We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful start to our amazing honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here when we arrived in Tanzania, before departing for our safari. The staff were brilliant, very attentive, and did everything they could to help. The hotel itself is beautiful, with lovely spacious lodges rather than stuffy hotel rooms. The grounds were also lovely, and as my husband loves coffee, he loved the fact that it is within a coffee plantation. Unfortunately,as the weather was not so good, we didn't get to enjoy the pool and sunbeds. The breakfast was also great, very fresh and tasty.
We didn't venture to the surrounding areas of the hotel, so couldn't comment on this, but would highly recommend the hotel for those looking for somewhere to start a safari holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle_beeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 790 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a beautiful haven in Arusha. It is situated about an hour away from Kilimanjaro (JRO) Airport, so it is through the city of Arusha, near the Arusha airport. The location makes it perfect for fly safaris that start at the local airport, and for discovering the Cultural Center, which it's only a 5 minute ride from. We were greeted by the staff with warm wet towels for washing off, and the most delicious sweetened iced coffee I have ever had. We were introduced to our "attendant" for the week, who literally has become our friend! The cabins are laid out along a gravel path. We had numbers 25 and 27 (before and after our safari, respectively), which are superior or suite rooms. The were clean, decorated nicely, with an inviting and warm feeling. Ours had a private little deck off the main room, which, had it not been for the mosquitos, would have been lovely to sit out on. The deck has a small fireplace. Vervet monkeys run around the place, and are inquisitive enough to walk on your roof or railings! The bed was very comfortable, the closets roomy enough for our clothing, and the in-room safe keeps things secure. There was ample bottled water provided, and a basket of fruit, candy and peanuts for guests to munch on. The turn down service pulls the mosquito netting around the bed in the evening. The bed and bathmats are laid out with flower petals, and a chocolate truffle sits on the bedside table!
The food is delicious. Nothing else to say about it....seriously. Some of the best gnocchi I have ever eaten, and I have been to Italy! The service is gracious and warm, breakfast is plentiful, and the coffee is delicious. Did I mention the coffee service available in the room? A hot pot and french press are provided, and a tin of coffee, with sweetener and packaged milk, a tea box, and a tin of biscuits. Lovely! The staff will arrange a tour of the grounds if you wish, or local transportation. We had laundry done while there, and everything was done great.
The coffee lodge is located just off the "main" road, and you do hear the car/truck traffic, if you listen for it!!. It you are not listening for the noise, you really don't hear it, and everyone, from front desk reception to housekeeping, is friendly and accommodating!
Noel and Joel (no, not a joke, just a coincidence) are great front end managers. Advent is the best! She has truly become our friend, and we will keep emailing her for a long time!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koala46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived later than anticipated, so our room was not quite ready (not enough towels, water or aired out - was exceptionally warm inside). But the room itself was generous, well decorated and comfortable. The bed was so nice as was the overhead shower. There is no AC, and the opening of windows with screens is limited. The fan, I thought, was going to fall apart on high and did not seem to produce enough circulation otherwise.

The food on our first stay was exceptional and well presented. We took the tasting menu which was lovely. All ingredients were fresh and used well. We were quite surprised how high end the food actually was. The staff was helpful and very nice. Breakfast was a bit odd, it was difficult to kind of figure out exactly what we could and could not have, but once figured out it was nice.

Perfect location close to the airport for our early morning flight.

PS: we ate there on our return from Zanibar before our flight to Istanbul, the tasting menu had not changed and was a bit of a disappoint..we had hoped and even asked if it would be changed for our return dinner. We ended up eating a-la-cart and it was nice. Still good presentation and fresh ingredients, just not so special the 2nd time around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This started off our trip and was the nicest place we stayed in during our 18 days in Tanzania and Uganda. Elegant luxury and wonderful staff. The grounds were amazing. The food was very good. I wish we had more time here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start if a great honeymoon organized through andBeyond. Arrived in the middle of the night, around 3am, and the staff was very friendly settling us in. Unfortunately it rained all day the next day, but we just stayed cozy in the spacious cottage and only got out to go to the beautiful dining room. Had a nice surprise gift delivered as well.
Food was very good at the main restaurant, while the casual restaurant was just OK. High prices for wine. The only complaint was that my husband got food poisoning from his breakfast on our second morning, which knocked him out for the first day of our safari. But we came prepared, and I guess that's par for the course in Africa.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ilbucofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Arusha Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear LLBUCOFAN

May I thank you for your kind review and pass on my belated congratulations to you on your recent wedding and honeymoon. We are very pleased that you chose the Elewana Collection and more specifically Arusha Coffee Lodge to begin your very special holiday.

I was concerned to hear that your husband fell ill whilst staying with us, and more worryingly that you have attributed this illness to our breakfast. I am relieved to say that we have checked our records, and can say with some assurety that we have had no other reports of illnesses from guests staying with us during August or infact for any illnesses that can be attributed to our food and beverage in the recent past. I would therefore appreciate it very much if you could contact me directly so that I can look into this unfortunate incident but also to check that your husband is now perfectly recovered.

'Tummy bugs' can be common but not necessarily always attributable to food that has just been consumed. Sometimes illnesses can arise from air-borne bacteria on aircraft, airline food and drinks and/or foods ingested during transit, with symptoms only coming to the surface between 12 and 24 hours after ingestion.

Another cause can be that guests are often taking prescription medication - for example often anti-malarials - with reactions occuring simultaneously with eating foods thereby creating the illusion of food poisoning. The combination of tiredness, anti-malarials and a different altitude and change of climate can sometimes cause upset stomachs. It is fortunately rare but can sometimes happen.

Of course, and on hearing more detail from yourselves, we will investigate your case thoroughly. However we are exceptionally confident that our kitchens, run by our Executive Chef and his team, are unlikely to be the root cause due to their high levels of health and safety standards.

We will therefore do our best to track whether or not we have had any similar reports from guests, and whether guests travelling in to Arusha via the same airline as yourselves may have experienced similar issues. In order to do this I would very much like to get more details of your stay.

In conclusion may I thank you again for your review and I look forward very much to hearing from you regarding this matter.

With sincerest regards

Jason Barry
Group Director - Elewana Collection
jason.barry@elewana.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I understand that this is a great location for safari travelers but why spend $500 a night for a comparable $100 hotel. While the suites are nice and the grounds are well manicured, the service is horrible! I travel a lot working in the Hospitality Industry and my experience has been that most properties value the additional revenue from bar tabs and extras. Not this place. Staff seems to ignore you. During our lunch we were seated and told to help ourselves to the buffet. We would have liked to order a bottle of wine with lunch and water but not a server in site for the 30 minutes we sat there. We decide to just eat and leave. Of the two occasions we had breakfast the same thing occurred at one of the two sittings. We tried the Bar/Lounge for dinner and I will admit they were very attentive which was greatly appreciated. The service provided by housekeeping was not much better (no wash clothes or water in the room at check in). In fact we had to request water three times during our stay because you cannot use the water from the tap to brush your teeth or drink. Under these circumstances adequate water should always be available!! Perhaps they like running back and forth for the tips.

Scott Wallum November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Arusha Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Scott W from Arizona.

May I firstly thank you for your review. It has been received with great concern, as our customer service ethic is central to both the Lodge and to the rest of the Elewana Collection's core values.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to learn more regarding the specifics of your stay and would therefore ask if you could contact me directly to discuss this further.

As you will see from our recent commentaries, our location, accommodations and friendly and attentive staff are usually highlighted by our guests as most satisafctory. However something has obviously been remiss in your case and for that I am deeply sorry.

I look forward to discovering the reasoning why your experience seems to have been so different frfrom both our experience and your expectations.

With best regards

Mr. Jason Barry
Director of Marketing and Communications
jason.barry@elewana.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We only stayed one night. Great place, super nice little bungalows in lovely grounds, nice swimming pool and a great gift shop too! We enjoyed excellent dinner and breakfast! Loved the proximity to the airport!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeiteWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
618 reviews
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $413 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing