We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ilboru Lodge - Good Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Found this gem of a place via a trip adviser forum posting while researching pre & post lodging for our kilimanjaro climb. It was surprisingly a very nice place. Room rates were around $100.00 USD per night. Probably a little less expensive if you pay with cash vs a credit card.

Its a little disconcerting upon arrival because you are on a main road in Arusha and then turn up a unpaved very much a "locals" area road with shops & homes. The place itself is very nice & gated/fenced from the community (i.e. security). It is pretty quiet with the exception of the occasional calls from turkeys housed in the very back of the facility.

The rooms are adequately furnished with mosquito nets, welcome drink, bottled water, evening turn down service & most importantly hot water. As with most part of this area there is the occasional power outage but this facility has a generator.

There is also a nice bar area, pool, laundry service, free internet access and a restaurant with decent enough food (free breakfast).

The front desk service was excellent. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay. For those looking for more than a backpacking place but less than the more expensive lodges this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glbl-trkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cam272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jokejensma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Logis de caractère bien dans le style local
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Papou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DuBreuil15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Deux chambres jumellees
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank silvere_martinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
5.1 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#11 of 45 in Arusha
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 45 in Arusha
103 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
2.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilboru Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $108 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing