We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elsa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spices & Herbs

Spices & Herbs
Ranked #15 of 106 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elsa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

They had great food and good service. The food was spicey and they had a lot of vegetarian options, just the way I like it =)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elsapalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
358 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal, but gave me stomach trouble....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I really loved my meal here. Nice outdoor seating, friendly service. As a fan of authentic Ethiopian food, I was thrilled by the menu choices, the aromas, and the great tastes. Unfortunately, shortly thereafter I was gripped by bad stomach..... This was my only episode of disrupted digestion over my 3 week stay in TZ. But, even with that problem, I'd go back for another meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great setting & fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really great Ethiopean food, so plenty of vegies and choice of meats cooked in flavourful sauces. The staff are lovely, all girls the three times I went.
Try the tea, it's wonderful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation, but better options exist in Arusha”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night before flying out of Tanzania. The rooms were clean, and the courtyard was pretty tranquil. The food in the restaurant was mediocre, but nothing to write home about. Our biggest complaint was with the laundry service they provided for us. We had asked them to do our laundry earlier in the day. When we received it late in the evening they had pressed everything, and managed to ruin a few shirts along the way. The staff were not that helpful during our stay, but if you ate looking for a decent value this place will do (just go somewhere else for laundry).

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRINGA
1 review
“My experience of the restaurant/lodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Food was very good. So was the member of staff that with the aid of a duplicate key, entered our room whilst we were eating and went through our bags. The meal ultimately cost us a 1000 euros and my camera. Though i must say they did have the decency of locking the door behind them when they had finished.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spices & Herbs also viewed

 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Spices & Herbs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing