We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moivaro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moivaro Lodge
Ranked #13 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

Nice place to stay at the beginning/end of your safari trip - rather quiet but the food was good, very nice relaxing rooms. Staff were not too friendly but probably see too many tourists!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveljunkiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    127
    60
    26
    9
See reviews for
62
110
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We started our adventure at the Moivaro Lodge which a number of other people seemed to do as well. It seems to be a stop off for Kilimanjaro Climbs and Safari's. It was more expensive than we thought it would be, but the food was good and the staff very helpful (they delivered our bags that were lost by the airline to our doors very late!).

The air was very damp which meant the bedding was cool and damp - we worked out that you needed a fire in your room to dry everything out a bit. That also made it rather romantic! The bathrooms were pretty standard although I am not keen on sharing my bath with bugs (no fault of the hotels I might add - you can't stop a bug climbing through the plug hole!)

There is a good swiming pool and large grass area which turned out to be an excellent sports pitch! It was very very quiet at night - perfect for me as I am a very light sleeper. There is an interesting walk around the grounds and would be a good jogging track.

It was a nice introduction to Tanzania but wouldn't stay there for any length of time.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — The bugs!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londongirl070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here 3 nights in total - and had it not have been pre-booked, we probably would have sought alternate accommodation for the last 2 nights.

Our initial thoughts on arrival was "wow, fab" we were tired and dusty from a long flight and a VERY bumpy last leg to Moivaro itself. We were shown to our rooms which are large but not particularly comfortable and had a general musty, damp feel to them. BUT, they had hot running water and a decent shower.... an important feature.

The staff were friendly enough and the rooms were clean. The real disappointment was the quality of the food. The main dinner menu was $30 for a three course meal (soup, main and dessert). This was (not-so) graciously reduced to $25 if you only had the main meal. We live in London and are used to over-priced food but I would never have willingly paid $25 for the meal we had, it was completely over priced for the quality received. The wine list was poor as well.

Part of the trouble is that you feel like a captive audience as the hotel is literally a 15 minute drive from the main road on a VERY bumpy track. Not a walk to be willingly considered.

Finally, the coffee really wasn't as good as one might expect from a coffee lodge!

  • Liked — the showers and gardens
  • Disliked — damp musty rooms & overpriced unimaginative food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

This hotel was the perfect introduction to Africa. The rooms were lovely and the beds super comfy, the staff were friendly, and housekeeping left fragrant flowers on our pillows each day. Our meals were fantastic and bountiful! We arrived at night, and waking up the next morning, I was suprised at our gorgeous, lush surroundings.

The manager arranged a guide for us for a tour of a market in Arusha, and we have nothing but good things to say about the arrangement.

The lodge has a firepit outside, and if you ask nicely, the staff will make a campfire for you. Bring a drink from the bar!

I think it takes someone with a spirit of adventure to visit Africa in the first place, and the road to Moivaro will absolutely provide adventure...don't be alarmed-- your lovely accommodations really ARE down the road, despite it being bumpy and dark. :)

  • Liked — Charming with Beautiful Grounds
  • Disliked — Not close to anything
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KateDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

Having seen some of the very negative ratings here on this site, I was a bit in doubt whether I should spend my days before and after the climb there. Needlessly. The place is wonderful, the food is great, the cottage rooms nice, clean and spacious.

I admit that finding your way through the lush garden can take somewhat longer if you didn't pay attention while being led to your cottage. So what: it's a beautiful garden, well worth wandering around. My 15yrs old son and I loved the place.

  • Liked — Wonderful garden
  • Disliked — Too far out of town to walk
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

We (2 couples) stayed in this establishment at the end of February 2008 for 4 nights.
The 2km dirt road leading up to the place is a real shocker, in the literal sense of the word. Beware pregnant women and those with weak stomachs and aching muscles!
Maybe the atrocious road is the place’s secret to keep guests for dinner and drinks. In that case be prepared to pay night club prices, but without the lap dancer.
The lodge is swarming with friendly staff. But we never saw a manager. Probably the reason why the right hand does not seem to know what the left hand is doing.
Twice in a row our rooms were not serviced.
The unsupervised staff has no eye for detail. Why, for example, did they never make a log fire in the garden’s fireplace?
The room safes are far from safe. When the door of our safe could not be unlocked, a staff member simply opened it with a table knife. Small wonder that during our first evening, 200 dollars were stolen. The receptionist on duty promised to make a full refund. However, it took three days of constant haggling before that promise was made good.
The garden is spacious, but the guest rooms are dark and uninviting. There is hardly hanging space for your clothes. Very irritating if you have just returned from a safari.
We found the rooms far from clean and - in keeping with general appearance - the toilets were smelly.
The veranda chairs seem to have borrowed from a doll house.
The quality of the breakfast was poor: very limited choice - watered down fruit juice – bread from yesteryear. And does that white stuff really deserve the name yoghurt?
We stayed at this place 4 years ago. We thought it rustic then. This time is was rubbishy.
On the bright side: the 2km walk trough the surrounding area is a gem with plenty of bird life; and it gives you the chance to break away.

  • Liked — the garden
  • Disliked — no supervision
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arusha hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

My two friends and I stayed at Moivaro Coffee Lodge/Plantation during our trip to Tanzania. We had the most wonderful experience that started from arriving in their beautiful lobby, to the absolutely breath taking veranda to the cozy and elegent rooms situated around the plush green garden. Additionally, the food was first rate and the service was warm and friendly. I would highly recommend and encourage staying at Moivaro Coffee Lodge/Plantation whenever you visit Arusha either on your way through to a Safari and Zanzibar (which was our case) or on your way to climb Mt. Kiliminjaro. Bottomline is that Moivaro Coffee Lodge/Planation is first rate and a great value and you are missing out if you do not stay here and enjoy all that it has to offer and hats off to Moivaro Coffee Lodge/Plantation and their superb service from start to finish

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Everything was great.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FSC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
7.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.7 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 150 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moivaro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moivaro Lodge

Property: Moivaro Lodge
Address: Arusha 00000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moivaro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moivaro Coffee Plantation Lodge & Estate, the lodge where you will stay in a charming atmosphere and enjoy every comfort you need. Moivaro Lodge is situated right in the heart of beautiful, natural scenery and yet is only 7 km from the town of Arusha: an ideal spot to enjoy the impressive flora and fauna of East Africa. At Moivaro Lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique, friendly and peaceful manner, helping you to prepare for your safaris and cosseting you on your return in the evening. Our spacious thatched brick cottages are set in a lovely tropical garden, with private verandas ensuring every visitor all the privacy needed. Relax and enjoy the beautiful views of Mount Meru from the comfortable veranda, go for a stroll around the Moivaro property, or laze at the pool nestling in the midst of tropical trees and coffee plants. As a daily activity we arrange the Moivaro Village Walk. A unique opportunity to see everyday life in Tanzania and make closer contact with the local people. You can visit a local banana brewery and sample its beer; or hear the story of a local eccentric, and marvel at the tree house he fashioned for himself. A walk is typically 2 hours long and can involve a climb up Oldonyo Maas Hill for those looking for a more demanding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moivaro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moivaro Lodges And Tented Camps
Moivaro Lodges & Tented Camps Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing