We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
254
64
19
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
64
19
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest cottage amuse bouche first night local ingredients kilimanjaro airport next morning africa trip big bathroom mount meru long flight our honeymoon lovely room international flight packed lunch the main house swimming pool late arrival
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 348 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We stopped here for one night after an overnight flight into Tanzania before embarking on safari. It's very pretty, nicely maintained with a very friendly and welcoming team. Fabulous views of Meru. The evening meal was fantastic although not ideal for a tried family and 2 fussy kids - however, that is our problem and no reflection upon Onsea.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Arriving at Onsea House in the dark is a little scary. We arrived in Tanzania at Kilimanjaro airport and got picked up by our driver who set off down the main road towards Arusha. He then suddenly turned off the main road to head down a dirt track. At that point, my wife and I were ready for launching a flare but all worked out well and we arrived at the lovely Onsea House.

My wife and I stayed here for a night after landing in Kilimanjaro airport and prior to our safari. We arrived around 9pm and were shown around the grounds (as much as possible given that it was dark). The restaurant still served us food as they were conscious that we would be hungry after our long flights, which was really nice. The food was amazing! We had three courses and loved every course as much as the previous. The hotel was really nice too, the room really comfortable, the staff really friendly and the pool looked nice. My only annoyance is that we only stayed for one night and left early in the morning! :(

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WanderSpils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Actually we stayed several days at Onsea house during our holiday: before and after the Safari and when we came back from Zanzibar. It felt every time like ‘coming home’ in Onsea House. Whenever we arrived (early in the morning or in the middle of the night) we received a warm welcome. The staff was really interested in our story and was always at our service.

We really liked the rooms in colonial style, with a nice view on the garden and the private pool. The rooms are decorated with attention to detail and breathe the colonial atmosphere. We loved the fresh flowers in our room.

We had the impression that the personnel was very well trained, compared to other hotels on our stay in Tanzania and Zanzibar. They were very polite, sincerely friendly and understood and spoke English very well.

The management was always prepared to organise some trips and taxis/guides. They were trying to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

Onsea House was for us a perfect place to relax after a long flight, get rid of the dust after a beautiful Safari and we enjoyed a last great gastronomic diner next to the pool before flying back to Belgium.

We loved it!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Guide620603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Enjoyed our stay at the Onsea House primarily because of the
location and the restaurant. We mistakenly requested a room
in the original building and found it to be tired and in need of
repair. Should have stayed in one of the cabins that line the
property. Nice people, view and pleasant dining.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joefish925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnseaHouse, Manager at Onsea House & Machweo Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Joe,
Thanks a lot for the appreciation of our setting, restaurant and friendly staff.
We would like to apologize for the Onsea House rooms. During June we were fully renovating the Onsea House building. Since July we can proudly present the refreshed Onsea House main building.
We hope to welcome you again in the renewed Onsea House or in Machweo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Although not really near to the Airport, Onsea House is often used by travellers to stay the first night afte their arrival in Kilimanjaro. The Belgian owner, Alex, welcomed us in a very friendly and professional manner. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and we were happy to hear that we got an upgrade and we were even more surprised to see that our room was 'specially'' decorated for the occasion. Because it was late in the evening, we choose to have just one main course in the restaurant : the lobster was really delicious. Excellent marks' for the chef !
The room was very good and the shower was fantastic.
The breakfast and the service were more than ok.
Special thanks to the management for their assistance the next day before we left to start our family safari in Tanzania.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews