We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karama Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karama Lodge & Spa
Ranked #14 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in January 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. The food was very good, the rooms are full of charm and little details that make them so special, the garden is beautiful.
The staff was very helpful and the swimming pool a delight after 6 days of hiking. I would recommend it to everyone who wants to have a beautiful stay in Arusha.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    134
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
53
117
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Karama benefits from lots of things: It's slightly out of town (only ten minutes) so you're away from the hustlebustle hassle. It's very beautiful- surrounded by tropical trees and deciduous ones too. It's slightly cooler (because it's high) and thus less mosquito-tastic. It is normally very quiet and rather an oasis.
The real gems are in the layout: it's set on a large hill, and the view from the restaurant - which incidentally has just been very classily refurbished by female craftswoman Wieke Van Leuwen- is spectacular. The food is not bad- not expensive, and better than average... but it's the staff that make the place I think. They're organised, really friendly, and efficient, and nothing is too much trouble.
I love hanging out by the pool: it's not massive (so don't expect to be pounding up and down with lengths) but it's in a really secluded, beautiful position, and a day eating snacks, drinking beer with a mate, is one of the best ways I know to relax!

There's a yoga/massage room too. Check to see when the yoga classes are, they're great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanzibar1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights before going on safari and for one at the end. It's slightly out of town which is great, up on a steep hill surrounded by lovely trees and gardens with monkeys (so don't leave anything lying around on your balcony or it will disappear!). It was lovely having a large balcony with chairs to admire the views.
On our first visit we stayed in 2 lodges quite close to the main dining room and bar. On our second visit we had quite a hike up steps in the dark to reach our lodges situated much higher up the hill - bags were carried for us but it was still quite a climb!
Nice breakfasts and dinners were ok too but we always had a huge wait for food to arrive - over an hour on one occasion.
There is noise at night but it didn't bother us in particular - I live near Heathrow airport.
It was chillier than anticipated and slightly damp too in August - there was no way we could have used the pool.
Certainly a more characterful place to stay than other hotels on offer in Arusha.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge lower down unless you like hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squashballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Close to the town centre but out of the bustle and noise, we were not disturbed by any sellers. Beautiful natural setting, with great views over Arusha.
Each room is a separate hut, well appointed.The staff were friendly and helpful and good evening meal.
Unsealed road to the lodge is a little off-putting but well worth the effort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suziirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay so close to town. Lovely spot with good service and food. Great forest feel to it. Pity about the dogs and noise from the surrounds. Have stayed there a number of times and this was the first where noise was an issue. Great pool area. Very good value for money. Stay safe and sleep sound

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a blessing in disguise to have found this hotel last minute when Impala hotel disappointed us by giving away our reservation to a conference. It's away from the town of Arusha and in a natural setting. I have a fond memory of this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seetastelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

6 days at this Lodge was a pleasant stay, despite our hectic study program. Beautiful traditional like huts standing on poles gives a feeling of being in the wild amidst beautiful tree cover. The Monkeys add to the spice. The staff are very professional and friendly all through. Great food, but limited choices per day.
Excellent Wireless internet connection. All you need is to request a log in code at the reception.
For the season between end of May to August it is quite cold. Carry some warm clothes for the day and night. Despite some beautiful sunny mornings, it is still quite cold. Traditional coal tray in our training room was a great delight.
The rooms are furnished with a mosquito net, wide comfortable bed, a beautiful crafted table and shelves, separate toilet and shower...excellent hot water. The first day there was no hot water, we reported to reception and this was corrected within 20 minutes.
Generally looks like a beautiful African Village.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karama Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karama Lodge & Spa

Property: Karama Lodge & Spa
Address: Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road, Arusha 1573, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Karama Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Eco-friendly, artistic, chic, relaxing….”Nestling in Suye Hill National Park, just 10 minutes from the center of Arusha, Karama Lodge & Spa is the ideal home base for Tanzania safaris or for a restful night’s sleep before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Accommodation is consisted of 22 stilted cabins made of local materials in total harmony with the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Karama Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karama Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing