We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great start to our safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great start to our safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here two nights when we first arrived in Tanzania. It was a beautiful property and a great place to rest after 30 hours of traveling and before beginning our safari. We stayed in a suite which was very spacious and clean. Our only criticism was that one of the nearby trees had branches brushing the roof of the suite and woke us a few times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccjs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    235
    41
    19
    5
See reviews for
160
342
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in a suite and the only criticism was the noise of the traffic from the main road. We very much enjoyed our early morning breakfast on our outward trip and on our return had a very enjoyable evening meal.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was very comfortable although the decor was a little on the dark side. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonny002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Unfortunately my friends and I only had one night at the Lodge before our safari, but from the moment we checked in to the morning we left the service, food and ambience was top class. I would recommend getting a room on the south side of the property as one can hear quite a bit of noise from traffic on the main road. If you are keen on birds then Arusha Coffee Lodge has quite a few species to be seen and heard, in fact a Lilac Breasted Roller has a nest up in a dead tree close to the reception area!!
The rooms are very cosy and well furnished and very tastefully done. I also enjoyed the fresh coffee that is brewed from the Lodge's own coffee bushes! I will be definitely be back hopefully for a longer stay.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Arusha Coffee Lodge for 1 night to recover from the long haul flight before starting our safari proper the following day. The lodge is 5 mins from Arusha airport and we transferred by road from Kilimanjaro in about an hour or so.

The lodges are situated throughout the coffee plantation, very clean and well equipped. The property offers everything including an a la carte restaurant, bar meals and a cosy bar area.

Our overall opinion is that it has the feel of an airport hotel where everyone comes and goes on a frequent basis. The food in the a la carte restaurant was disappointing yet the service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKate237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Arusha Coffee Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear AndyKate237

Thank you so much for review and for the kind and complimentary words that you expressed about Arusha Coffee Lodge.

However it does seem that your dining experience on the one night that you stayed with us was not to your taste. As with all our Food and beverage outlets, if any of the dishes that you receive are not to your taste we will always happily provide and prepare a dish that is to your liking.

Since your stay, the menu has indeed been fretted in all of our three food outlets ('Bacchus' Gourmet Restaurant, '3 Degrees South' Bistro and The Coffee Gardens Grill and Buffet).

We hope that when you next return to us, as I hope you will, the dining experience will be much more to your liking.

Finally you mention that Arusha Coffee Lodge is similar to that of an airport hotel. Although I understand your point to a degree - the average stay for most guests is between 12 and 24 hours only - Arusha Coffee Lodge is the ideal point in which to start any safari journey and certainly an excellent spot to relax after what we hope would have been an exemplary Tanzanian wildlife experience.

With three dining outlets, organised coffee-estate tours, a Spa treatment centre, a boutique and Tanzanite shop, cultural and sightseeing visits to Arusha and day trips to Arusha National Park, Arusha Coffee Lodge is much more than a stop-over, if indeed you would like it to be so.

With best regards

Jason Barry
Group Director of Elewana Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Having to frequently travel to Arusha, my accommodation of choice has now become the Arusha Coffee Lodge... with or without my family.

The beautiful rooms, the tranquility, 'extraordinary' service from staff and exquisite food is definitely something to write home about... it has become a 'Home away from home'.

Those 'weeping trees' have my kids in awe and the parents confused and researching to answer the question "why the trees are crying?".

Thank you Arusha Coffee Lodge and see you again very soon.

LKS

Room Tip: Slept in 3 different room types and all are to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lathifa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I spent one night at Arusha Coffee Lodge recently en route to the Serengeti/Ngorogoro/Grumeti reserves. The Lodge was excellent, despite the road noise. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will merely request a room away from the road. Service was excellent, the food good and wholesome and very tastefully presented. My room was superb and very spacious. I was really sorry that I didn't have enough time to enjoy the coffee activity the lodge offered.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the Road. A few rooms are close to the road and with the amount of trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived into Kilimanjaro Airport after dark and were met by our friendly transfer service at the beginning of our Elewana Air Safari. Check in was quick and efficient and we were taken to our enormous suite by our "butler". The Plantation suites are very large and private, spread out in the beautiful grounds with a nice deck. The bathrooms with separate bathtub and shower are huge, modern and extremely clean. The next morning we woke to see monkeys in the grounds. Welcome to Tanzania !! Breakfast was perfect (table service) as too was lunch (buffet). Although our stay was short the staff made us so welcome and we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Although a fair walk from reception the rooms furthest away are quiet, private and with lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhnafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Property: Arusha Coffee Lodge
Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing