We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karam Lodge still improving”
Review of Karama Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karama Lodge & Spa
Ranked #12 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have been her 5 and 2 yeats ago. We can see the difference. It was and is even more now in our opinion the best lodge in Arusha condering price and value. A new lodgemanager who knows what she must do and is doing the right things stimulates the improvement. A good staff and excellent cook compleets the right ingredients for a good stay.

Room Tip: When you are big ask for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 298 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spend in total 7 nights at Karamalodge in Arusha (inbetween our mountain hike and safari) and we really loved it. The Lodge lies just out of town in a very quiet surrounding on a hill. The lodges are very spacious and really really clean. There is a seperate toilet and a shower with hot water. All lodges have a balcony. The park is very safe and there are guards.
Furthermore there is a swimming pool were you get clean towels, so you dont have to bring your own.
We loved the staff of Karama Lodge. They are very enthusiastic and help you with all questions and information you need. Also the communication via Email before our booking was really super. Everytime we arrived in Karama Lodge (after a mountain hike or a safari) it feels like coming home!
The restaurant and bar is also recommandable. The food is DELICIOUS!!!!

The park organizes trips to a village and a waterfall nearby - this is a very nice option, which you should do. The walk is a bit strenguous but its worth it.


The whole park is very authentic and in African style. We really loved it and would recommend it to anyone who visits Arusha!

Warm greeting to everybody at Karamalodge from us!!!
Dagmar and Mr. :) Frank

Room Tip: If you have any problems with walking ask for a lodge close to the restaurant/pool. The park is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent one night in Karama Lodge on our way to Ngorogoro Crater and the place was great. Clean, charming rooms. Very eco-friendly and the restaurant area is beautiful. We ate dinner which was delicious and the ambiance was fantastic. They also have a very nice pool and on a clear day you can see Kilimanjaro. Friendly staff and safe environment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjamin705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am a little jaded by the words eco lodge. I thing this is an excuse to give you less for more $$.
That is my feeling about this lodge. We arrived late at night and left in the am so we did not spend much time there, but it disappointed. No hot water and almost no pressure in the am.

The hyped rooms on stilts did not do much for me. i would not recommend this place. It was ok for the short time we spent but not great.

The breakfast was fine, but not very exciting. Glad we moved on to the game parks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssilver628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on total around our kili trek.

The good: lovely staff, nice food and breakfast, great cabins with nice view (occasionally can see kili on a clear day). Nice to be a bit away from town. Beautiful lounge area to sit and read or relax.

The bad: long walk to town. Couldn't pay by credit card (machine not working) and costs $20 return to get a taxi to an ATM. Can be noisy in the early morning from animals/town at bottom of the hill (although this is not the lodges fault of course). Internet costs extra - 4000tsh for an hour.

Overall a great place to stay and would happily stay again although keep in mind the location. Also - some rooms are bigger than others - ask for one of the bigger rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asubterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The idea is definitely good with individual wooden cabins on stilts outside the city. However, it is too close to the city and you therefore cannot fail to be assaulted by the cacophony of loud music from the houses just down the hill. This was made worse by a chorus of dogs every night I was there. The cabins are very basic/rustic (which some may see as charming). I suppose the problem I have with the Karama is the cost as their prices are definitely not rustic. This is similar with much of what I call 'tourist Tanzania' which feels at times as though you are being exploited. This is confirmed at Karama when you are charged by default in US$ at an outrageous exchange rate of 1$ to 1000 TSh instead of 1$ to 1500 Tsh! The Karama Lodge is ok but not as good as it thinks it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badgerminden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here at the start and end of our safari. Think it would be unfair to give a 3 rating, as there are many great features to this hotel, but a few things make it difficult to give a four or above.
The main thing that lets it down is the noise at night. Either dogs,music and then roosters cause a bit of disruption and so ear plugs are needed. Plus the location does not really allow you to walk anywhere. The upside being that you are not in the main hustle and bustle of Arusha town itself. Its about 2km out. Think they may even have a shuttle bus to go into town.
Otherwise the staff are really great and food good. Plus the stilt chalets are good and something a bit different. Plus they have mosquito nets.
Still worth a shot for its other qualities and a good option for a quick stay, just a shame about the surrounding noise.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, so does not really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
463 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
485 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karama Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karama Lodge & Spa

Address: Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road, Arusha 1573, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $122 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karama Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Eco-friendly, artistic, chic, relaxing….”Nestling in Suye Hill National Park, just 10 minutes from the center of Arusha, Karama Lodge & Spa is the ideal home base for Tanzania safaris or for a restful night’s sleep before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Accommodation is consisted of 22 stilted cabins made of local materials in total harmony with the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Karama Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karama Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing