when the tides out, but not by far one of the better beaches in Thailand. We went on a day trip to the Similan Islands where the beaches made up for it, such incredible islands, and waters a colour I have never seen before on any other island in Thailand. However, just wish there was a way of going to these places without 40 other guests on the same boat, and about 8 other boats all going! I am not one for these mass day trip excursions. But it is worth going to the Similan Islands.

The sun sets right over the sea in front of the hotel, and its just wonderful to sit there in the evening and watch it. Make sure you make time for this if you are staying here.

Go for a massage next to the resort by the beach, but ask for a soft massage, otherwise they half kill you! just lying there listening to the waves is magical!

Room Tip: All rooms are great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#12 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#2 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.3 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#11 of 64 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Property: Chongfah Beach Resort
Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including seaview bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing