We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great starting point for safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel on the outskirts of Arusha. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - buffet lunch and a la carte dinner. As you would expect the coffee was great. Bring USD for tipping.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 790 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Within a safari, spent a night there (in a suite chalet) at the beginning, and just a lunch on the way out.

The chalets are beautiful (special mention for the bathroom and large balcony), but some details spoil a bit the experience: weird setup on some aspects (unnecessary steps, switches at odd places, not enough room between the tap and the sink...) and broken parts on others (lames of the blinds in the bathroom, lock on a window...).

They have wonderful pastries for breakfast and a very decent coffee (we would find out later in the trip this is a rarity, in spite of the reputation of the country on this product). Their lunch buffet is also quite nice, especially the barbecue part. The menu-based dinner is a bit of a let-down in comparison.

Staff is quite nice and competent overall. The location can be a bit noisy (there is a big road with horn-happy trucks just in front), but this does not spoil the sleeping experience at night, fortunately.

Room Tip: In a given price range, ask for a room as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

On the last leg of our 9 day safari we drove to Arusha to catch a plane to Zanzibar. We knew we were stopping "somewhere" for a few hours including lunch but we were not expecting the lovely experience we had at the "Coffee Lodge". First of all the whole atmosphere was really calm and peaceful, the gardens lovely and the staff more than attentive. The lunch was first class with many choices. In fact we were so comfortable that when we did finally have to leave it was a bit of a wrench.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WELLANDITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is called a "lodge" but it is certainly much more than that. We had just finished a trip to Ngorongoro and needed to catch the frst flight out to Nairobio from Kilimanjaro the next day. Since travelling from Ngorongoro to reach Kili that early in the morning was not possible, we were recommended to stay the night at the Arusha Coffee Lodge, since it is just about an hour from Kili airport. We arrived at 5.45 in the evening and were met at the reception by the receptionist and the manager, who checked us in and explained a bit about the comforts and amenities of the place. We were then led to our cottage, which was up one of the paths off to the side of the main building. All cottages are built up a bit from the ground on stilts and they look very pretty. The inside of our cottage was luxurious, to say the least. All done in good quality wood of course, and extremely well appointed and classily done up. Very large bathroom with wonderfully soft towels and great toileteries. Very comfortable beds with mosquito nets hanging from the ceiling. Afer checking in and freshening up we walked around a bit. They have a swimming pool and a spa, both in keeping with the stylishness of the place. They have a shop there that sells Tanzanite. Attractive shop with a very helpful and knowledgebale sales girl. We ended up buying a Tanzanite gem there for what we thought was a good price, only to discover at Kili airport the next day that we had overpaid by a considerable margin. So that's one piece of advice I would give. Look at, but do not shop for Tanzanite at that store. Buy it at Duty Free in Kili airport. We had dinner that night and B/F the next morning at the restaurant in the main building, and both were excellent indeed. Checkout was smooth and all in all it was a very nice experience. Helpful staff all around, though service at the restaurant can be a bit slow. I would unhesitatingly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The ideal place to begin and end an elewana sky safari. Beautiful grounds, fabulous food, wonderful staff. After flying for 24 hours, all one needs is a few hours recovery in this beautiful place and you're ready to go on safari!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I found this lodge on our way to Lake Manyara. After fling in from Joburg - Niarobi-to Kilimanjaro...we were beat and did not want to continue flying AND getting to our next location late at night. So we had a driver take us to Arusha, about a 40 min ride...and we stayed there for the night. It was Fantastic. The rooms are actually cottages. Very large and VERY well kept.

The staff was Great, and the food was decent.

If your looking for a good place for a layover....try the Arusha coffee lodge.

You wont regret it....and it is 2 minutes from the Arusha airport.

I guess you could fly from JRO to arusha....but we drove.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poppbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

An incredible place to stop for lunch and wait for your flight back to Nairobi. The setting is beautiful, with friendly staff and a superb menu.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luap1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
505 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
617 reviews
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $412 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing