We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karama Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
83
154
57
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
154
57
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltsbarking dogsgreat balconycity soundshot watershampoo and shower gellounge and dining roombungalow stylea lot of noisehiking mtvervet monkeysnoisy at nightfirst nightwarm showerour honeymoonrooms are smallbeautiful place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 312 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We got into Kilimanjaro on a late international flight and stayed here before embarking on our safari - this is about an hour from the airport and outside of town...but not so far outside that you don't have music, barking dogs, etc. so do pack earplugs! I would not have been able to rest here without them!

There is a a nice cabin like room with a balcony and a view, en suite flush toilet, shower with hot water, clean and comfortable bed. Rustic but nice. Friendly staff. The food was good and the meal service was also good. Overall, a perfectly nice place to stay and I would have no issue with going back, but since we got in late and left early, we did not spend a ton of time here. Lovely pool though we did not get a chance to use it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

same owner ad Masai camp, the upscale solution and across the street, up a hill more secluded and chill. Cool bar, pool, peace and quiet.

Recommended for some relaxation outside the madness of town.

Tips hat,

Rob aka http://--------------------.com/

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Karama Lodge is a lovely place and was the first stop on our safari. It is set of a hill side with lodges that are built on stilts. The rooms are rudimentary but good - no bugs on the ground for anyone who is curious.

The bed was VERY comfortable. Perfect for a solid's night sleep.

Some of the windows were covered only with mesh so that you could hear the animals outside during the night. This was fine as it makes you feel like you are sleeping under the stars EXCEPT that in the valley at the bottom of the hill there is a village and in that village there is a club that plays music WELL into the early morning - annoying when you know you have to wake up early. The music was great but when I was supposed to be sleeping I was singing along in my bed! Maybe the club is only open on the weekend, not sure.

The restaurant is great, especially the dinner. The service at the restaurant is fabulous.

Overall the entire staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTravelers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed before and after our trip to a safari and mount kilimanjaro trek. We ran into other international kili trekkers and got few high altitude tips and medicines at the bar! Lodge is set away from the hustle and bustle of the city on a nice green eco-friendly hill. Infact they have 1 hour walking trail around their hill. which gives super views of mountains couple of times from decks built on clear day. the lodge has very hospitable trained staff at the office, bar (great view of mountain on clear day) , massage room and resturant. Breakfast was included in room and complete dinner was great served with a smile. you get private time to relax and eat at your own place. we got easy taxies into town to do other activities.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Overall I loved the atmosphere at Karama and was very happy to have chosen this place over normal hotels in Arusha town (which tend to be grim and overpriced) or lodges further out of town (from where you are very unflexible as taxi fares are astronomical). It is amazing that within 10 minutes of driving out of the city centre you can reach such a beautiful and charismatic haven of peace and tranquility. The main house alone (with the bar upstairs and restaurant downstairs) is a real beauty and offers grandiose views of the valley. It is true that the air is often a bit misty/foggy (I don't think this is traffic smog) but in my view this rather adds to the almost mystic touch of the setting. The pool had just been completed when we arrived and is a definite asset for the lodge.

The cabins are also lovely in my opinion - certainly nothing luxurious but beautifully built and functional enough. However I paid the resident rate and have lived long enough in Tanzania so my expectations were perhaps different from those of foreign visitors. I have stayed in very average hotels in Tanzanian towns for a similar or higher price so I was more than happy to stay at such an original and unique place instead. The owner may however wish to invest into better lamps as it is near impossible to read a book in the dark without a headlamp (which comes in handy in Tanzania anyway).

Those accustomed to 'urban night noise' (or no night noise at all) will be surprised to find how 'noisy' the countryside can be - even if many travellers will be happy to 'forgive' the sound of birds, monkeys, insects, they may be less enthusiastic about the owner's dogs howling and barking throughout the night. To me this was only a minor concern as I use earplugs but some of my fellow travellers felt more disturbed...

I would like to offer some criticism with respect to the restaurant (although the overall quality was good). Firstly, on one of the evenings the hotel offered only a buffer dinner for a whopping $20 (i.e. no à la carte ordering was possible); this may be forgiveable in the city centre - as one can easily go next door - but in this slightly remote setting where taxis are not easily available (and not cheap either) this is a somewhat unfriendly gesture towards the not-so-hungry or not-so-rich. Secondly the breakfast variety is deplorable and there is very little to make a continental European guest happy. Yes, some guests are still reluctant to eat heaps of sausage, beans and roast potatoes in the morning...

Summary - this is a great choice for those who do not have too high 'technical expectations' (re. room facilities) and are happy enough to spend some time enjoying the nature, settings etc. - It may not be the best option for business travellers, short-time visitors who only come into Arusha to organise the next day's safari, or those with very light sleep....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weltwohnen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews