We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Kibo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kibo Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Good food with a more interesting menu than some other international hotels - try the fish dishes. I stayed for business but would be happy to use it a base for a vaccation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cr7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Kibo Palace Hotel and we are glad that your stay was comfortable.

The Chef is delighted that your enjoyed our cuisine especially the fish. All our food is served fresh and attention paid whilst preparing before it gets to the guest.

It will be our pleasure to host you once again in the future when you visit Arusha and commit to ensuring that your stay is as enjoyable.

Please do feel free to recommend us to your friends and family visiting Arusha.

Have an awesome year ahead.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    121
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
60
18
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I wanted a place to retreat to as I began my Xmas holidays and this was the perfect place. I stayed at the Kibo palace Hotel for two nights (22nd-24th) and I had a very enjoyable time. The rooms were nice and spacious and very CLEAN which I really appreciated. That said, the bathrobe in my room was dirty but the cleaner changed it for me almost immediately which I was impressed with. I arrived at the hotel very hungry and ordered room service and the food arrived within the 20 minutes I was told it would take. My meal arrived hot and was very tasty. The food at breakfast was also great with a wide selection of things to choose from and I especially enjoyed all the fresh juices. I also had the buffet dinner on my last night there which again was a delight. A great selection of foods to try and with 6 different kinds of desert, suffice it to say, I left the Kibo Palace Hotel a few kilos heavier but, with no complaints from me.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor and facing some rice fields. Very quiet and it offered me a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Our sincere appreciate for such great reviews and we are glad that the team at Kibo made your holiday memorable. We are happy to note that team's response to any shortcomings that arose was great. Our promise to you is that we shall continue setting the pace and keeping high standards of service, food and cleanliness.

We sincerely hope that we shall host you once again soon and do recommend us to friends and family.

Happy Holidays from the team at Kibo and wishing you an awesome year ahead.

Warm regards,

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

with a surprisingly good restaurant. We had dinner there three times and were very impressed. We had a Tandoori vegetarian dish twice and both were extremely good. Very helpful front desk staff, particularly Regina Mfoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank centralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our property and glad that the team met your expectations. Kibo Palace continues to set the standards in food and service and we do indeed look forward to hosting you once again. I have passed on your appreciation to Regina and she says Jambo!

Wishing you an awesome holiday season and year ahead.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here on 2 separate occasions in August. Rooms were comfortable and clean, staff were very friendly. Good buffet breakfast and the evening meals were also decent. Nice touch to have chocolate, sweets and biscuit in the rooms. Short walking distance to Arusha centre. Rooms at the front of hotel can be noisy as they are next to a busy road but the second time we asked for a room at the back. It was overlooking the garden and swimming pool and was perfect. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Litzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Litzy,

It was lovely to read your great comments on Trip Advisor and we do thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel and it's facilities. We appreciate your loyalty to Kibo and re-assure you that we shall continue providing the best services there are in the hospitality sector in this country.

I would love to share a cup of coffee during your next visit. Please do feel free to get in touch with me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com

All the best and looking forward to hosting you once again at Kibo Palace Hotel.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I loved it!

I do get to travel quite a lot and hence stay in several hotels. Kibo Place stands out as one of the hotels that have impressed me the most in recent times. My room was very spacious and very clean. Thankfully, my room was not carpeted - carpets ar usually a source of grief and great sneezing for me - infact the wooden floor gave it an artsy and warm feel. The bathroom and bathroom linen - great, given especially that there was both shower and tub.

Obviously great thought went into the design of the room. The bed was the best of all, clean and fresh sheets with yummy fluffy pillows. A couple items like the alarm clock and the bedroom slippers gave one a feel of being at home. Waking up every morning proved quite a struggle. I enjoyed every meal, with breakfast being my favourite meal. The staff - friendly enough without being too much in my space. Wi - fi connection was for the most part reliable, and it was pretty fast too.

Im impressed and I shall most certianly plan a return visit - hopefully for a longer time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Trust you are keeping well. It was indeed lovely reading your review about our property on TripAdvisor. The team at Kibo is delighted to know that we have met your expectations.

Let me re-assure you and others visiting our property that our guests are important to us and we shall continue offering excellent and attentive services in all areas.

Please feel free to recommend us to friends and family coming to visit Arusha.

I would love to meet with you and share a cup of coffee during your next visit and kindly request that you get in touch with me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com before your arrival.

Many thanks and have a lovely day ahead.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Kibo Palace before and after summiting Mount Kilimanjaro and taking a safari while in Tanzania. The hotel quality and staff service is on par with any hotel I've stayed at in the USA. Rooms are clean with good bathrooms and wifi reception. The food service is excellant with friendly and attentive staff. The fitness room was better than most hotel gyms in the U.S.

I'd definetly recommend it to anyone who finds themselves in Arusha.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bwheeler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for a great review of our property and we are glad that we met your expectations. We endeavour to ensure guest satisfaction at all times through the provision of great service, food and all details that will ensure your stay at Kibo Palace Hotel feels like home away from home. I trust that you shall visit us once again and do feel free to tell your loved ones and friends coming to Arusha to stay with us. We promise to deliver.

Once again, thank you so much.

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

After flying into Mount Kilamanjaro to begin our safari in Tanzania, we spent our first night "in country" at Kibo Palace in Arusha. We had stayed there the previous year and enjoyed the uniqueness of the "old world" hotel. With a circular atrium lobby which extends upward for 4 floors, it's a quaint 77 room hotel that features excellent buffet breakfast (the only meal we had in the hotel) and very good service. They have banquet rooms, a physical fitness facility and pool, but the most enjoyable thing for me was having a good breakfast and excellent coffee outside on the sun porch by the pool.

This is a good way to start a trip in Tanzania. We'll stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Elevators are available, but small. Easiest to get a room on the first floor (actually the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Mike,

Thank you for an awesome review after having an awesome experience during your stay at Kibo Palace Hotel. We appreciate the time taken to fill out the review. We commit to ensuring that we continue improving on our standards to ensure guest satisfaction.

The team is glad to know that you enjoyed your meals especially the breakfast during your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Kibo Palace Hotel. Please feel free to contact me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com

Have an awesome day!

Charity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
916 reviews
3.4 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#9 of 41 in Arusha
380 reviews
11.5 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Palace Hotel

Property: Kibo Palace Hotel
Address: Old Moshi Road | P O Box 2523, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#3 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIBO PALACE HOTEL: Named after the highest peak of Africa’s highest mountain, Mt Kilimanjaro, Kibo Palace Hotel is one of Arusha's most exciting and innovative luxury hotels. The contemporary and African decor gives this gem in the heart of Arusha a great attitude. The hotel is located 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro International Airport (KIA) and a 15-minute walk from Arusha city center and the Arusha International Conference Center. The hotel hosts professionals, the business community and international organizations to a Corporate Networking Cocktail every last Thursday of the month offering them a platform to exchange ideas and enhance businesses and also encourage personal growth for the professionals through inviting great speakers to these event. Kibo Palace Hotel offers a range of diverse facilities for both business travelers and leisure stays. These include:- 77 tastefully designed luxurious guestrooms and suites. All rooms are equipped with modern amenities to make the stay comfortable.- Fully-equipped conference and meeting facilities which can accommodate up to 150 people, well-appointed with the necessary modern equipment – Wireless Internet, Video Conferencing Facilities, LCD Projectors, State-of-the-Art Audio Visual Equipment and secretarial services.- The Kilimanjaro Restaurant will satisfy the most discerning gastronomic connoisseur with a splash of African, Continental, Asian or Oriental cuisine.- The Lounge Bar at Kibo Palace Hotel is a pleasant and sophisticated meeting place, ideal for an aperitif or an after-dinner drink. The guests can relax and sip wines, champagnes and classic cocktails prepared by expert barmen. The hotel has a happy hour and live entertainment every Wednesday and Friday evening from 05.00 p.m. to 08.00 p.m.- The Pool Bar is located near the swimming pool with a view of our lush gardens as a sundowner serving a variety of fresh juices and snacks. Recreational facilities include- Outdoor swimming pool set in landscaped gardens.- Health & fitness center with state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam bath and massage parlour.- Arusha Gymkhana’s 9-hole golf course and 7 tennis courts are situated 3 minutes drive from the hotel. Other services: Forex bureau open from 07.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m., Airport transfers and car hire, VIP airport transfers in luxury vehicles, Gemstones boutique, Event Management, Safari bookings, Wireless internet complimentary for all in-house guests. The beautifully landscaped lush garden around the hotel’s pool area is one of the most prominent venues in town for staging wedding and outdoor functions. We offer a variety of facilities and rooms, specially adapted bathrooms and wider access for wheelchairs, as well as other facilities including parking for physically challenged persons. Kibo Palace Hotel, with its diverse facilities and friendly service, is a preferred destination for international travelers, holidaymakers as well as local businessmen and families. The multinational management team of the hotel is continually strives to provide excellent service maintaining an international standard for all its facilities on offer; all these combine to deliver an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kibo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Palace Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing