We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Ranked #2 of 148 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Visiting Onsea House and Machweo, the connecting boutique hotel, was a real dream to us. We visited Onsea House for 10 days and all 10 were unique. We had two beautiful connecting rooms, with a living room in between. On top of that we could swim in our private swimming pool in the beautiful garden. Ideal for a family with kids. The culinary treats from top chef Axel are amazing! Best in the area and far beyond. Dirk is the perfect host and does everything to satisfy and please his guests. Griet is the newest star on the Onsea staff: a true talent in hospitality. It was a real pleasure staying at Onsea House and Machweo!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I just stayed in the new Machweo wing of Onsea House. We thought our stay made for a great first night in Tanzania. The hotel and grounds are lovely and our room was beautiful. I took advantage of having a large sunken tub and we both enjoyed our dinner. I would rate the food as good, not great. However, the view from the dining terrace was beautiful and live music provided by a violinist and guitarist created a wonderful atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ash5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel on the way to Arusha from the Kilimanjaro airport has nothing to do with the sea. Founded in 2006 by a Belgian, the name derives from a Belgian word for a panther or leopard. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. However, room # 2 in the main hotel is adjacent to the kitchen and you can barely cut out the background noise by closing the door to the bathroom. The cottage near the entrance to the hotel is a better choice for accommodations; however, the climb to the main facility is a bit of an effort. Although the facility claims gourmet meals, the multi-course dinner takes two hours and can be tiresome for children. (We happened to have two on the trip - ages 7 and 10.) Should you decide to stay at the Onsea, take a guided walk around the facility, meet the local Maasai people and visit the orphanage.

Room Tip: If you are willing to do some uphill climbing, stay in the cottage at the entrance to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel before driving to the Ngorongoro crater. The rooms are separate collages all situated on the side of a hill with a view of the valley. Our room was very well appointed with a wide screen tv-- which we did not watch. The restaurant also had a view and the food was gourmet prepared by a chef from Belgium. They have 2 pools on the side of the hill also. Our room was No. 2 where the wifi signal did not reach, but I heard it did work in our friends rooms. The employees were pleasant and helpful. Plenty of birds on the flowers on the wall near room 2.

Room Tip: Don't take room 2 if you need the internet although you could take the computer to the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

fantastically friendly staff. Eccentric chef.

had super room with terrace.

Ate on terrace, warmth was supplied by charcoal filled braziers. Delightful.

Interesting menu, though not well explained. We wanted on course, ended up with full menu which we then had to pay for.

Local dogs are a bit noisy, but part of the colour

did not have time to use the spa centre

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for a night before & after our safari, we found the place good enough for a night with the basic amenities at Onsea House. The cottages here are single detached units. Comfortable with hot & cold showers, mosquito nets, flat screen tv, etc.
We preferred the stay at their other property though, the Machweo, which had nicer facilities, bigger bathroom & shower, and felt relatively newer.
Breakfast was good and sufficient with home made breads, made to order eggs,etc. They don't rush you to check out after breakfast. The staff was friendly. We arrived a bit tired at the end of our safari and in time for dinner. The dinner service took almost forever, about 2.5- 3.0 hours. It started with a 30 minute wait for the bread basket & drinks to come. Followed with a small plate of appetizer, a cup of soup and the main course. We can understand the wait if this was a degustation dinner, but it certainly was not & everyone in the restaurant were just having the same pre fixe meal. (A little boy on the next table literally fell asleep on the table & his dad had to carry him out of the dining area.)
We were too exhausted to wait & have dessert so we skipped this part.
Overall though, if they can improve the lunch & dinner service, it is a nice place to start & end your safari.

Room Tip: Room # 7 is quiet at Onsea House & Room #3 at Machweo on the 3rd floor is nice with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelfish22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I just recently returned from our honeymoon in Tanzania, Africa. We traveled to Tanzania to climb Mt. Kilimanajaro and go on a safari. Between our trek and safari, we stayed at the Onsea House for 3 nights in total.

Let me begin by saying the Inn itself is simply amazing! The decor, the layout of the rooms and hotel, the dining room..everything was PERFECT!! Very clean, extremely safe, welcoming atmosphere- second to none!

The service was outstanding! The people working at Onsea House were very very friendly and inviting. The owner is constantly available to chat with (an extremely nice gentleman), and the receptionist was always very helpful! It really does feel like a second home when you're traveling.

As for the food- WOW!! The cook is incredible! Dinners were excellent.

I would NOT hesitate at all to recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a luxury inn! Lovely, lovely place!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Usa River
528 reviews
3.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
3 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#5 of 148 in Arusha
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: $228 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing