We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Tonson

Tonson
Ranked #130 of 271 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Really friendly staff, gorgeous food for pennies, and a great atmosphere.

Sitting on those crappy plastic chairs, with a manao soda, looking out at the sea... the epitome of our honeymoon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poultox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“very convenient for the Ramada, good food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went to Tonson for lunch mainly as it was just next door to our Hotel and after a large breakfast we only wanted a snack. it was very popular at night too. There is something special about sitting with your feet almost in the sea, watching the lights of the fishing boats and the lanterns floating into the sky. The food was good traditional Thai fare with plenty of choice. The portions were extremely generous. The prawn cocktail was superb, a meal in itself. The spring rolls also would have been sufficient for a main course. The cocktails were better in quality and value at Aroy so a mix and match might be a good option as they are very close to one another ... if you feel that energetic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank siobhanmuskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely beach restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a lovely little restaurant close to The Ramada hotel. Dont go by the look of it just try. The food is good and price cheap served with friendly service. Lovely position on the beach, great place to watch the sunset.
We tried the last restaurant by the ferry crossing and although good found this one to be the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value for money directly on the beach”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first visit to Tonson was so good that we had to come back a second time during our 10 days stay.

Here spicy actually means spicy, so go for the European spicy if you're not sure you can cope with the burning feeling.

Perfect location and very cheap food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DR1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level Contributor
414 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Average Food & Chaotic Service”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Based on the reviews by previous Trip Advisor Reviewers, we were very disappointed with Tonson as we had eaten at My Friend a couple of nights previous & found that the food & service there was very much better. My frien is located just a bit further down the beach before the ferry. At Tonson, all of our dishes were delivered at the same time even tough we asked for the main courses to come after the appetizers. the spicy squid salad was not at all spicy & tasteless. Also the massaman curry was disappointing. Maybe we went on a bad day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonson also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Tonson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing