We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are so many good things to write about Chong Fah Resort that it could take up the whole review, but I thought I’d try to write a beneficial review that may be helpful to others thinking about staying here.
I am being brutally honest here – so the People at Chong Fah should regard it as constructive criticism. I will try to address the issues raised by previous reviewers and cast my unbiased comment on their views.
1. Some reviewers commented about the large number of Germans staying at Chong Fah – yes there is a lot of Germans, but they were friendly, and like us, looking for a good holiday regardless of who else stays there. Spare a thought for the staff - having to speak English and German, plus Russian and whatever else.
2. Not many children stayed there – so from my perspective that is a real plus. No unnecessary splashing in the pool, and an absence of incessant squealing and crying. Sorry if I offend some parents – I have raised 4 children of my own and enjoy the peace and quiet now they have grown up. You will feel the same one day.
3. Most people there were of the age 45 – 65, so being in the 50 – 60 age group, I felt quite at home.
4. There is no beautiful white sand beach in front of Chong Fah – the beach has been reclaimed and there is a rock wall with stairs leading to the beach. The beach is only visible at low tide – so if you love the beach for sun baking and swimming – find somewhere else to stay, or take a short walk to where the sandy beach in its natural state is available..
5. The room facilities:
a. Power points are not in abundance, so charging phones and tablets is a little challenging using all available power outlets. My suggestion is to take a light weight power board – in fact that is a great tip for whenever you go overseas.
b. There is no PC work area/ desk – I had to use the coffee area and a stool, which gave me a sore back. The room is not suitable if you want to conduct some business whilst there.
c. The chairs (inside and outside) are not very comfortable, in fact other than the bed, most furniture is there for looks rather than comfort.
6. The restaurant is very good and very affordable compared to many resorts. Yes it is cheaper outside, at restaurants with lower overheads, but for an extra 40% or so you get great service and the convenience of not having to leave the resort. This is a resort you can move into and stay for your whole holiday without feeling as if your missing out on something. This is not my style but it may suit some.
7. Being a small “boutique” resort has many benefits. From the front entrance to the further most room is only a short stroll. This means the pool and the restaurant are very conveniently located, not far from any rooms.
8. The resort is fairly friendly to people with disabilities – reasonably flat with ramps available
9. Water pressure for the indoor shower was poor in our room – but we were at the end of the row of units and often that means you get the worst water pressure. The outdoor shower was great, but it wasn’t hot. We didn’t use the outdoor spa, but some people may find that more attractive than we did
10. Coffee machine was great – very good for an in-room facility.
11. Khao Lak is like Phuket was 20 - 30 years ago. That was attractive to us but may be a problem to those looking to be in the centre of activity. Dining prices are cheaper and there is more top quality restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best - otherwise ask for a second floor unit at the rear with views over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Hs656409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    69
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
389
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

With close proximity to the beach, CF offers one of the best resort in khao lak. Price, service and location is also one of the plus feature on top of their mamy awards for best hotel.

I personally like the rustic feel of the resort and the spacious interior especially the bathroom where one can settle all his 'business' at one go without obstruction like glass panel and such

The bed is equally comfy and inviting. One can ask for additional pillows with 4 different types of comfort level to choose from.

CF also provides free half tour on turtle conservation but limited to a specified day. Food is also great and buffet dinner is provided at a reaonable price.

If u need privacy, CF have the villas for u. Jaccuzzi pool, bathtub and coffee machine all at your own convenience.

Overall, I have an excellent experience with CF and would definitely come bk again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. It's very quiet place to relax and unwind. The pool is lovely and looks out over the beach. The rooms a spacious but maybe a bit of a poor design as not really a work station if your bring a computer. We had a beachfront bungalow which is worth the extra money if you can afford it. The restuarant has really nice food for breakfast and evening dinner. If you like to swim in the sea you can only do so during low tide as there is a sea wall and access to the beach is not good. All the usual massages places and restaurants are nearby. The grounds are perhaps a bit unkept and need a good mow and weed but I guess in the tropics everything grows whilst you look. I have enjoyed my stay but am not sure if I would come back due to the beach situation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at chong fah for 4 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon in the front bungalows overlooking the ocean. The service was amazing from check-in late at night, to the beautiful staff remembering you and being so helpful and everything in between. It was so quiet with beautiful scenary. The food and drinks were great. We could borrow bikes and ride into main part of town to exchange money and go to the markets. It was a great resort tucked away from the main roads but so accessible to everything. Will recommend and definitely stay again!!! Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After a period of two years we came back to the Chong Fah and to say it briefly – it still is the perfect place!

This time we had chosen a beachfront bungalow and it is really worth the upgrade price: the view over the sea is stunning – perfect sunsets included! The room itself is the same as the normal bungalows, perfectly clean, in good condition and lovely decorated with flowers when we arrived.

But most extraordinary (…even for Thailand…) is the staff of the Chong Fah: extremely friendly (but not in an artificial way), helpful, anytime ready to fulfill the guests wishes. And because of the small size of the hotel, it always has a touch of family.

The Chong Fah is located quite centrally: restaurants, bars, the local market, massage studios – everything is in walking distance of the hotel. Or take the route along the amazing beach and walk it for kilometers.

As all the other positive things have already been written, I just like to sum it up: we enjoyed our second stay at the Chong Fah very much and will surely come back (soon).

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows are really worth the upgrae dprice, but the other ones are very nice, too. We l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaggi_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked primarily because of the great reviews on Trip Adviser - there are lots of options in Khao Lak. Sooo glad we took note of the ratings - it is all of this, and more.

Very boutique feel, with only 30 rooms. This is a great place to relax and enjoy stunning views, and great personalsed service.

What makes this resort special are the staff - from day 1 they all knew us by name, and did everything possible to make our stay perfect.

The beachfront rooms are well worth the extra cost...rooms themselves are spacious, and well designed. Outside bath and shower area a lovely touch. Air conditioning works, but could be more intense.

Of note is the relatively good value of the restaurant and bars at the hotel, which are good quality, and not over priced (in the way that so many high quality resorts are). And unlike several of the major hotels (Sarojin, Marriot...) in Khao Lak, you are right in the centre close to many restaurants and bars.

We loved this hotel

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms lovely and worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NB2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked this hotel as staying in Khao Lak, and after much research, went with the Trip Advisor top rating.

This property is simply stunning. Stayed with my partner for 5 nights from 13th March.

Location is phenomenal...incredible for sunsets. We stayed in a bungalow on the beachfront - the view is def worth the upgrade price. The room itself was excellent, in excellent condition, and beautifully presented for our arrival. Housekeeping were v efficient throughout our stay, and any requests were immediately fulfilled.

Which leads us to the staff. This hotel only has 30 rooms, and from start to finish we felt like house guests - we didn't need to give our room number, they knew already - the staff knew our names, and couldn't do enough to help us, down to every detail. It was also my birthday during our stay, and the way the staff did everything to make it special was above and beyond.

The pool was lovely (if a little hot through the afternoon once the sun heated up the water); and the restaurant remarkably good value for a 5 star hotel.

Unlike several of the better known hotels in Khao Lak, this hotel also has the benefit of being very close to a number of very good local restaurants and bars - Khao Lak itself most certainly isn't Patong, but what nightlife there is is in close proximity, which is chillled.

During our stay we went to the local market (1k) and used the bikes from the hotel which were perfect! We booked a trip to see the elephants (through the hotel too) which was great fun! We hired a scooter one day - guy located next door to hotel - and went to a place called white sandy beach - would def recommend. Was about 10k from hotel. Also went to visit the waterfall (10k) and the tsunami memorial. (1k). There is a free trip to see the rescue turtles which is worth a visit too.

Beach is amazing (moreso at low tide) - would recommend early morning or sunset walk. some nice little bars to visit.......also some good massages. We had two whilst we were there.

All in all, a fabulous stay. We hope to go back sometime (soon!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 69 in Khao Lak
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#15 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Property: Chongfah Beach Resort
Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including seaview bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing