We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Korona House(Arusha)
$60
$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuli Hotel(Arusha)
$55
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
238
53
19
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
53
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslate hournext morningfirst nightkilimanjaro airportdogs barkinglovely roomlong flightinternational flightmount merularge bedhome from homemain buildingan oasisstayed two nightsweek safarikili climbmosquito netting
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 318 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2016

I came here last year, and decided to come back as start and endpoint for safari. The place became more quiet, road access is improving with the new highway. At this moment the best place to stay near Arusha when you have an international flight to take, as traffic jam can hold you up for three hours, when you stay in a Arusha center hotel. Onsea House continues to give that home feeling, rooms are large and confortable. Go for room 6 or 7. Dinner is still an event at Onsea House with that mixed Belgian-African cuisine, but when not hungry you can also go for a simple but excellent vol-au-vent with French fries or smashed potatoes, or a light snack.

Room Tip: room 6 or 7 when you want to be very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ludo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We were 4 friends staying before and after our safari at the Onsea House and really enjoyed our stay. The reception welcomed us warmly with different juices both of the days and took care of us so well. The beautiful gardens and lovely designed rooms and the very friendly and helpful staff make you feel you are visiting your family. Besides that, the food was awesome and we had two wonderful evenings on the restaurant terrace overlooking the pool and nature.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurakadlcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the end of a business trip. Booked at the last minute by email - after being greeted with juice I was in Machweo room 8, a small bungalow type room with kitchen and shower overlooking the valley. The finishing and detail is of a great standard, after a light lunch and a swim in the pool, I got to sit out on the terrace and watch the sunset. For dinner I went for the full menu and it was good, highlights were the kingfish and the carpaccio. All the time, service is attentive.

The next morning the hotel arranged a day trip for me and allowed me late checkout before flight home.

Highly recommend this hotel, great alternative to the big hotels in Arusha.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank SimonODwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

I had the benefit of staying a long weekend at Onsea House while visiting Arusha and it is truly a gem - tucked back off the main road, up a hillside, it has spectacular views across Arusha as well as of Mt Meru. The rooms are extremely up to date and modern (I think they recently renovated) - poured concrete floors, huge bathroom with sunken jacuzzi tub and separate shower, beautiful bedding, etc. I spent time just lounging by their pool as well which is very nice and they do have a full spa with extensive services. But the food and service deserves special mention - everyone is so friendly and eager to make sure you are having the visit you expected, and the dinners are incredible - save room, they are multi course but every bite is delicious and inventive (mostly European and fusion cuisines). I literally held out on lunch one day to make sure I could enjoy the whole dinner. They are also quick to help you with any day trip or town needs. Highly recommend. There were several families in residence while I was there and they all seemed to be having a great time and the staff is good with accommodating children.

Room Tip: Main building has beautiful rooms, but there are cottage suites if you have a bigger group or need adjoining rooms
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1821RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Stayed in Onsea prior to my safari and Machweo after. Lovely comfortable rooms, and great service (Pauline in reception was fantastic). Highlight was definitely the AMAZING food - breakfast is plentiful with great choices, dinner is 3 course with recommended wines accompanying. Would highly recommend staying here when in Arusha!

Room Tip: Rooms at lower levels will be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LVB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews