We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better places to eat!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nom's Family Restaurant

Nom's Family Restaurant
Ranked #165 of 271 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“There are better places to eat!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our first venture into Khao Lak, rather than our hotel, for food. Service fine and drinks OK; food for me is unmemorable and for my partner was poor.

Wouldn't recommend; our least enjoyed meal in Thailand.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Food was well priced but very average and portions were small. They offer some good seafood deals but the food lacked great flavor. The service was ok

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

First taste of Thai food at Nom's Family restaurant. Excellent food and prepared well. If you ask for 'mei-pet' (not spicy) they will listen and only put a little spice in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank yscheimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK but not more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had dinner at peak time and it took them ages to produce the food. The food itself was nothing to write home about. Good but not remarkable.

Only reason for the review is the great (and I mean great) Hawker Stall outside the restaurant selling the most divine Pancakes

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gbrockmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Popular and deservedly so”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I had wanted to try Nom's for lunch while we were walking around Bang La On but it wasn't open! So we went back the next day for an early dinner at around 6pm... no one else was there at the time but by 6.45pm the place was almost full. I guess this place has a reputation for good food! We ordered the shrimp cakes which are seriously the best I have ever had and I have had a lot just cos I love them; grilled red snapper with garlic and pepper (you can choose your fish from the cart outside the restaurant or the waitress will bring it to you for "approval"); and stir-fried morning glory which was simple and tasty. The kitchen is open, bright and clean so you can be sure that there is nothing dodgy going on. Just excellent, authentic, delicious food :)

Separately while waiting for our food, I went to have a look at the bungalows that Nom's rent out which are behind the restaurant and also where the family home seems to be. There's a big garden with roosters and hens roaming around but the place has lots of mozzies so if you do decide to have a wander around, slap on the mozzie repellent!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missduhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nom's Family Restaurant also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Nom's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing