We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Karama Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karama Lodge & Spa
Ranked #12 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed there with my client in May 2012. Staff members are very friendly and the food is perfect. I will be going to Karama lodge every now and then.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avetravelandtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 300 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

A group of us (5) recently stayed at Karama Lodge for 3 nights upon arrival to Tanzania and between our Kili Trek and our Safaris. The grounds are very nice - all the trees and flowers are labeled. Several Vevert Monkeys scamper around. The pool looked very nice but it was too cold to swim. The rooms are cozy and charming and all have a great balcony off the front. The food was good. The noise at night is pretty loud - dogs, roosters, traffic. There isn't much water pressure in the showers and they are only heated for a small window of time in the morning and the evening. However when we returned from our Kili Trek they were happy to stoke up the fires for the water even though it wasn't the prescribed time of day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for pre and post safari and my feelings are torn on this unique place and I will try and explain why. The landscape is stunning with many trees and flowers etc makes for a very great first impression. The rooms/bungalows were nice all things considered but do be aware of a few things 1.) The lighting in the room is not great by any means and there was no electrical outlet in the bathroom 2.) As many reviews stated, Arusha folk know how to party....and they do....all night. There is crazy loud music almost all night and don't be surprised if you wake to barking dogs, roosters, monkeys or baby's crying bloody murder (that is if the music doesn't keep you up). If you are a light sleeper, bring some ear wear as you WILL need it 3.) The showers are not top notch and are actually a bit sketchy BUT there is hot water to enjoy 4.) There are NO doors in the bungalows blocking the shower or the toilet as there is only a mere curtain so if you are traveling with immediate family, things might get a little odd 5.) There is no complimentary shampoo/conditioner bottles so pack accordingly. I think that about covers the concerns to the rooms. The beds were comfortable and clean overall and the bungalows give their guests a great view of Arusha. Be sure keep your eyes peeled for monkeys hoovering above in the trees while in your bungalow, too. The restaurant is at best, par--nothing real fancy but it did the trick and our tummies got filled and we didn't get sick so I say mission accomplished. The staff was friendly overall and the Karama Lounge does offer internet for a small fee (they also have a computer to use if needed). Overall, I have to say it has some neat charm to it and served its purpose. It's a nice place for a stop but not someplace I would stay for my whole trip. Hope this helps any future travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

First impressions matter. As the first point of call in a new continent we really had not much of an idea as what to expect from a lodge in Africa. Karama suprised us pleasantly. The rooms are large, airy & come equipped with a balcony with a nice sit out mostly looking into the pool. We were told that the lodge has a spa but didnot have time to try it out. The staff was attentive & tried to cater to our needs. Even the cat at the breakfast table is friendly though quite a bit overweight. So if you are someone who likes animals( & you better being in Africa) then you would quite easily sink into the charm of the place.
The only reason of according it an average rating is the fact that the room alloted to us at first was not in working condition, the lights didnot work. Though they changed us to another one, considering the layout it is quite an ardourous climb specially when you're tired after a long flight with your luggage. Moreover they donot provide shampoo as a part of your toiletries & expect you to buy one full bottle at their overpriced souvenier shop. Being located in the city & not the bush/jungle, this was not done as per us.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on stilts for a better view & easier to reach from the gate. Your vehicle c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobchatterji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Karama, esp. the restaurant is great and staff are all excellent. Yes it's a bit noisy at night, but not that bad. Cabins were authentic and rustic, beds were huge and very comfortable.....great selections of wine and cold beer too. It's close to Arusha but just far enough out for peace and quiet as well. Lovely grounds and swimming pool, although it was too cold for us to swim in May, we could see that the pool area in summer would be fantastic.

Room Tip: there is a tip box in the office which is distributed to all staff, saves tipping everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Karama Lodgde. The facilities in the lodge were very nice. The bathroom was good, the bed was nice and everything was clean.

The staff is also really friendly and the food is amazing. We had great food all the time!

The only downside is the noise of the dogs at night. We brought earplugs so that helped but otherwise you can have some problems sleeping. I don't blame the lodge for this because they cannot do anything about that. Apart from that a really nice place!

Room Tip: We had room 16 and 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasperOosterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spent a night at the Karama Lodge before going to Ngorongoro. When we arrived at the hotel around 8 pm, we could hear very loud music. We asked the staff whether this was going to last long and they said there was a bar/disco in the village below the hotel and it would depend on the mood of the customers. Well, I guess they were in the mood since the music played all night with maximum volume. It felt like the loudspeakers were on our balcony ! Almost impossible to sleep even with earplugs. The staff did not really seem to care when we mentionned it in the morning. The restaurant was not clean. Overall, a horrible experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StevenL245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
139 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
1.4 mi away
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
4.9 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 191 in Arusha
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karama Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karama Lodge & Spa

Address: Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road, Arusha 1573, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $122 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karama Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Eco-friendly, artistic, chic, relaxing….”Nestling in Suye Hill National Park, just 10 minutes from the center of Arusha, Karama Lodge & Spa is the ideal home base for Tanzania safaris or for a restful night’s sleep before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Accommodation is consisted of 22 stilted cabins made of local materials in total harmony with the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karama Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karama Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing