We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, peaceful and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Pound Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean, peaceful and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived late at night and chose Arusha Coffee Lodge to sleep before leaving for our Safari the next morning.

What a shame we did not get to spend more time here. The rooms are lovely, we had two. One for the adults and one for the children. They were both clean and well equipped the bathrooms are a little dated but work very well.

The dining room was clean and nice and the food very good. All the staff were super friendly.

I would recommend for a couple of nights during the transition to and from your safari destinations. We did not use the pool or any other facilities as our stay was too short.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    235
    41
    19
    5
See reviews for
160
342
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

As the name states, it has very large coffee plantation. Its one of the few places that has a playground for kids. Coffee Loudge is a very beautifull place, clean and well maintained. You can enjoy the calm atmosphere and really relax. Most fruites and vegetables come from their own farm garden.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eturia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at The Coffee Lodge on the first night of our arrival, our last night of our safari and during the day before our international flight.

The first night we were tired after a long flight with a slight delay so we didn't get to the lodge until 10pm. We were welcomed with the customary cooled drink but told that we had missed dinner. We were slightly disappointed and a little hungry so decided to have a drink in bar before going straight to bed. We later found out we could have ordered a fresh pizza from the oven, yes we would have had to pay but we wouldn't have minded. Our room had not been cleaned very well, the mosquito net over the bed was splattered with blood from dead Mosquitos and there were Mosquitos inside the netting. My husband got badly bitten inside the net.

On check out we told reception and said we were coming back in 11 days and did not want to stay in a dirty untreated room. The reception staff smile politely but we knew they had no intention of reporting it.

When we checked in the second time we told the reception again of our first stay and he assured us all would be fumigated. We were extremely disappointed with the room allocation, we were next to the very busy main road and sitting on the verandah was very noisy. Once again no recognition we had stayed the previous week. Dinner was quite good but had to be sent back for them to heat it up. The room had been fumigated after another conversation with the duty manager who had no idea we had complained previously.

We had arranged to keep our room as a late check out as part of our package. A maid turned up at 1pm asking us to leave. I explained I had already arranged the late check out and she left in a huff.

The place definately needs a re furb, the rooms are dark, our bathroom was worn and shabby and the patio doors need replacing as do the windows that don't shut properly. There was a 2cm gap at the bottom of one of the doors.

The bar service was very good and they make excellent coffee.

The wifi was really bad and lots of people were complaining about it. You can only access it from the bar and dining room and only if the password was correct. It changed a number of times during the day.

Not sure we would stay here next time. If we did I would need assurance our room would be in a better state of repair.

Room Tip: Not near the main road is a definate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anoif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Director of Marketing at Arusha Coffee Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Anolf from Lancaster

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to write what is a detailed account of your stay at Arusha Coffee Lodge and the apparent issues you faced.

As you may be aware by now, following our investigations undertaken on behalf of your travel agent, we have reviewed our customer service protocols both within housekeeping and at our front desk to ensure that any and all incidents, requests or suggestions are logged and followed up by our General Management.

In this instance it appears that our normally high standards of service fell short of what we believe would be the 'Elewana' experience. As you will see from the reviews on Trip Advisor that we receive, the overwhelming feedback we receive is positive. However this should not lead us into a false sense of security. It is essential that we maintain our standards and exceed our guest's expectations wherever possible.

We thank you for drawing our attention to this matter and sincerely hope that this visit did not detract from your overall experience in Tanzania.

Best regards

Jason Barry
Group Director of Marketing and Communications, Elewana Afrika Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

in arusha its hard to find sofistication. the coffee lodge came as a nice surprise after my kilimanjaro treck. i had stayed at mt meru hotel before the climb and it was just an overpriced big hotel with below mediocre food. THIS is where you should stay if you are going to stay in the city before embarking on any safari or climbs! nice beds (although the king is two queens pushed together so you get the gap in the middle but i didnt care), and the restaurant has nice fires going in the fire place. really nice atmosphere and super friendly service. you cant even tell you are in the city. you MUST have a capucinno! mmm....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank audballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from the most incredible 3 weeks of fly safari with Elewana and then a long relaxing break in Zanzibar. We were met at the choatic Arusha airport by the lovely Claudance and Jordan the driver. We had a short sightseeing trip around Arusha and then arrived at the Coffee Lodge in time for lunch. Allan the manager met us and introduced us to the wonderful Dennis who was to be our butler during our stay- yes really! Our room was absolutely wonderful and overlooked the coffee plantation. It had a verandah with comfy loungers and inside, sofas, a desk, chairs, a huge bed and a really fabulous bathroom with an enormous claw foot bath and quite the best shower that we have ever used! This bathroom overlooked a small, private, decked courtyard where we could relax in the sun with a refreshing Kilimanjaro beer from the fridge.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, our candlelit dinner in the attractive colonial dining room, was delicious and the bar and outside area was a friendly and social place to meet others who were either starting or ending their safaris or had been climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. The following morning we had an informative trip around the coffee plantation and sampled the produce while sitting on open air sofas in lovely gardens. There was a workshop within the gardens where children and young adults with disabilities are given the opportunities to produce not only ethnic jewellery and souvenirs but the most beautiful glass bowls and wine goblets and jugs - all from recycled materials. There is a small shop which helps to fund their work but there was no pressure to spend if you didn't want to.
After returning to the Coffee Lodge, we had a coffee by the pool, another great lunch with a glass of wine and were then collected by Dennis and taken to where our car was waiting to transport us the very short trip to the Airport for our flight to Tarangire.
The staff of both Elewana Fly Safaris and the Arusha Coffee lodge could not be faulted. We felt cared for and valued as individuals as we embarked on our first holiday in Africa. If Allan and his lovely wife read this then - a huge thankyou from Paul and Jane- we so appreciated your efforts to make the start of our holiday so special!

Room Tip: Our room was number 30 and was wonderful, afternoon sun, peaceful and a short stroll through the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PandJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent one night on our way to safari at this lodge, and I so wished we'd had a longer stay. We were welcomed with cold towels and a yummy coffee drink on our arrival. Maike, one of the two managers, made sure our check in was smoothly handled.

We were quickly shown to our suites. These were quite far from the main area, but Maike asked us if my father would like to be in a suite closer to the main area, and we decided it was easier for him to be near the rest of us - that is a good example of the attention to detail and sensitivity towards the guests that we found throughout our stay.

We were blown away by the suites - they are spacious, and beautifully laid out. The chandelier in the seating area adds extra glamour to the plush, comfortable suite. My favourite parts were the bathroom and the little enclosed outside veranda. The bathroom is huge, with a big freestanding bathtub, and a large shower area. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent. The only slight niggles were: due to the placement of the taps in the long double sink (the bottom part of which is made of glass with coffee beans!), the gap between the tap and the basin was very small. Also, I would prefer the toilet area to be closed off, as opposed to glass walled.

The food was really very good. It's very rich, so be warned! There could be more variety for vegetarians, but I think the staff would be accommodating, if you asked for alternatives to the menu. The only part of the stay which was slightly frustrating was the rather slow service. This was clear at dinner, when we waited quite a long time between courses. We had also had a late lunch outside the bar, and the food took a long time to appear there as well. This really is not from a lack of willingness on behalf of the staff, though.

Maike and Alan made sure that we were looked after during our stay, and as time goes by, I think this lodge will soon become the best place to stay in Arusha. It has all the ingredients already: lovely location, excellent managers, helpful staff and beautiful rooms. I can't recommend it highly enough, and I would return tomorrow, if I could. Except this time, I would make sure that I spent at least 3 nights there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsFancy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Many people are booked into this pleasant hotel before setting off on Safari. It is a 5 minute drive from Arusha Airport and used by many travel companies. The accommodation is set in the grounds of the coffee plantation and consist of rounded thatched lodges. They are cosy with balconies, good en-suite facilities and a log fire for the cooler nights. Food was good and service excellent. The owner/manager was extremely accommodating and allowed me to use their PC as I lost my internet connection via my phone.
I would suggest that if your on going journey is not too far and you have arrived in Tanzania at a civilised hour you could easily give this extra night a miss. It is really just to recharge your batteries after a long flight but it will come at the cost of losing a night/day on safari.

Room Tip: As a stopover there is no preference. They are all close to the restaurant and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Property: Arusha Coffee Lodge
Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing