We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start for our Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a way to set the tone for a great safari. The accommodations are superb, the food absolutely delicious and the staff caters to your every need. Only spent one night there before beginning our safari but would love to go back and spend more time in this relaxing and beautiful setting. The individual suites are very romantic and a plus is the lovely private porch on which to relax.

Room Tip: The accommodations are all individual villas. Perhaps ask for one close to the main building if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiefoster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 790 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Arusha Coffee Lodge twice, at the beginning and one week later, at the end of our safari.

We found the staff to be very friendly (aren't all Tanzanians!) and helpful; the food was tasty and plentiful; the rooms were spacious, well appointed, generally very good. The place is charming and very clean (slightly run down in places but generally very good).

We left a suitcase for the week and it was safe and sound on our return. If we're in Arusha again, I'd be happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Arusha coffee lodge. If you have lots of spare money, there's no reason not to stay here.
Positives:
- very nice well appointed rooms, spacious, great bed, great sheets, great shower and bathroom
-great meals in the bistro at very fair prices
-in room massage if desired

Negatives:
- not sure the $500/night expense is worth it
- we were told there was a coffee tour at the lodge. We tried to arrange a tour, and it took 45 minutes for the woman at the front desk to figure out how much the tour cost. The tour is not on site, is not part of the coffee lodge, and is at a separate location. They charged us about $60 for a coffee tour, which is essentially not really a tour, but a place where they try to get you to buy goods from disabled employees. Now, I admit that the crafts appeared to be made there on site, and all employees were handicapped, so perhaps its real, but I thought I was taking a coffee tour, and instead ended in a glass factory, that happened to be in the middle of the coffee field.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for a night to rest up before starting our safari. The bungalow was beautiful, bed was very comfortable, large bathroom. We arrived in time for a tasty lunch, a buffet/BBQ. I asked our waitress if she could get me watermelon juice, and she told me she would juice it herself. She must have, because it was delicious, and freshly made. The strange thing was I could never get any fresh juice after that.

I had expected a lush landscape, but the grounds, even though it was a coffee farm, were very sterile. There were absolutely no birds or wildlife except for monkeys.

We were booked full board for food, and were supposed to just pay for our drinks. What a nightmare! It was no problem at lunch, we signed for just the drinks. But when we had dinner, the waitress brought out a bill that included food. We explained that we didn't pay for food, we were on full board. She said she would check with the front desk. She came back and said we were to pay for food. Since we were tired, we signed the bill and I went up to the front desk after getting the paperwork from my travel agent.

The front desk was not able to simply look at our name or room number on the computer, they had to bring out a file folder and go through lots of papers. They finally found ours, and said they were sorry, we were not supposed to pay for food. The manager walked me back to our bungalow, and said he would personally take care of taking the food off the bill.

The same manager greeted us at breakfast (very poor breakfast) and assured us he had taken the food off the bill. However, when we went up to pay, they charged us for dinner. Once again I explained we were full board and just needed to pay for drinks. They argued with us, then looked at the computer, then at the folder full of paper again. After about 15 minutes (we had a flight out that morning and weren't happy for the delay) they found our paperwork, and grudgingly took our food off the bill. They were not at all pleasant about it.

For the price, I would think you could do much better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savingrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Arusha Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Savingrace

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review Arusha Coffee Lodge and for your constructive and insightful comments.

Despite the kind commentary that you have made regarding our accommodations, we are very concerned as to your experience of our billing system and disappointed that this inturn has resulted in a negative experience. For this I sincerely apologise.

I shall be writing to you personally to get request more detail regarding this incident and hopefully I will be able to give you some feedback as to how this problem may have occured.

On behalf of myself and all the team at Arusha Coffee Lodge may I assure you that we will do our utmost to discover why our normal exemplary standards of service and delivery have in this case fallen short of an Elewana experience .

With best regards

Jason Barry
Group Director - Elewana Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

fantastic place to start or end your vacation
you can also pay a little extra to keep the room if you have a late flight
excellent service and tasty food
the only bad part was the wi fi was spotty in my cabin (14) but it flew when I used it by the pool

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chopstick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recommend staying for one night in Arusha Coffee Lodge( choose a bungalow far from reception and the restaurant e.g. No. 7) before leaving on safari in Tanzania. The roads , the majority are tracks leading to Serengeti,to Ngorongoro,to Tarangeri etc are rough and it is best to be well rested and on form before starting out.

Room Tip: a bungalow far from the main road, reception and the restaurant e.g. No. 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

First, they charged $500 for one night in a regular room. The facility was torn down. Our room had Mosquitos, our bathroom shower was clogged up which was dangerous and the floor became slippery. The sink was also clogged and the little tiny mirror was cracked in half. Our dinner for two for a regular meal (no drinks except water) was for $77. The ride to JRO airport was $190. To top it off, they ripped me off on converting from shilling to USD. All in all, the one night stay along with ride from and to the airport was around $800 which is like staying at the Ritz Carlton in manhattan, NY while getting an experience of staying in a 2 star motel 6.

A complete disappointment and needless to say, we will not be ever staying here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank AasimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Arusha Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear AasimH

On behalf of the Elewana Collection and of Arusha Coffee Lodge, we would like to thank you for your online commentary regarding your stay at Arusha Coffee Lodge. We would like to also say thank you for your kind review of The Manor at Ngorongoro, as this is very much appreciated too.

Regarding the issues that you have faced, I think it important for anyone reading your review to understand the following points and our detailed response.

Accommodation charges - Arusha Coffee Lodge has two categories of rooms, the rates of which are public (online). We do however understand that guests booking through external operators may be charged more for their room. This is something we cannot control but must advise on. For any stay at any lodge, camp and boutique hotel in Tanzania, we advise you to approach many Africa travel specialists as there may be special offers or better rates available with our trading partners.

Currency Exchange - We do not understand how you could have been 'ripped off' by our currency exchange. We have a fixed exchange rate that we offer to guests, a rate that is visibly presented at our Front Desk by way of signage. In addition and before the transaction is made all our Guests are informed of the rate. Should a guest wish to exchange money in town via a bank, this is really up to our guests. We always recommend that our guests change only small amounts of money with us due to this fixed rate. We are very disappointed at your assertion that some malevolent action took place and I hope to discuss this matter further with you.

Dining - Arusha Coffee Lodge has two restaurants, a Gourmet Dining restaurant which is a silver service experience created by our Executive Chef. The second dining option is our 24 hour bistro with a wide selection of dishes, all freshly prepared. The menus are all made available to the guests and the pricing, which is on each menu, is in line with other lodges and eateries of our standard within Tanzania. We do not regard the pricing as inordinately expensive, in fact we feel that they are commensurate to the quality of the food that is provided. We would have appreciated the review to spend more time on explaining the quality of the dishes rather than that of the pricing. Had the food been questioned as to its quality, our management and staff are ready and willing to look at each and every complaint, as providing exceptional service and quality is a prerequisite of the Elewana guest experience.

Taxi fares and activities - All our taxi fares are fixed prices as we use an external taxi service provider. These prices are provided by our Front Desk on request and if these are deemed too expensive we can then offer local and cheaper alternatives. However the standard and safety of these alternatives cannot be guaranteed by Arusha Coffee Lodge. We believe that the taxi fare to which you refer was also including an 'Arusha Town Tour' which in itself has a charge and is this was combined with your taxi fare that explains the price that you have indicated. We would also like to ask as to whether or not you checked taxi pricing before you arrived in Tanzania either directly with the Lodge or via your African travel specialist.

The Lodge - We vigorously defend the standard of our Lodge and refute the implication that it is 'torn down' . I presume you meant 'run down'. The Lodge itself has onsite maintenance teams who work tirelessly to ensure that all systems are working, or if damaged, immediately replaced. I would appreciate it if you could let us know as to whether or not you contacted our Front Desk and/or Management to highlight these issues. It is Arusha Coffee Lodge's protocol to ensure that a guest is happy with their accommodation and wherever possible correct the issues immediately or have the guest change room.

In conclusion Arusha Coffee Lodge is happy to answer any and all questions and queries that you may have. Please feel free to contact me directly at jason.barry@elewana.com in order that I can explain my answers fully.

With best regards

Jason Barry
Group Director of Communications - Elewana Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
618 reviews
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $413 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing