We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great first stop in Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Ma. USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great first stop in Africa”
Reviewed July 17, 2008

This is a great first stop if you are arriving in Arusha like we did, jet lagged and at night. The bungalows are really spacious and comfortable and the staff is incredibly welcoming. The food is very good too - served in the garden under umbrellas.

We were travelling with 3 kids (6, 9 & 11) and it was nice to have a swing set to play on, a nice pool tucked away, and room to run around after all that travelling. I would definitely reccomend this lodge as a first stop on the Northern circuit, especially if you will be staying in chain hotels for the rest of your stay.

The only minor negative comment I have is that you can hear the main road at night - maybe it was just me and being in a new place with new sounds...

Do visit the Cultural Heritage Ctr before you leave Arusha too.

My unsolicited advice: If you are traveling all the way to Tanzania, don't miss going to Zanzibar and staying at Chumbe island! Also Akorn Destination Mgt. (tour company to dignitaries and the stars) is the BEST - if you are considering touring Tanzania and want a worry free and carefree trip, contact them!

  • Liked — Spacious and private
  • Disliked — Noise at night from the main road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapendaTanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    240
    42
    19
    5
See reviews for
167
345
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

This is the only place that I would stay in Arusha. The rooms are set among the coffee plants of a plantation just west of town. The rooms are large, beautifully furnished, quiet and private. You are encouraged to take walks among the rows of coffee plants, which are actually interesting if you've never seen them before. The location was perfect for us as we arrived at Arusha airport, about a 5 minute drive away, and left the following morning for Lake Manyara. Internet access was pricey at $5 USD per 15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 08Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

This was one of the best places we stayed on our recent safari. Its location to the Arusha airstrip makes it ideal for those doing the ' flying safari ', such as ourselves. The rooms are enormous, very comfortably appointed, have huge bathrooms, mosquito nets etc. The attention by all the staff was excellent, and very friendly too. The food was not bad-a rather excellent caesar salad was a great surprise and enjoyed by us all. As throughout all Tanzania, avoid the steaks though if you are accustomed to thick, juicy medium/rare beef-here all beef gets battered to death first before reaching your plate. All in all, this was an excellent choice and I recommend them unreservedly.

  • Liked — Huge rooms, great location, excellent service, reasonably priced wines and a great caesar salad
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leighdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We arrived to Arusha after a long journey, very tired. The Lodge is about 5-10 minutes out of the town and very quiet. Immediate impressions were very good, the staff got us wet towels and cold Arusha coffee that was welcome. The room was large and clean and the hot water ready. After washing up we went to the bar for a drink and then to dinner in the dining room. The service was good for dinner, although a little slow for drinks. But then "This is Africa".

The beds were great and the room was without mosquitos. It was very quiet.

Next day breakfast was included, and the coffee is a must. Breakfast wa s a large spread, fresh with eggs cooked to order. We regretted not
buying coffee from here as it was the best we drank all trip in Tanzania.

Overall it is the BEST place in Arusha to stay.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

This is the second time I stayed at the Arusha Coffee Lodge. It was recommend to us by Jonas Loiruk of KIWISA([--]) whose company the Kilimanjaro Education Foundation ([--]) used for our charity climb. The hotel had very comfortable beds with mosquito nets. The food and service were also outstanding. Go for the Pizza! Our guide, Jonas Loiruk, also arranged for us to have boxed lunches that the Hotel provided for our safari. We enjoyed getting to know the staff and will stay there again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KEF4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

I stayed at the Arusha Coffee Lodge before I went to climb Mount Kilimanjaro. It was an incredible place to stay. The rooms were decorated to make the guest feel so comfortable. Our trip was arranged by Jonas Loiruk of Kiwisa Safaris. The staff took care of every need as we were preparing to climb Mount Kilimanjaro. Jonas worked with staff of the Arusha Coffee Lodge to make sure our stay was stress-free.
Our reception was very special. The staff knew that my group was raising money for the Kilimanjaro Education Fund. They were so impressed that all our donations were going back into their community. The staff created a family atmosphere. I highly recommend that when you stay in Tanzania, Africa, you stay at the Arusha Coffee Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

After more than sixteen hours of flight time, we arrived at Kilimanjaro Airport, exhausted and ready to collapse. We were met by our safari guide, who transported us to the Arusha Coffee Lodge for a night of rest. Despite it being late (10:00 PM), we were greeted warmly by a full reception staff, porters to carry our bags and the owner. We were offered fresh juice and the restaurant offered to stay open to serve us dinner. We were too tired and virtually collapsed into bed after a nice hot shower. (Each room has its own "as needed" water heater...so hot water was handy in minutes.) We slept soundly in the luxurious king size bed, wrapped safely in mosquito netting. I did hear buzzing in the night from the little critters...but no bites. The next morning, we had a great full breakfast (bacon, sausages, eggs, pastries, cheese, breads) and our safari briefing and were ready to head out for our nine day safari. After many dusty miles and adventures later....we were pleased to return to the Arusha Coffe Lodge (with a day room) prior to our flight back to the US. Stayed in cabin 16 on the way in and cabin 11 on the way out. Both were identical and so comfortable. Plenty of space, wonderful linens, good hot water, food was quite good and the coffee lodge has everything one could need (gift shop, pool, private porches, beautiful grounds). We will always remember the Coffee Lodge. Perfect start and end to our safari.

Helpful?
6 Thank virginian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
936 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
557 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
426 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
255 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Property: Arusha Coffee Lodge
Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing