We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of Tanzania”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kibo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kibo Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of Tanzania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Kibo Palace Hotel is the place to stay if you are lucky enough to be in Arusha, Tanzania. This hotel offers beautiful, modern and comfortable rooms, a wonderful pool and poolside bar in the midst of green, lush flowers, delicious food and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljenks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

Our sincere appreciation for rating our facility on trip advisor. We are glad that the team met your expectations in all ways and we shall be more than happy to host you again or your friends and family during their stay/visits to Arusha.

Please do feel free to get in touch with me should you be visiting Arusha soon.

Regards,

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    119
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
59
18
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I Stayed at the Kibo Palace while on a business trip a few years back and i must say it was the right choice due to its close proximity to Arusha town . The hotel is located in a quiet and serene environment with nature all around it making it possible to quickly unwind after a long and demanding day at work .the breakfast is all what you need to start the day on high gear with excellent service and hosts and hostesses ready to make you stay very pleasant.The rooms are exquisite with a number of hotel complementaries .I loved the sauna after a swim which completed my evening .Overall its a hotel you cannot afford to ignore the next time you are in Arusha.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngugy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Ngugy,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that our hotel met your expectations during your last stay. I am happy to advise you that the sumptuous breakfast your enjoyed continues to be a favourite for most as it gives them a great start to the day. We recognize that breakfast is the most important meal of the day hence, we keep it special.

We continuously maintain the facilities and our staff go through continuous training to ensure that the same high standards and quality are maintained at all times.

I will be happy to share a cup of coffee with you or a drink during your next visit. Please feel free to contact me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Kibo Palace is a disgraceful hotel and I do not recommend anyone should stay there.
Once the booking and payment was confirmed no-one from the hotel would answer any emails and when I called, no-one could help with my enquiry.
We had to fly home urgently and were unable to stay for the one night we booked. I cancelled my booking three weeks in advance and they refused to refund our money. First they denied any payment was made. When I forwarded a copy of the receipt, I received no response. I contacted the reservations, accounts, and managers on five occasions and not one response was received. Needless to say that they stole our money.
Do not stay at Kibo Palace unless you want to be ripped off!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Tara,

Thank you for your review and it is unfortunate you could not experience our beautiful hotel and services as openly expressed by all those who have stayed with us.

This is to confirm that you booked with us and confirmation was sent to you promptly within 24 hours by our Reservations Department. A one night's deposit was deducted online. Upon your trip cancellation, your wrote to our Reservations Department who forwarded the matter to our accounts department and I responded requesting you to give us your bank details to enable us refund your money less the bank's commission. Todate we have not heard from you despite sending you a reminder.

It would be beneficial for you to forward the details requested to enable the hotel send you the cash. Please note that refunds cannot be made back to your credit card but HAS to be a bank transfer.

Kindly do get in touch with you bank details on sm@kibopalacehotel.com

We shall strive to continue offering the same exemplary services we continue to offer with integrity.

Have a lovely day.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is quite nice. The guest rooms are large, yet comfortable (although the showers are really quite small). The staff are all very pleasant. The hotel location is very good--it is quiet, but only a short distance from the center of town. The only down side was that the hotel's outdoor grounds were quite small, and lacked the personality you find in many other hotels in/around town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your great reviews on our rooms and services. We are glad that you chose to stay at Kibo Palace during your visit to Arusha. Our hotel is rated amongst the top 25 hotels in Tanzania by Trip Advisor Travellers and we must add the only one in the Northern Zone that represent business hotels.

Your comments on sizes of showers and our gardens are appreciated and we are glad to advise you that we have acquired an adjoining piece of land next to the hotel where we are expanding and we shall have much larger gardens and larger sized shower cubicles as we note that a lot of business travellers nowadays prefer to use shower cubicles rather than the bath tubs provided.

It is our hope that we shall have an opportunity to host you or your friends and family whilst vising Arusha in the not too distant future. Kindly do get in touch with me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com should you have further information on areas of improvements.

Wishing you Happy Holidays.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A very nice, not too big hotel, centrally located in the city of Arusha. Newly built premises few years ago, very well maintained.
A very nice restaurant with both inside and outside seating possibilites. Poolbar is also available with some barstools plus tables and chairs. The hotelstaff is very friendly and helpful in case of need.
Hotelrooms are quite large, and kept clean. Good flatscreen TV's; a spacious bathroom with separate bathtub and shower. A safe for your valuables is present.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on the pool are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is indeed lovely reading from you and glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kibo Palace Hotel. We shall endeavour to continue providing excellent and attentive services at all times. Our maintenance programs shall strictly be adhered to ensure that the facility is in great condition always. We trust that we shall host you once again soon and please do recommend us to your family and friends visiting Arusha.

Once again, thank you for choosing to become our brand ambassador by recommending our facilities and services.

Wishing you Happy Holidays!

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Superb hotel in Arusha. Very safe and comfortable place. All the amenities you need. Excellent and attentive service from all the staff. The restaurant is excellent, pool bar a great place to relax after long days meetings. I will stay here again. Thanks . Your guest from Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Ameet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Jambo from Arusha!

Our sincere gratitude for a great review and we are glad that our hotel amenities and services met your expectations.

Our commitment to you and others planning to visit Arusha is that we shall simply offer you the best. We are proud to be nominated by Trip Advisor community as one of the top 25 hotels in Tanzania and we are even prouder to be the only business hotel in Northern Tanzania mentioned in the top 25. Our kitchen brigade is committed to turning out the best meals always.

Please do get in touch with me should you be visiting Arusha again or even when you send your friends or family this way. Have an awesome day ahead.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stopped here following a climb of Kilimanjaro and prior to a safari. Was expecting a decent hotel but this place far exceeded expectations. Rooms are fantastic, large, spotless and the grounds and pool are beautiful. Staff were great, food was great but just one complaint - we only booked one night there. This would have been the perfect place to decompress for a couple days or more. If you are coming from North America to start a safari this is an ideal to place get over your jet lag for a couple days. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roadees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good morning from Sunny Arusha!

Lovely reading your honest and lovely comments about your experience at Kibo Palace Hotel. We are delighted that we met your expectations and you would have loved to stay longer. We commit to making every guests stay with us a magical experience and hopefully we shall host you once again soon. Please do recommend us to your family and friends visiting Arusha.

Have a fantastic day ahead and keep in touch.

Warm regards,

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
3.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Palace Hotel

Property: Kibo Palace Hotel
Address: Old Moshi Road | P O Box 2523, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#3 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIBO PALACE HOTEL: Named after the highest peak of Africa’s highest mountain, Mt Kilimanjaro, Kibo Palace Hotel is one of Arusha's most exciting and innovative luxury hotels. The contemporary and African decor gives this gem in the heart of Arusha a great attitude. The hotel is located 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro International Airport (KIA) and a 15-minute walk from Arusha city center and the Arusha International Conference Center. The hotel hosts professionals, the business community and international organizations to a Corporate Networking Cocktail every last Thursday of the month offering them a platform to exchange ideas and enhance businesses and also encourage personal growth for the professionals through inviting great speakers to these event. Kibo Palace Hotel offers a range of diverse facilities for both business travelers and leisure stays. These include:- 77 tastefully designed luxurious guestrooms and suites. All rooms are equipped with modern amenities to make the stay comfortable.- Fully-equipped conference and meeting facilities which can accommodate up to 150 people, well-appointed with the necessary modern equipment – Wireless Internet, Video Conferencing Facilities, LCD Projectors, State-of-the-Art Audio Visual Equipment and secretarial services.- The Kilimanjaro Restaurant will satisfy the most discerning gastronomic connoisseur with a splash of African, Continental, Asian or Oriental cuisine.- The Lounge Bar at Kibo Palace Hotel is a pleasant and sophisticated meeting place, ideal for an aperitif or an after-dinner drink. The guests can relax and sip wines, champagnes and classic cocktails prepared by expert barmen. The hotel has a happy hour and live entertainment every Wednesday and Friday evening from 05.00 p.m. to 08.00 p.m.- The Pool Bar is located near the swimming pool with a view of our lush gardens as a sundowner serving a variety of fresh juices and snacks. Recreational facilities include- Outdoor swimming pool set in landscaped gardens.- Health & fitness center with state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam bath and massage parlour.- Arusha Gymkhana’s 9-hole golf course and 7 tennis courts are situated 3 minutes drive from the hotel. Other services: Forex bureau open from 07.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m., Airport transfers and car hire, VIP airport transfers in luxury vehicles, Gemstones boutique, Event Management, Safari bookings, Wireless internet complimentary for all in-house guests. The beautifully landscaped lush garden around the hotel’s pool area is one of the most prominent venues in town for staging wedding and outdoor functions. We offer a variety of facilities and rooms, specially adapted bathrooms and wider access for wheelchairs, as well as other facilities including parking for physically challenged persons. Kibo Palace Hotel, with its diverse facilities and friendly service, is a preferred destination for international travelers, holidaymakers as well as local businessmen and families. The multinational management team of the hotel is continually strives to provide excellent service maintaining an international standard for all its facilities on offer; all these combine to deliver an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kibo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Palace Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing