We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Korona House(Arusha)
$60
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuli Hotel(Arusha)
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$469
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
240
54
19
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
54
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst nightnext morningkilimanjaro airportlong flightlovely roominternational flightmount merularge bedmain buildingchecking inhome from homean oasisstayed two nightsweek safarikili climbmosquito nettingbeautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 321 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2016

I had the benefit of staying a long weekend at Onsea House while visiting Arusha and it is truly a gem - tucked back off the main road, up a hillside, it has spectacular views across Arusha as well as of Mt Meru. The rooms are extremely up to date and modern (I think they recently renovated) - poured concrete floors, huge bathroom with sunken jacuzzi tub and separate shower, beautiful bedding, etc. I spent time just lounging by their pool as well which is very nice and they do have a full spa with extensive services. But the food and service deserves special mention - everyone is so friendly and eager to make sure you are having the visit you expected, and the dinners are incredible - save room, they are multi course but every bite is delicious and inventive (mostly European and fusion cuisines). I literally held out on lunch one day to make sure I could enjoy the whole dinner. They are also quick to help you with any day trip or town needs. Highly recommend. There were several families in residence while I was there and they all seemed to be having a great time and the staff is good with accommodating children.

Room Tip: Main building has beautiful rooms, but there are cottage suites if you have a bigger group or need adjoining rooms
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1821RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Stayed in Onsea prior to my safari and Machweo after. Lovely comfortable rooms, and great service (Pauline in reception was fantastic). Highlight was definitely the AMAZING food - breakfast is plentiful with great choices, dinner is 3 course with recommended wines accompanying. Would highly recommend staying here when in Arusha!

Room Tip: Rooms at lower levels will be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LVB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We stopped here for one night after an overnight flight into Tanzania before embarking on safari. It's very pretty, nicely maintained with a very friendly and welcoming team. Fabulous views of Meru. The evening meal was fantastic although not ideal for a tried family and 2 fussy kids - however, that is our problem and no reflection upon Onsea.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Arriving at Onsea House in the dark is a little scary. We arrived in Tanzania at Kilimanjaro airport and got picked up by our driver who set off down the main road towards Arusha. He then suddenly turned off the main road to head down a dirt track. At that point, my wife and I were ready for launching a flare but all worked out well and we arrived at the lovely Onsea House.

My wife and I stayed here for a night after landing in Kilimanjaro airport and prior to our safari. We arrived around 9pm and were shown around the grounds (as much as possible given that it was dark). The restaurant still served us food as they were conscious that we would be hungry after our long flights, which was really nice. The food was amazing! We had three courses and loved every course as much as the previous. The hotel was really nice too, the room really comfortable, the staff really friendly and the pool looked nice. My only annoyance is that we only stayed for one night and left early in the morning! :(

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WanderSpils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Actually we stayed several days at Onsea house during our holiday: before and after the Safari and when we came back from Zanzibar. It felt every time like ‘coming home’ in Onsea House. Whenever we arrived (early in the morning or in the middle of the night) we received a warm welcome. The staff was really interested in our story and was always at our service.

We really liked the rooms in colonial style, with a nice view on the garden and the private pool. The rooms are decorated with attention to detail and breathe the colonial atmosphere. We loved the fresh flowers in our room.

We had the impression that the personnel was very well trained, compared to other hotels on our stay in Tanzania and Zanzibar. They were very polite, sincerely friendly and understood and spoke English very well.

The management was always prepared to organise some trips and taxis/guides. They were trying to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

Onsea House was for us a perfect place to relax after a long flight, get rid of the dust after a beautiful Safari and we enjoyed a last great gastronomic diner next to the pool before flying back to Belgium.

We loved it!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews