We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge
Ranked #98 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After the crash landing of ET 815 on December 18th, my family and I was transported to Ngurdtoto Mountain Lodge . We were - along with all the other passengers from the plane - booked into the hotel . When we woke up the next morning, all the other guests, minus a French pair and us , had left the hotel. It turned out that Ethiopian Airlines had got hold of an aircraft on the night of the 19th , and had told the hotel to collect all the passengers and get them to the airport .

The hotel reception managed to forget to call my family of five and the French couple.

When we came down for breakfast the next morning, there was total confusion, and no one at the hotel was willing to take responsibility. We spent the entire day to come to an arrangement with Ethiopian Airlines , and when we finally , at 13:30, were told that we could catch a flight at 15:00 , we told the front desk they had to get us a car immediately. An hour later, at 14:30, they had still not managed to get us a car. Then it turned out that the hotel had a private driver who could drive us . We had waited for one hour for the clerk to notify an employee that could take us to the airport. Once the car was ready, it actually broke down on the way to the airport . End of the story was that we lost the airplane , and was left at the airport all evening to wait for a new aircraft .

The following things happened due to incompetence in the hotel :

1. We were forgotten when all the guests were called and collected .
2. The reception spent an hour to get a car already parked outside the hotel .
3. The car broke down , so we lost the plane.
4. We lost one day of our short vacation.
5. We lost our safari trip on 21 , because the hotel screwed up time after time .

All this due to the incompetence in a hotel that honestly doesn't deserve any guests at all

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 102 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Although it is a bit far from Kilimanjaro Airport, it was a nice surprise!! Loved to stay in the rooms outside the main hotel, it was just a little walk away. But I saw some other rooms that were TOO far away! The room did not have AC, just a fan. The electricity sometimes lacks, it happens in Tanzania. But the room is provided with a lantern and mosquitoe repellent. I have to be honest, I did not see mosquitoes at all!! The personnel go to every room around 5pm and check if there are mosquitoes and put a net over the bed. The food was not as good, but had nice British cereal that I like. Nice Conference Rooms!!!! Beautiful for Councils or a Congress!

Room Tip: Ask for room that is not far away from the main hotel! Although the hotel have golf carts to take yo...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were quite worried about what we would find based on TripAdvisor posts. However, our stay was totally fine. Our rooms were outside of the main lodge. They were quite spacious, and we did not encounter unwanted rodents or bats or very many annoying insects. The staff were very accommodating, although some were a bit pushy regarding tips (there is a tip box at the front desk).

The food is quite adequate, and we found the wait staff and cooks to be quite nice. I wouldn't choose this place for a vacation, but as a meeting venue, it was just fine.

Room Tip: I can't speak to the rooms in the lodge, but I enjoyed the walk to my room and around the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenFoodiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Its was after my hike to the Kilimanjaro that we had 2 days to spare and were first sent to a rubbish old lodge, where we checked out right away again and considered stopping by that new hotel we had seen on our way. Said and done, an hours later we walk up to the empty reception to eventually talk to a rather startled receptionist. Turns out the hotel was only to open a month later. They let us stay in one of the ready rooms anyway, as the very first guests.

The hotel was and probably still is, simply beautiful. There are rooms in the large building but nicer ones in the little villas. The owner wanted this to become the most beautiful hotel in all of Africa and it might just be.

Our stay was quite remarkable. All staff was new and on training and here we arrived as the first guests. So we became the guinea pigs for everything. For example dinner in the main hall. The two of us on a table for maybe 10 people, surrounded by at least 20 staff, ready to jump at our service at any moment. As soon as lay down a fork for example it was already replaced.
Being the only guests in the large room was awkward so only half jokingly we invited the staff to sit down at our table and eat with us. For some reason this idea really frightened them and two took off somewhere, only to return 2 minutes later with the entire management team (all imported from India and Switzerland) who apologized and explain that the staff could not possible do this. But they would. So the management joined us then for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Borrowed us their golf clubs and one golf ball and so forth.

I returned 2 months later with my wife and my kids who loved this place. From there we took off to fantastic safari tours to Ngorogoro crater.

I travelled in 2005, ignore the date of the review.

Room Tip: Choose one of the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andee_K_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a cabin room at the end of the drive. It was a ten minute walk back to reception, and of the 6 buggies, only 2 were running so there were delays to get back to the room. The room was comfortable and new, but the comments I read 6 months ago about water problems were still there. We had no water 2 nights. Can the management please get this sorted? There is a golf course adjacent but we didn't see any Golfers in the week. If you need shops and other action you need to return to Arusha 45 minutes away. The staff were trying to assist but there was no management back up.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank wayzgoose110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I found Ngurdoto Mountain lodge a really quite and serene place. it sits on an expansive compound with lots of rare and beautiful trees. A number of streams flowing between the cottages adds to the peaceful beauty of the place. Lovely place if you enjoy walking. That is what I liked about the place. The not so good points:- The plumbing system in the cottages seems flawed. I had problems with the shower, the sink and jacuzzi leaking; another colleague had a toilet that didn't flush. Then another couldn't have hot showers until he realized that the water going into the toilet was actually from the water heater!
The services, however, leave a lot to be desired. Most of the food on the menu isn't available. The hotel chef is really arrogant and rude if you complain about the food. Aside from the chef, the other hotel workers are polite, but inefficient. Obviously the hotel owner isn't aware that hotel staff need to be trained.

Room Tip: When you get into a room, check that the plumbing works. that the toilets flush; that the water gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The 30km from Arusha town to Ngurdoto is a sign that you are heading to a serene location away from the tiny town's mad traffic and insistent hooting. The facility has expansive grounds that are relatively well kept ... though I'm still trying to udnerstand why they used coffee bushes as ornamental plants?? ...

Having only stayed there for a night, I must say that the state of the rooms was rather wanting ... someone had gone on overkill to put in too many elements of decoration thereby making them look shabby. Aside from that, it seems that the hotel does not get many visitors therefore the beddings had this rather stale/humid smell of disuse.

Their selection of food was terrible ... with terrible service to match ... I had two meals that were not worth mentioning as their chef seemed to think that vegetarian is rice and sauted greens ONLY.

Room Tip: You better carry your own food if you are a strict veggie - The rooms are externally pleasant looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RasDunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
619 reviews
0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,045 reviews
0 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#11 of 191 in Arusha
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#8 of 132 in Arusha
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge

Address: P. O. Box 7302, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $157 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConferencingAny organization, irrespective of size, sector or activity, will benefit from working with Impala Group of Hotels.We provide solutions for the entire spectrum of business events and accommodation:Solutions for any event, large or small * Large scale events and conferences (Conventions, AGMs, Sales, Academic, Pharmaceutical, Agriculture, Health, Mining, Education, Seminars, Workshops, Retreats, Team building) * National and International Gala dinners, Charity events, Awards ceremonies, Incentives, * Product launches * Press/PR events * Research/Consultation * Road shows * Concerts * Wedding * Social events such as wedding, jubilees, anniversaries * Training/Team Building * HR/RecruitmentAccommodationYou tell us where, when and what you need (golf course, parking, swimming pool, gym, internet access, heli-pad) and we’ll give you a list of options at the best possible rates for: * Groups and individuals * Conference/event delegate accommodation * Field Team solutions (sales, inspections, evaluation, training) * Prizewinners/Awards * Presidential eventsFull destination management solutions are available.Involve us at any stage of the event management process, from basic venue choice or accommodation booking to full event creation, promotion, production and management.We tailor our service to your requirements and adapt to your needs.Guests are provided with full confirmation, including maps/directions, booking details, parking information, even where’s wealthy visiting i.e. arrange excursions or any pre and post conference safarisWhat we do> Venue information and negotiationYou tell us what the requirements are and we will : * Find the perfect venue (providing you with a range of options among our chain of hotels) * Negotiate the best available rates (using our massive selling power) * Act as liaison between yourself and the organization of event (saving you time and energy, as well as providing you with the benefit of our in depth knowledge of event management)We manage every aspect so that the event runs smoothly, professionally, on-time and on-budget. Every event, no matter how small, is approached and considered in the context of your organization’s specific aims, objectives, audience, culture and structure.Meeting Room Equipment ChecklistEquipment that may be provided for the meeting room:Overhead projectorSlide projectorFilm projectorProjection standsRemote control for projectorsScreensVideo equipment: VHS, DVD, teleconferencingMicrophonesRadioTVComputerMouseAuxiliary equipment: laser pointers, flip charts, slide traysLightingLoudspeakersVideo conferencing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngurdoto Mountain Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing