We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already counting down the days to our return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left our every need was not only catered for but anticipated in advance. I dont know what they put in the water here but the staff are the nicest and best drilled we have ever experienced.

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here and I simply can't think of a single thing more anyone associated with Chongfah could have done to have made our stay any more memorable!

We were greeted by our christian names as we got out of the taxi (seriously impressed by that little touch) our room/bed was decorated with towels in the shape kissing swans and rose petals and all the stuff, which according to our room neighbors took hours to prepare. At the end of our stay we asked for a meal on our patio, and the trouble they went to again to decorate and prepare the area was above and beyond the call of duty. We had a personalised waiter service all night long and the food was the best we had eaten during our entire holiday. If youre thinking of doing something similar speak to "Sod" what a star he is!

No point in going over how wonderful the sunset, the cocktails, the service, the rooms, etc etc, its all true and I agree entirely, and at the end of our stay I asked if we could have somewhere to change and shower between vacating our room and our taxi arriving to collect us later in the day, of course this was no problem, but during breakfast "Chai" informed us that they could do better than that and we could stay in our own room until departure, free of charge. (Given previous comments on this subject I can only assume room availability would of course be an issue).

Now then, the whole point of these reviews is to help other people decide how best to spend their hard earned cash and on your last day a questionaire is left in the room. How was this? how was that? blah blah blah? and as far as I was concerned I think I answered "Perfect" to every question, and rightly so.

However, at the end of the questionaire you're asked for comments on how to improve the hotel, I didnt answer then because we were still both basking in the afterglow of a marvellous week, but after being home for a week I think I can actualy offer some constructive criticism, on second thoughts that's too strong a word, lets call it reflections rather than criticisms.
For reasons I dont understand, the guests, at least during our stay, were one hundred per cent German or german speaking, not that that in itself is a problem, if I'd flown half way round the world to be greeted by a wall of British accents (I'm English by the way) we would have been on the first plane out, deposit or not!!
No, the problem is, I dont think in a group, that Germans particularly like the English, because trying to get a smile out of a single one of them was really hard work, a "good morning" or a "good evening" was taking on a whole new level of expertise, so you can forget about sharing a beer or three and falling off a bar stool together!
In fact by the time it was almost time to leave we had managed to chip away at a few facades, melt away the frostiness, and started to think... oh, ok, these guys are kinda cool, they then turned out to be Swiss or Austrian and suffering the same anxieties as ourselves.

Maybe German guests represents a more lucrative market compared to other nationalities, and if thats the case then fair enough, but for me a more eclectic mix of clientel would make for a more interesting and enjoyable social gathering. After all, thats why WE travel. So if there is an area for improvement then maybe encouraging a few Aussies, Kiwis, Americans, God forbid a few more Brits even, etc. etc. might bring a little something extra to the party.

So I hope I havent offended anybody because thats not my intention at all, we had a wonderfull time, we're already planning our return visit next year and I would very very definately recommend the Chongfah as The place to stay in KL.

Finally. To Sod, Rong, Kib, Meaw, Chai, Pink, Pat, Neon, all the house keeping staff, Bow and Pom and everyone else at Chongfah, thank you all so very much for everything, you're all far and away the nicest people we've met in a very long time. See you all soon, Mark and Jacqueline. xxx

By the way, where else in all of Gods kingdom do the receptionists wave and call out your name as you leave to go out for the day/evening...."oooh bye bye, have a nice time"...

LOL.

Just brilliant!

Room Tip: Beach Bungalows are lovely. Just book what you can afford, everwhere is just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 564 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked this resort based purely on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. I recco booking an airport transfer through the hotel, it was so easy and comfortable, with A/C and complimentary beverages. We stayed in a regular room upstairs, no beach view but was a good value and very spacious and comfortable. I have to eat gluten-free and brought a Thai translation food card with me and they did amazing accommodating me. Rong and Sod in the restaurant made sure I had everything I needed and would make me something custom if it was not gluten-free to begin with. I have to say the food at SeaBorn was soooooo good, some of the best we had in Thailand, and great value. The drinks were a lot more expensive though and not a good value, especially wine! Wine is expensive in Thailand because of the import tax. Beach is great, but note you can only swim at low tide, which was not a problem for us. Just lay by the pool or walk around the village if you want variety. Overall, great resort, our favorite out of the three we stayed at in Thailand, would highly recommend.

Positives: Amazing personalized service and staff, fabulous food at a good value, great location for beach but also town activity. Tour excursions were great! Especially Elephant trekking and Phang Na Bay. Por and Chai organized for us and were very helpful.

Things to note: Almost the whole resort is German, other places we stayed were much more international. Not a problem if you don't mind hearing the language constantly. Also drinks very pricey, you could get a bottle from a shop and mix your own or go to one of the bars in the little town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at Chong fah for a total of six nights in November 2012. I love this place. This is a gentle place with the most helpful , friendly staff you will ever meet. They know your name from day 1, and remember what you like just as quickly. The food is great, and there are a number of other restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Taxis are just outside the entrance for trips further afield. I loved the bungalow, particularly the outdoor spa tub--great place to cool down after a hot day. Rooms are lovely, large and welcoming. No spa, but massages can be arranged with 1 hour notice.

Room Tip: The bungalows are nice, and hte beach front ones are irresistible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnIslamabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall nice, friendly, clean, cortueous, good location. Much to our regret the end of our stay was less amusing.
For late check out hotel asked for 1.000,- THB for additional 3 hours at our room. This policy appears ridiculous for guests staying 16 nights in a row and having drinks at bar, food at restaurant etc and spend a hell of money extra.
It kills the reputation built up in 15 days in one moment. If they handle this policy for short time guests I have a certain understanding for it. Anyway I can not recommend this resort at a 100% rate.
The happy hour at the bar should also include wine and beer, not only cocktails.
Breakfast is nice serving Asian and Western preferences, however the fruits especially liked by the Europeans like Mango/Lichi for example are not offered.
Internet wireless is for free.
There is no fitness center and no spa.
Beach or swimming at high tide is risky, as you might be thrown to large beach protecting stones. At low tide it is fine and good access to sea.
Beside the disturbing last day the stay was good but there is still some acid taste and some angryness in me.

Room Tip: Try to get beach side villas or upper floor rooms to look over palmtrees and see the sea. The corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eckardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I were at Chongfah BEACH for our honeymoon from November 8 to 11, 2012.

First of all, be sure you book at Chongfah BEACH and not BAAN Chongfa since the latter is located a good twenty minutes walk from the beach and is more of a mountain side resort... we did the mistake and both hotels confirmed that it was not the first time people made this error.

Chongfah BEACH is really a wonderful small boutique beachfront hotel. The service is fantastic (special thanks to Rose at the reception desk for her smile, gentleness and super service and to Chai our designated resource person during our stay), from your arrival with collars of orchids and flavourful Roselle drinks to the visit by Chai of our bungalow that was decorated with many petals (on the bed, in the private exterior bath tub, etc.

Bungalows are spacious and clean with all the necessary equipment, especially an espresso coffee machine with included coffee capsules everyday.

The included breakfast is amazing with various choices such as fresh home made waffles and crepes, fresh juices (guava, lemongrass, pineapple, orange, etc.), thai currys, bacon, homemade omelettes, etc. Cappuccinos and lattes are also included as many as you want. The whole from 7 am until 10:30 am. My wife and I were having breakfast at 7 am, running afterwards, a little swim in the amazing infinity pool and another breakfast around 10 am! Service in the restaurant was also excellent, special thanks to Rong for its excellent coffees and to Meaw for her smiles and constant attentions.

The only reason we put 4 out of 5 for value and cleanliness is because there were insignificant small things that could have been better considering the fact that this is a high end resort in Thailand (200$US plus per night), but we would definitely recommend this hotel and come back.

Nico and Stefi

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second stay at Chong Fah and the first for my travel companion.... and I cant wait to go back for my third stay!
In 5 trips to Thailand and numberous resorts/hotels that I have stayed at, Chong Fah stands out as a clear leader.
The staff are amazing! so friendly, helpful , nothing is too much and they seem genuinely happy to have made you smile! I have never stayed anywhere were staff remember your name .. it really makes you feel not just a number but a valued guest...

On my first stay we stayed in the standard room with the seaview and i loved it... this time we had a beachfront bungalow and it was just perfect... there is nothing I could ask for more.. the beds we comfortable, a pillow menu, the spa is a great size and very peacfully set in the garden, the bathroom a great size and even the toiletries etc are of a high standard, coffee machine for the early morning coffee sitting on the deck chair taking in the most gorgeous veiw of the ocean...

houeskeeping were friendly, proffessional and not intrusive at all... with 3 ladies coming each morning they were quick but very thorough. .. and again in the eveing to deliver a tasty snack and offer more bottle of water if needed....

In the afternoon it wasnt uncommon to find someone walking around the deck chair and past our room offering a cold drink, frozern treat... and speaking of deck chairs... this is one resort no one could complain about not finding a deck chair to relax on.... there are 20 rooms... along the beach front there are 40 chairs, another 20 around the pool area , each bungalow has 2 out the front.... no worry about having to get out early to claim your spot :)

Breakfast is plenitful, fresh and a good variety... we ate at the resort often which is not something I often do, but the food here was fantastic and really reasonably priced... always a lunch special for under 200 bht. Happy hour cocktails were 2 for one and there was a second happy hour at 10pm for a late night sip.

The pool is a centrepiece and it has a gorgeous view from the infinity edge...

On a thursday morning they offer a free trip up to the turtle consevetory and thursday nights is asian buffet night... the best 450 bht we spent all trip... it is a fantastic selection of food freshly cooked in front of you, with everything from sushi to stir frys, strongly reccommended for a nice dinner in.

The surrounding area has numberous restaurants, massage places and washing drop off points and to be honest you could find everything you needed within 100m of the resort... but it is so peaceful and quiet that you would think once you were in the resort you were a million miles from anywhere...

we sat on our last day and filled out our feedback card.. and there is a question about what more could they do or improve... we couldnt think of anything.... this is what I call a perfect resort... a big call .. but in 2 stays I can find nothing i think can be improved...

If your looking for somewhere to feel a little special... relax... enjoy good food.....want complete comfort from your room... want gorgeous views and staff that really want to see you enjoy your time there... Chong Fah is all that and more..

enjoy

:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelle_lee_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in a waterfront bungalow with a girlfriend for 4 glorious days in October 2012. The bungalows are clean, spacious and beautiful, plenty of room to move about. There is a coffee machine as well. The staff could not be more helpful and when you arrive are greeted by your first name. The resort is small and quiet. The pool is just perfect with beautiful ocean views whilst swimming. My girlfriend and I mainly stayed at the resort and ordered room service for the 4 days and also had an hour massage in our room for only 400 Baht, food and drinks are amazingly cheap and the food is of 5 star quality. I would highly recommend this slice of heaven. There is a laundry service just outside the resort plus massages and bars/restaurants either side.. I am looking forward to returning one day..Wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: I would definately stay in the beach front bungalows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarneeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
856 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
513 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: $80 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including seaview bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing