We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moivaro Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
75
153
63
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
153
63
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationswimming poolnice bar areaa small gift shopthe cottagesmosquito nettingrelaxing placelush gardenskilimanjaro airportenjoyed my stayeast africagreat place to starttanzanian safaripre and poststayed two nightscouple of nightshot shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 328 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in Moivaro lodge for 1 night. The place was nice but the room was quite old (particularly the bathroom). We were happy to see the pool but the water was so cold that we could hardly enter. Dinner and breakfast were good.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Aurélie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to stay in Arusha. Green tropical garden with pool and lovely setting around the outside fireplace. Food is excellent, staff very helpfull. Only thing I missed were fruitshakes...
If want to relax and unwind in Arusha (which is quite busy) chose Moivaro.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlijn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night en-route from the Kenyan border to Lake Manyara/Ngorongoro. I wish we had known where we were headed was only a further 3hrs down the road, as we would rather have kept going and avoided this place.

There are two types of people that appear to use this lodge - people returning from climbing Kili, and people in transit, like us. The people returning from Kili generally like this place a lot better, i suspect because they have been hiking and camping for a week, and are happy to see hot showers, beds and a nice bar. These guests mostly seemed to be in bigger groups as well, which tend to (unintentionally!) crowd out other visitors. Those coming here from other lodges generally seem to be a bit unimpressed, as it doesnt compare to a lot of other similarly priced properties.

Whilst the grounds are very well-kept, everything else is just a bit lacking, and the staff are generally uninterested, some to the point of being a little surly. The rooms were just about adequate, but very dark and quite cold at night. Beds were soft, spongy and not that comfy. The bathrooms did not have a door - all they had was a saloon type door for the WC, which wasnt great! Showers were hot though, and the place was clean with mozzie spray provided.

The food was pretty good, with a half decent lunch selection, and a nice 3 course table d'hote meal in the evening. The bar area was nice, although quite cold, and the fire failed to heat anything because all the doors and windows were open. The wifi was quite bad.

Generally, ok for a necessary stopover, but not a destination lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a great place to relax and sleep off the Kilimanjaro climb - that is why most people appear to stay here. The garden is superb the cottages are spacious and clean. The hot shower is a fantastic gift after such a strenuous climb. The staff was very helpful. The only slight negative is that the quality of food at dinner was not up to the quality the lodge is known for in other areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel80000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Moivaro was a welcome oasis after travelling for about 2 days from home to here. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the private cottages are a great introduction to African rural life. Everything was clean, comfortable and well maintained. I would recommend Moivaro for transiting from Kilimanjaro to your safari or for total relaxation but since it is a fair drive from Arusha, not for sight-seeing in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are separate cottages and if you like walking,make what you are given. If distance worries you, request one nearer to the main building.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews