We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very sad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge
Ranked #76 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very sad experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Same problem with hot water as other reviewers visiting. Really suffering from neglect this hotel. Poor service. Key card system faulty requiring mile long walks back and forth to reception, with no sympathy from reception staff. Golf carts available it seems for guests but no drivers. Food no selection and very unappetising. Not central and expensive to get to town. No atmosphere and trying to organise anything in terms of tours from the hotel etc very difficult. My advice avoid this venue!

Room Tip: Really don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBrownBear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jois K, Director of Sales at Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Good day Sir,

We are sorry and very empathetic from your experience at our lodge.

We take the opportunity to thank you for shading light on the areas of our lodge that were no satisfactory during your stay with us.

1. We have a system that was installed to guarantee hot water supply throughout the lodge hence the reason we have water boilers on every unit and to suffice our clients' needs and extra solar panels that regulates and ensures that water heat is on every guest satisfaction. Our sincere apology for the mishap and inconvenience caused. This issue is being dealt with and respective department has been updated on this to ensure that it will not occur again as the solution was implemented and has been working in the past.
2. Our cards are electronically generated from reception, Our concierge/ customer service officer advices our clientele NOT to carry the cards anywhere close to phones, laptops or anything electrical as it affects the key cards functionality. Our room division team presents the key cards in a folder that prevents the effect and reduces to a 0% of not functioning. Your grievance has also been aired to reception to take precaution.
3. Golf carts in the hotel are assigned to the use of all guests regardless the distance to their rooms. On checking in, our bell boys chauffer clients to the room and wait till the client has settled in the room comfortably. Our management team has gone through this review and we realize right from get go, a few steps of express check in were missed and we very much apologies for what you went through.
4. We are not centrally located ( lodge) this is what makes the property. Our seclusion and distance from the city is for a cause and generally, our clientele base choose the lodge as a venue to maximize concentration during conferences, meetings or events, breakaway from city hassles to a tranquil/ serene venue. We have shuttles, fleet of vehicles and phone numbers in the room directory that our clients use if they want to go to the city. Our guests are at liberty to call or ask for transport to take them out of the hotel as they please on a reasonable cost.
5. Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge has a tour and safari company under it's umbrella called The Classic Tours and Safaris. The brochures and detailed info as pertains the services offered are included in the Room directory. We plan excursions, safaris and tours on the northern circuit etc. The lodge is located 5 mins drive from The Arusha National Park and at a very low rate of USD 200 our residents/guest can have game drive , with a tour guide/ driver on a 4x4 safari vehicle all inclusive park fee, entry fee for non residents and lunchbox. Some of our clients have opted to taking a Taxi ( from within the hotel to guarantee safety @ USD 50) and have gone with the drivers to the park that is 5 minutes away.
6. Amongst many activities that our residents indulge in, we have a water fall at Marangu - 20 mins drive from the lodge, city excursion that also include Maasai boma- rich with information and cultural way of life of this traditional ethnic group ( Maasais) we also have souvenir market , etc all located within the vicinity

Sir, It is our sincerely apology and regret that our property was not up to your expectation. At the same time we are thankful that you reviewed our property and highlighting the cores areas. These grievances have enable us tackle and pull our socks in the areas that we had fallen short. Fundamental measures have been taken to ensure Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge operates to its glory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    29
    20
    14
See reviews for
11
11
4
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel seems like it was built to cater to large conferences and the very wealthy. However, it seems like the demand may not be there or the isolated location may keep people away. So, it seems to be struggling to survive with limited staff, services and maintenance. The rooms are high priced but hot water is limited or non-existent in some rooms, food is mediocre, staff seems either overwhelmed or overworked and generally unhelpful. The rooms are big and have artsy furnishings but TV's don't work or work well, room didn't have coffee pots or safes as promised. The "health club" consisted of ancient machines in poor repair. The wifi worked in the lobby, pool looked nice, grounds provided good bird walks. I don't generally expect Western style services in an Aftocan hotel except that this hotel portends to be a luxury hotel with prices to match. I would recommend staying closer to Arusha if you have a choice since transportation is expensive to any local attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awaygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a group of 12 people travelling to Tanzania on a Safari trip. Our arrangements were made at Ngurdoto Mountain for a night at the beginning of Safari and a night at the end of Safari. It’s located on the way to Arusha from Kilimanjaro Airport. Many of the negative comments written in this site about this property happened to be true when I visited. The property looks like an excellent one once upon a time but now it’s a run-down property. Well designed rooms and landscape but not maintained at all. Lack of interest was obvious at the look of the property. Rooms are with ample size but very old. Bathroom was big enough with big tub with whirlpool but what’s the point when you don’t get running water properly. They have hot water facility but the hot water tap permits hot water only drop by drop. So forget about taking bath in hot water. While checking – out we have complained about the quality of rooms to our tour operator and because of that on our way back we were given rooms in cottages. Cottages were much much better than the previous rooms but cannot give full marks. It had a separate sitting area. Water flow in the bathroom was fine here. So hot water bath was possible.

They have a massive area for consuming food but choice of food is very basic with limited spread in buffet. Very good and big swimming pool available at the main building. Customer service is at zero level. I do not recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arusha hotels

Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ngurdoto is a very beautiful hotel. Very very beautiful.
there is however poor services; poor management i do not think I can hold any conference there. services are pretty much slow and internet connectivity is wanting. I would actually say internet works for one hour a day; the food is bad; do not try the bhajias,
some of the rooms are run down water was not available in the bathrooms one in one of the days. the team there needs motivation. Check out cottages - slightly costly but they are better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Organized a conference there last week and it was the worst experience ever. Food, service, staff was a challenge. We had to carry tables and chairs ourselves and set up the break-away rooms and put in drinking water ourselves. Some of our team doubled up as waiters, cleaners, IT personnel as the Hotel staff just could not manage or had an work attitude problem. Food was below average and there was no variety and it ran out. I would not recommend this venue to anyone especially those coming in for conferences. Even the sewer burst while we were there and we had to make our own arrangements for internet connection. This is a disaster of a conference facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I attended the AGRA Conference a couple of days ago at Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge. I must say this was by far, most professional conference I have been to in Africa. Efficiency, venue set up, welcoming and handling of the VIP guests was immaculate. The rooms are clean and spacious, staff alert and aware of guests occupied in what room. The restaurant was set to perfection, my room amenities were in order, Jacuzzi worked perfectly. I reported about the key card not opening my room to which my complain was handled and dealt with immediately ( split second) , I requested for coffee and sugar supplies in my room to be doubled, all was done on a daily basis as well as my timely wake up call. I am still impressed and really happy that a lodge could cater for needs for big group as this, noting our group comprised of world most important people. Congratulations and special thanks to the junior staff that worked tirelessly to ensure the comfort of this delegation. Keep it up. I would definately encourage companies or internationals to use this property for conferences - No doubt the best

Room Tip: Please ask for cottages , they are the best and relatively high priced but worth to last dime
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keller F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spend here two nights at the beginning of our safari with a group.
The rooms were very big, a bedroom and a living room. The carpet on the floor was not so very clean.Lots of spots! The bed had a mosquitonet.The bathroom was very big.There was a very big bathtube ( whirlpool) but unfortunately we can't use because there was only cold water in the evening -not enough warm water for a bath.
The big hall where you can eat is very cold and has less atmosphere.Less people in a big hall!!Insufficient service and broken canvas chairs at the pool.At the evening there was a nice sportive show-very good!! For two nights it is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sporti2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naura Springs Hotel
Naura Springs Hotel
#23 of 42 in Arusha
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#8 of 118 in Arusha
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kudu Lodge & Camp
Kudu Lodge & Camp
#14 of 48 in Karatu
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge

Property: Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge
Address: P. O. Box 7302, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConferencingAny organization, irrespective of size, sector or activity, will benefit from working with Impala Group of Hotels.We provide solutions for the entire spectrum of business events and accommodation:Solutions for any event, large or small * Large scale events and conferences (Conventions, AGMs, Sales, Academic, Pharmaceutical, Agriculture, Health, Mining, Education, Seminars, Workshops, Retreats, Team building) * National and International Gala dinners, Charity events, Awards ceremonies, Incentives, * Product launches * Press/PR events * Research/Consultation * Road shows * Concerts * Wedding * Social events such as wedding, jubilees, anniversaries * Training/Team Building * HR/RecruitmentAccommodationYou tell us where, when and what you need (golf course, parking, swimming pool, gym, internet access, heli-pad) and we’ll give you a list of options at the best possible rates for: * Groups and individuals * Conference/event delegate accommodation * Field Team solutions (sales, inspections, evaluation, training) * Prizewinners/Awards * Presidential eventsFull destination management solutions are available.Involve us at any stage of the event management process, from basic venue choice or accommodation booking to full event creation, promotion, production and management.We tailor our service to your requirements and adapt to your needs.Guests are provided with full confirmation, including maps/directions, booking details, parking information, even where’s wealthy visiting i.e. arrange excursions or any pre and post conference safarisWhat we do> Venue information and negotiationYou tell us what the requirements are and we will : * Find the perfect venue (providing you with a range of options among our chain of hotels) * Negotiate the best available rates (using our massive selling power) * Act as liaison between yourself and the organization of event (saving you time and energy, as well as providing you with the benefit of our in depth knowledge of event management)We manage every aspect so that the event runs smoothly, professionally, on-time and on-budget. Every event, no matter how small, is approached and considered in the context of your organization’s specific aims, objectives, audience, culture and structure.Meeting Room Equipment ChecklistEquipment that may be provided for the meeting room:Overhead projectorSlide projectorFilm projectorProjection standsRemote control for projectorsScreensVideo equipment: VHS, DVD, teleconferencingMicrophonesRadioTVComputerMouseAuxiliary equipment: laser pointers, flip charts, slide traysLightingLoudspeakersVideo conferencing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngurdoto Mountain Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing