We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay during your more-safari stopover in arusha”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

pleasant place to stay in Arusha with nice clean rooms, mosquito nets for every bed, and tribal style design. The pool area is great for relaxing in the sun but the pool itself is a bit dirty. Free high speed wifi all around is a major plus, even faster speeds than i get back home! Our stay booked as part of a safari included breakfast and dinner, which was quite a tasty assortment of Tanzanian cuisine. Drinks are reasonable at 3500tsh per beer, and 2000tsh for a huge carafe of Swahili tea (the same as masala chai).

Even if you have a good filter, be careful of the water from the tap. First time you turn it on will be full of particulates from the pipe. Let it run for 5sec and it gets to be more reasonable. Location is not the greatest, a bit far removed from central part of Arusha down the road, but likely you're staying here on your arrival day before a safari. Great option for that to relax before heading out for jungle rides.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Ilboru Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 684 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of my top 3 hotels in Arusha, the hotel is located about 10-15 minutes from town, under the cool mount meru surroundings. It has a swimming pool, and spa in addition to the basics.
Customer care is superb, two Sophias (receptionists, both share the same name Sophia) knows their work and are so welcoming, the owner is also friendly, will pass by at breakfast time and say hello to every customer.
The room style is super and at the back veranda you can spot some monkeys in trees in day time.

Room Tip: pick any room, they are all nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having driven up a very rutted dirt road between shacks, street sellers, children playing and shops, it was a surprise to turn into a gated Lodge with extensive gardens offering peace and quiet. Our room was on the edge of the property. It was pretty basic but clean and served its purpose for our last night in the country. The restaurant was also quite bare. Food was good, an African menu which we enjoyed. Service was fine, although noticeably inferior to all the other places we stayed in Tanzania. Perhaps it was the difference between the town and safari lodges. Anyway, the Lodge is fine for a first or last night stay, but not really the place for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent a night on each end of our safari at Ilboru. Location is in a quiet suburb of Arusha, up a very bumpy road. Welcome staff was really pleasant and the free wifi (when it works) is a nice touch.

Rooms were ok. Shower on our first night was pretty useless, but on the return trip the room we had had a great shower. The big pool is a great place to relax and the food was satisfactory. Overall nothing exceptional but definitely a fine place for a stay while in transit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKM2F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Basic but adequate place to stay for a night or two before and after Kilimanjaro climb. Good pool area, very friendly staff and good food. However, if planning a longer stay, would look for something a little more luxurious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi666Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Was booked here by our tour operator, before and after a Kilimanjaro trek. Nice pool, comfortable rooms. The restaurant is pretty good, especially with the local dishes (machalari, etc.). The staff was friendly and helpful, and the overall experience was much better than our stay at another place outside of Arusha (Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge). It was a good place to relax, and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TbackAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A great introduction to the culture of Tanzania! Ilboru Safari Lodge is located on the outskirts of Arusha accessed by a narrow, very bumpy red dirt road in the middle of one of the typical neighborhoods of mud brick, wooden or corrugated metal homes. Most people also seem to run some type of business from their homes, selling produce, beverages, doing mechanical work etc. Livestock such as cattle, goats and chickens wander the street along with everyone else. Very few homes appear to have plumbing as they gather water from outside hoses or communal wells. Many are cooking outside on open fires. Very few people have cars so get around by walking, bicycle or the van buses that are crammed full. The garden has nice gardens and large swimming pool area and the rooms are separate rounded type structures. Bed was very comfortable and three piece bathroom included shower with hot running water. Shower head was a little weak but did the job. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choices, dinner and lunch could be ordered a la carte. Free wifi available by the bar and pool area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
592 reviews
5.1 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
451 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilboru Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $101 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing