We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Axel is the best chef in Africa”
Review of Onsea House Arusha

Onsea House Arusha
Ranked #7 of 144 Restaurants in Arusha
Price range: $10 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Onsea House is a recognized centre of culinary excellence. Taste the freshly made brasserie dishes accompanied by the finest specially selected wines. Their Michelin experienced Belgian chef prepares a fusion of exquisite European and African delights based on seasonal specialties. Just call or email to book a table for brunch, lunch, evening with friends or that special candlelight dinner occasion. Since September 2011 Machweo Fine Dining offers the guests an extra beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelightdinner.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent 2 nights in Arusha before our safari. Axel was an unbelievably gracious and hilarious host and chef. The food was amazingly flavorful. Axel kept us in stitches with his after banter and jokes. He also shared with us a great single malt scotch which he declared, "no big deal, as it was expensive and difficult too get, but what the hell....."

Date of visit: July 2012
1  Thank Dougquon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Onsea both before and after our Mt Kilimanjaro climb. I cannot recommend it enough, the owners were more than helpful (dealt with our delayed luggage after we left for our climb), the accommodation was fantastic (both the hillside cottages and the main house) and the restaurant excellent. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Onsea to other travelers. After 7 days on Kilimanjaro it is a fantastic place to recover.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1059Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

After spending 7 days on mt. Kilimanjaro the Onsea house was just what the doctor ordered. We stayed in their bungalow style rooms nestled on a lush hillside. The rooms were spectacular... Very clean with great water pressure. Internet was a bit spotty in the rooms, but very strong in designated areas. Spa services were very good and priced quite reasonably and they were incredibly accommodating. As for the food I don't know where to begin my praise. Each meal brought new creations to my plate that were unique and bursting with flavor made from the freshest ingredients. Options for dinner may be narrow for the finicky eater, but if you are the kind of person who likes to let the cook cook you will not be disappointed. The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly and the owners even made sure they took the time to talk with each table to make sure they were happy with everything.

Thank RJ C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Onsea house has what we found to be the best food by far in Arusha, and a set menu with appetizers, 3 courses and wine, was about $60 per person with tip, so a fabulous value to boot. The Onsea House, encompassing both a sprawling restaurant and about a dozen rooms for overnight stays, is set into a hillside with nice views out over a valley, The inside/outside atmosphere was wonderful, and we had a couple of charcoal pots near us to take the chill off the evening air. Every course was fantastic and we enjoyed sharing individual selections. The wine pairings were passable, but not remarkable. Given another trip to Arusha, we'd go back to Onsea more than once. We were lucky to be early for dinner and obtain view seating outside. Plan ahead with reservations and dress a bit better than the safari shorts and t-shirts common at other venues.

Date of visit: July 2012
Thank BradS922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Everything about onsea is amazing! Food ambiance service a true gem in traveling

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Estatedrive122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onsea House Arusha also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Onsea House Arusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing