We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karama Lodge is a great Boutique Hotel in Arusha”
Review of Karama Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karama Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Karama Lodge is a great Boutique Hotel in Arusha”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent one night in Karama Lodge on our way to Ngorogoro Crater and the place was great. Clean, charming rooms. Very eco-friendly and the restaurant area is beautiful. We ate dinner which was delicious and the ambiance was fantastic. They also have a very nice pool and on a clear day you can see Kilimanjaro. Friendly staff and safe environment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjamin705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    139
    50
    11
    7
See reviews for
58
121
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am a little jaded by the words eco lodge. I thing this is an excuse to give you less for more $$.
That is my feeling about this lodge. We arrived late at night and left in the am so we did not spend much time there, but it disappointed. No hot water and almost no pressure in the am.

The hyped rooms on stilts did not do much for me. i would not recommend this place. It was ok for the short time we spent but not great.

The breakfast was fine, but not very exciting. Glad we moved on to the game parks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssilver628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on total around our kili trek.

The good: lovely staff, nice food and breakfast, great cabins with nice view (occasionally can see kili on a clear day). Nice to be a bit away from town. Beautiful lounge area to sit and read or relax.

The bad: long walk to town. Couldn't pay by credit card (machine not working) and costs $20 return to get a taxi to an ATM. Can be noisy in the early morning from animals/town at bottom of the hill (although this is not the lodges fault of course). Internet costs extra - 4000tsh for an hour.

Overall a great place to stay and would happily stay again although keep in mind the location. Also - some rooms are bigger than others - ask for one of the bigger rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asubterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The idea is definitely good with individual wooden cabins on stilts outside the city. However, it is too close to the city and you therefore cannot fail to be assaulted by the cacophony of loud music from the houses just down the hill. This was made worse by a chorus of dogs every night I was there. The cabins are very basic/rustic (which some may see as charming). I suppose the problem I have with the Karama is the cost as their prices are definitely not rustic. This is similar with much of what I call 'tourist Tanzania' which feels at times as though you are being exploited. This is confirmed at Karama when you are charged by default in US$ at an outrageous exchange rate of 1$ to 1000 TSh instead of 1$ to 1500 Tsh! The Karama Lodge is ok but not as good as it thinks it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerminden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here at the start and end of our safari. Think it would be unfair to give a 3 rating, as there are many great features to this hotel, but a few things make it difficult to give a four or above.
The main thing that lets it down is the noise at night. Either dogs,music and then roosters cause a bit of disruption and so ear plugs are needed. Plus the location does not really allow you to walk anywhere. The upside being that you are not in the main hustle and bustle of Arusha town itself. Its about 2km out. Think they may even have a shuttle bus to go into town.
Otherwise the staff are really great and food good. Plus the stilt chalets are good and something a bit different. Plus they have mosquito nets.
Still worth a shot for its other qualities and a good option for a quick stay, just a shame about the surrounding noise.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same, so does not really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at this lodge prior to my Kilimanjaro trek. Clean accomodations, friendly staff, and excellent food. The grounds are very beautiful and you often see monkeys hanging around. There are dogs that bark at night, but I did not find them to interfere with my sleeping; however, there is a mosque in the vicinity which starts daily prayers over a loudspeaker at about 5:30am each morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljonser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel prior to my Mt. Kilimanjaro climb. Staff was friendly and professional. All reasonable requests were granted. We ate breakfast every morning, and the food was well presented and tasty. Dinner was very good as well. Didn't use the pool, as it was too cold when I was there (October). The monkeys, a family of them, would visit my cottage every morning. They added a great ambiance to the resort. Overall, a great facility! Definitely would visit again!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Cabin #1, which was close to everything; reception, pool, restaurant, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebtran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
559 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
69 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
135 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karama Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karama Lodge & Spa

Property: Karama Lodge & Spa
Address: Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road, Arusha 1573, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Karama Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Eco-friendly, artistic, chic, relaxing….”Nestling in Suye Hill National Park, just 10 minutes from the center of Arusha, Karama Lodge & Spa is the ideal home base for Tanzania safaris or for a restful night’s sleep before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Accommodation is consisted of 22 stilted cabins made of local materials in total harmony with the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karama Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karama Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing