We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance - website makes it look nicer than it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great outdoor ambiance. Enjoyed meals (food was good) outside, especially evening dinners by the campfire (definitely the highlight of staying here). Rooms were dusty and could benefit from some renovations and some updating. For example, towels were very grubby and smelled unwashed. The shower water was rusty (smelled pretty awful) and overall bathrooms were very dingy. The shower piping leaked water all over the floor. Overall, the lodge web-site makes the lodge appear much more luxurious than it is (slightly misconceiving). Additionally, we were very displeased with the 5% additional credit card fee and and USD exchange rate of 1400 to 1 (when using a credit card). Should probably be mentioned when checking-in. The gentlemen handling the bar and restaurant areas was particularly helpful.

Room Tip: Nice to be located closest to the sanctuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEBSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent 2 nights there last month. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean. Food was great and chefs would explain anything you were unsure of.

They help nurse animals back to health so you see some up close and personal. Also lots of monkeys in the trees all around you

Also spent our last afternoon there with a day room, nice to come back to place our trip started. Manager was very friendly, welcoming and made us feel like attention was being paid to us

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TshoesNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

From the time you arrive at Mount Meru, you are treated like a long lost family member. The rooms are beautiful and some have a wonderful patio with its own fireplace. The food is delicious and varied. Compliments to the staff who are friendly and ready to serve. A great way to start your journey in Tanzania

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricaDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After driving from Luxembourg to London (6 hours), staying overnight there; then 8-hour flight to Nairobi (with an excellent Kenya Airways pilot!); followed by a 1-hour flight over to Kilimanjaro; and finally a 40-mins drive, we arrived, as you can imagine, quite exhausted at the Mount Meru Game Lodge on our 1st morning in Africa! However, the staff were welcoming, our cottage was ready and the surroundings were so peaceful that we managed to catch up on some lost sleep straight away. We then spent the afternoon wandering around the Sanctuary (admiring the eland, ostrich & zebra) and taking tea on our private terrace. Then came the highlight: a delicious dinner round an open fire under the clear & starry Tanzanian night sky - the perfect introduction to our African safari tour :o)

Room Tip: We stayed in "detached" cottage no. 5 with its own terrace and a view over to the Sanctuar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_Ann2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our first lodge that we stayed in after arriving at Kilimanjaro.We were only here for one night,but what a start to the holiday.The food was very tasty,the service excellent and our room was alongside the water so we had a really good view when the animals came to drink.Would not hesitate in recommending this lodge .

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the water as there are some at the back of the main building that d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baqueret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it was a relaxing place to spend the night before a big day to follow. The setting was very picturesque with a lush garden and animals roaming freely in the sanctuary. The room was comfy with mosquito nets and with a warm and powerful shower. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the garden setting where the food was varied and the service fine. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We flew into Kilimanjaro to begin our African Safari and it was much nicer to stay here than continue into the frenetic Arusha city. Lovely views of Mt Meru from our verandah, the rooms were spacious and we were fortunate enough to get the cottage that was not joining another so had our own private verandah to relax on and watch the passing parade of animals.

Food was excellent, lovely outdoor dining area, another review mentioned the expensive gift shop and have to agree but that aside it was a very welcome stay just out of the main city.

Room Tip: Ask for the free standing cottage. We were 2 couples and we got the one on its own but our friends h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worktotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
476 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
604 reviews
8.8 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
11.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,012 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Address: Arusha-Moshi Road | Usa River, Arusha P.O.Box 2747, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: $183 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary is located within 33 acres of mature, well manicured gardens bounded on one side by the tranquil waters of the Usa River and on the other by the private Sanctuary where our wildlife and birdlife reside. This wildlife and birdlife provide many of our guests with their first exciting game viewing experience. The Mount Meru Game Sanctuary was established in 1960 and over the course of the last half a century and more has received rescued animals from the wild. Normally either injured or orphaned, the sanctuary's first priority is always to rehabilitate these animals and to return them to their natural habitat. In cases where this is not possible, they are released into the sanctuary grounds where, joined by an enormous variety of birdlife, they are able to enjoy the unique freedom offered by our very safe environment. By choosing to stay with us, our guests play a very important role in helping these animals since the activities of the sanctuary are financed entirely by the lodge. Mount Meru Game Lodge is extremely fortunate to receive daily visits from troops of Black & White Colobus Monkeys. The Lodge features 15 guestrooms, including 2 suites, which seamlessly blend understated elegance with contemporary style. Our two suites lie generously situated in the garden overlooking the sanctuary. Each with a cozy bedroom and open living area, complete with fireplace. Both rooms offer a private garden gazebo where one can blissfully relax and soak up an atmosphere of well being. The main building of the lodge consists of a reception area, lounge and bar. The lounge, with its enormous picture windows and comfortable furniture, provides for relaxation in intimate surroundings. The bar is well stocked with a wide selection of spirits, beers and minerals which are complemented by a carefully selected collection of wines. To the front of the main building is a terrace which is shaded by enormous old Mango trees and which enjoys magnificent views over mature, carefully tended gardens to the Sanctuary beyond. In the grounds of the lodge can be found an 'outdoor dining room' which consists of a covered makuti restaurant located in our mature a gardens. The garden with its camp fire allows our guests to dine under the African star-lit sky whilst listening to the exotic night sounds. FREE WiFi is available to all visitors in the Lodges' public areas. Throughout its long history, the lodge & sanctuary have been a popular stop over for many VIP's and Government visitors. Various Presidents of African countries, celebrities, entrepreneurs and members of European Royal families have stayed with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary Hotel Arusha
Mount Meru Game Lodge And Sanctuary
Mount Meru Game Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing