We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view to Mount Meru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge
Ranked #75 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Budapest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful view to Mount Meru”
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We spent 2 nights there in December in one of the Villa's. If you go on a safari tour this is an outstanding starting point. We liked very much the pool and the meals were OK. It is one of the few lodge's that has internet connection (5 USD an hour) although we were happy for not being able to check our mails for a couple of days.
We would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    29
    20
    14
See reviews for
11
11
4
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

This mountain lodge is located between Arusha city and Kilimanjaro airport. Its got different types of rooms including presidential villas ( a meeting of presidents from Africa was recently held here). Its got a nice craft shop on campus with local handicrafts, as well as a nice pool and resident large birds which can be seen walking around the lawns in the mornings. Two main restaurant options; on a clear day, you can see Mt Kilmanjaro and Mt Meru and it can be very impressive.

  • Liked — Views and large open spaces
  • Disliked — The rooms' maintenance is not very good, with a lot of rodent droppings and insects in rooms usually and no air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABhanPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2009

As organizers of a conference we booked up every room there was available (except for the presidential suites), which were 300 rooms promised to us. At arrival it turned out they were still busy building! Therefore they could not accommodate all our guests, eighty of them had to be accommodated elsewhere. This was of course not what we wanted (because of the distance – 27KM) and much of a hassle, since the conference took place in the Ngurdoto.

Unfortunately the lack of rooms was not the only issue that occurred. Wireless internet around the lodge was promised to us beforehand, however at arrival they were still preparing. They told us we could use the ‘business center’ which consists of about ten computers (for our 450 visitors of the conference!) with very slow internet. Later on during the week the wireless internet was sometimes working in the lobby.

Besides this there were many other problems that occurred during the conference. From meeting rooms not being set up as discussed (there were not enough chairs), to no print or copy facilities, to all kinds of (technical) problems in the rooms that did not get solved. On top of this they do not have a check-in system to keep record of their guests (!), so with a total of 300 guests they did not have a clue who was checked in or not and who stayed in which room.

To not be entirely negative, the Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge IS located in beautiful surroundings. The staff was helpful up to their ability in the current circumstances. Nevertheless we reckon the Ngurdoto is not yet ready for conferences this size. Therefore we would not recommend it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank reviewerTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arusha hotels

Mamaris Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Ngurdoto Mountain lodge was favored for our conference due to its location - outskirts of the main city hence maximum concentartion and participation. During prepation , we liaised with a gentleman who was extremely helpful ( rates were negotiated and we were promised heaven in terms of services, etc) I must commend, they delivered beyond our expections! Express check in, all V.I.P's were upgraded, excellent rooms to other participants ( only complain was from a colleague whose safe was faulty but was rectified within an hour) a shuttle was at our disposal incase we wanted to visit the city on the Saturday evening! The menu and meals were up to mark and the staff friendly and efficient. I definately will reccomend to others and return if need be.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clearance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

I went to this hotel for an international UN conference that I was organising. At first sight, I found the Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge beautiful with nice cottages and beautiful surroundings. However, I quickly discovered that most of the equipment was not functioning: the jacuzzi was out of order (like for most of my colleagues), same for the scales. All conference facilities had problems from photocopiers to printers, etc. and the staff was unable to fix them. But the worst by far was at the end of our stay. The hotel had booked one shuttle for us to go back to the airport. They packed us and located the remaining luggage in the middle of us instead of planning an extra shuttle. One tyre burst on the road and we had a terrible accident (I suffered from multiple fractures: bone, back, mouth and one person became paralysed). My boss called the hotel for rescue since we were in the middle of the countryside and still quite close to the Lodge but they never came... I will never forget the lack of humanity from these people. We spent a lot of money there, they knew about the shuttle accident (due to a poor maintenance of their vehicles) and they did not do anything to assist us in this terrible moment. The shuttle's driver even escaped when he saw the number of people injured in the accident... I think that this hotel should definitely be boycotted.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solangefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

They said the Tanzanian President stays here.....he must have very low standards.
9 of us (5 rooms) stayed here for 2 nights too many. We had one electric shock, four room changes, no room safes in 3 rooms and two room doors had faulty electric card locks....the batteries were dead and the maintenance people couldn't fix it. We were the only people in the hotel and there were around 100 staff members. I understand that the hotel is government run hence the colossal amount of staff. Service, if that’s what you can call it, was incredibly slow and the food was pretty average. The pool was nice but the male staff would come by a sleaze on our female trip members. We had actually booked for 3 nights but fortunately had to leave a day earlier due to flight changes. We had already paid for the third night and were refused a refund. Their refund policy states that a full refund is available if cancelled up to 60- days prior to the stay – hilarious! The hotel is hugely over priced and does not even have a snack shop. It is isolated so the only available food is the meals, so no living on Pringles and Oreos while staying here, because there’s none to buy! If they charge western prices, you’d expect western standards – this is certainly not the case. Such a disappointment. Do not even consider this hotel.

  • Liked — When I left the place.
  • Disliked — The staff were unbelievably rude, especially the senior staff.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRealGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairbi, kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

stayed a night. the first time i got there... i wont deny the place is beautiful!!! kind place you want to have your honeymoon experiece!!!
we stayed in a villa, it is very spacious, lovely bed, the bathroom is excellent, and the living area is really good.,
we stayed in one of the last room's in that street, meaning the view was not that great, wish they could do s'thing about the back.
got there early enough to go for the walk around the grounds, despite the chilly weather,beautiful. the dinner was great. what i loved about the place was the night- peaceful, serenity.
hafta agree the previous people about the water issue.
otherwise i recommend the place for honeymooners, but have plans plans during the day, coz you can get preeeetty bored.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the water, no instant hot water
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njamjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Naura Springs Hotel
Naura Springs Hotel
#26 of 41 in Arusha
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impala Hotel
Impala Hotel
#31 of 41 in Arusha
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
916 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge

Property: Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge
Address: P. O. Box 7302, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConferencingAny organization, irrespective of size, sector or activity, will benefit from working with Impala Group of Hotels.We provide solutions for the entire spectrum of business events and accommodation:Solutions for any event, large or small * Large scale events and conferences (Conventions, AGMs, Sales, Academic, Pharmaceutical, Agriculture, Health, Mining, Education, Seminars, Workshops, Retreats, Team building) * National and International Gala dinners, Charity events, Awards ceremonies, Incentives, * Product launches * Press/PR events * Research/Consultation * Road shows * Concerts * Wedding * Social events such as wedding, jubilees, anniversaries * Training/Team Building * HR/RecruitmentAccommodationYou tell us where, when and what you need (golf course, parking, swimming pool, gym, internet access, heli-pad) and we’ll give you a list of options at the best possible rates for: * Groups and individuals * Conference/event delegate accommodation * Field Team solutions (sales, inspections, evaluation, training) * Prizewinners/Awards * Presidential eventsFull destination management solutions are available.Involve us at any stage of the event management process, from basic venue choice or accommodation booking to full event creation, promotion, production and management.We tailor our service to your requirements and adapt to your needs.Guests are provided with full confirmation, including maps/directions, booking details, parking information, even where’s wealthy visiting i.e. arrange excursions or any pre and post conference safarisWhat we do> Venue information and negotiationYou tell us what the requirements are and we will : * Find the perfect venue (providing you with a range of options among our chain of hotels) * Negotiate the best available rates (using our massive selling power) * Act as liaison between yourself and the organization of event (saving you time and energy, as well as providing you with the benefit of our in depth knowledge of event management)We manage every aspect so that the event runs smoothly, professionally, on-time and on-budget. Every event, no matter how small, is approached and considered in the context of your organization’s specific aims, objectives, audience, culture and structure.Meeting Room Equipment ChecklistEquipment that may be provided for the meeting room:Overhead projectorSlide projectorFilm projectorProjection standsRemote control for projectorsScreensVideo equipment: VHS, DVD, teleconferencingMicrophonesRadioTVComputerMouseAuxiliary equipment: laser pointers, flip charts, slide traysLightingLoudspeakersVideo conferencing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngurdoto Mountain Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing