We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant interlude between safaris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A very pleasant interlude between safaris”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Only a short drive from the airport, this lodge was very pleasant with enormous rooms (almost house-sized!), a luxurious super king-size bed, a lovely big bathroom, and all the extras (big fluffy towels, free wi-fi, petals on the bed when we arrived, chocolates (coffee flavoured!) etc. The welcome when we arrived was a little luke warm and the porters made it very clear they expected a tip. Other staff however were great especially Nicholas who served us drinks and a late lunch - an amazing pizza cooked in their pizza oven (probably one of the nicest pizzas I have tasted). Dinner was lovely too though we had lunch so late we couldn't eat much for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    239
    41
    19
    5
See reviews for
166
342
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

great service, a sensational location - five minutes from arusha airport and on tanzania's biggest coffee plantation, as a base for safari or climbs of tanzania's two biggest mountains, this is faultless. the food is reasonably good, without excelling, but the rooms... oh, the rooms. crafted from hard wood, gorgeously furnished and kept spick and span by attentive and efficient staff, it doesn't get much better. worth the expense. a gorgeous, gorgeous experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at ACL in July 2009 and was warmly welcomed by the host and hostess. My room was absolutely wonderful - possibly the best atmosphere I've experienced anywhere. Maybe a bit too romantic for a solo traveller :-)
Joan colgate - Cape Town

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayaysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this Coffee plantation lodge for some 3 days,I have to admit it's rooms are pretty lovely especially the plantation suites that we stayed at.However the service at this property is actually the worst i had encountered during my African Safari Trip of all the lodgings we visited.First on arrival,there was no one to open the safari vehicle door for us,our driver guide had to do this himself,we approached the reception literally carrying our own luggage,the towels not folded in a presentable manner,we had few luggage but we had almost 3 staff crave to carry our bags..probably for tips! room induction was poor,couldn't understand most words spoken by the attendants,during meals we had to call service staff for orders as though they we blind to notice guest table needs,communication is simply a barrier to these staff! no telephones in the rooms,we had to walk all the way to the front desk area to ask for anything,smiles are tough to come by,rooms aren't cleaned on time,we had to go to the rooms to get keys even during our 3rd day of stay meaning no security is guaranteed,the guest shop has very expensive items compared to the other safari shops we visited even in Arusha town,the management was not so welcoming save for a young tall man in glasses,at the reception,Timothy if am not mistaken,who strived to make our stay worthy by frequently bringing up conversations not only to us but we noticed to other guests too including a disabled chinese man who had troubles in speech but this young man gave him some load of help if i remember and if it were not for the love of hospitality in him,we'd have asked for our money back! such figures are seriously needed for the property's prosperity since not even the lodge management gave us much care like him and let alone the poor semi educated staff who to my opinion valued tips more than service! I made a note of a Mr. Gaston who likewise strived to bring smiles guests in the restaurant.this lodge better do something quick before it's business melts down coz of poor guest service! they need a guest service executive to straighten them up or probably more hospitality training!! not worthy for the money we paid for their services!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank printjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Having stayed in some of the usual places in Arusha before we were unsure what to expect but the Arusha Coffee Lodge is a breath of fresh air. Set outside of Arusha but within 10 mins of the domestic airport. It is approximately 1 hour and a half from the international airport Kilimanjaro. Set within the grounds of a small coffee plantation the rooms are very spacious and you have lots of living space. Lunch can be enjoyed in the gardens under the shade of large parasols. Service was friendly and attentive. Would recommend this to travellers who want something a little better than the usual Arusha standard before embarking on Safari.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I hosted a large group at the Arusha Coffee Lodge recently. The Plantation Suites are superb, food was delicious & beautifully presented. The service and attention from both management and staff were over and above anything else we experienced in Tanzania. They have no fitness centre, but you can walk or go for a run in the beautifully serene coffee plantations.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didi11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights on my honeymoon. The place is ok, nice looking but it has this outdoors feel to it, as the rooms are all wood. We did not like the food here, as the meat in Africa in general tastes funny to me. One good thing though, my wife forgot her bag and wallet there, and when we went back they had it ready for us. The bar is nice, cold beer! Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saracen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
913 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
251 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Property: Arusha Coffee Lodge
Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing