We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Moivaro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moivaro Lodge
Ranked #12 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night en-route from the Kenyan border to Lake Manyara/Ngorongoro. I wish we had known where we were headed was only a further 3hrs down the road, as we would rather have kept going and avoided this place.

There are two types of people that appear to use this lodge - people returning from climbing Kili, and people in transit, like us. The people returning from Kili generally like this place a lot better, i suspect because they have been hiking and camping for a week, and are happy to see hot showers, beds and a nice bar. These guests mostly seemed to be in bigger groups as well, which tend to (unintentionally!) crowd out other visitors. Those coming here from other lodges generally seem to be a bit unimpressed, as it doesnt compare to a lot of other similarly priced properties.

Whilst the grounds are very well-kept, everything else is just a bit lacking, and the staff are generally uninterested, some to the point of being a little surly. The rooms were just about adequate, but very dark and quite cold at night. Beds were soft, spongy and not that comfy. The bathrooms did not have a door - all they had was a saloon type door for the WC, which wasnt great! Showers were hot though, and the place was clean with mozzie spray provided.

The food was pretty good, with a half decent lunch selection, and a nice 3 course table d'hote meal in the evening. The bar area was nice, although quite cold, and the fire failed to heat anything because all the doors and windows were open. The wifi was quite bad.

Generally, ok for a necessary stopover, but not a destination lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Moivaro Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a great place to relax and sleep off the Kilimanjaro climb - that is why most people appear to stay here. The garden is superb the cottages are spacious and clean. The hot shower is a fantastic gift after such a strenuous climb. The staff was very helpful. The only slight negative is that the quality of food at dinner was not up to the quality the lodge is known for in other areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel80000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Moivaro was a welcome oasis after travelling for about 2 days from home to here. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the private cottages are a great introduction to African rural life. Everything was clean, comfortable and well maintained. I would recommend Moivaro for transiting from Kilimanjaro to your safari or for total relaxation but since it is a fair drive from Arusha, not for sight-seeing in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are separate cottages and if you like walking,make what you are given. If distance wor...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great service! Outside fire, fire in the bar area, tea time, to just great hospitality of the staff saying jambo. The manager was very hospitable. Relaxing rooms in the charming bungalos. The food was great- local dishes and fresh vegetables and fruits. Warm cozy environment in the bar/fireplace area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very relaxing, the lodge ground was beautiful green and lush we really enjoyed walking around on the estate and coming back to friendly staff and a nice cool drink at swimming pool, the manager Josef was charming and helpful, the food was nice and prepared with fresh spices.
We loved staying at Moivaro Lodge and would recommend this place to any-one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaTravelPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear African TravelPlan,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Moivaro Lodge, because we certainly enjoyed having you! We hope to see you again one day at our lodge, and share a nice cool drink at the pool..

Regards,

The Moivaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel are lovely but the service is poor and impersonal due, no doubt, due to its guaranteed business from travel companies who use this as a base for tour groups (pre and post Kilimajaro or going on safari).

The hotel is located some distance out of Arusha so you are obliged to pay expensive taxi fares if you want to get out at all. A further disappointment was a very limited dinner menu where you are obliged to order from a $20 fixed menu (four course) rather than being able to choose what you might eat.

My biggest disappointment was that, on returning from Kilimanjaro, they insisted on charging more than $200 for an upgrade to a single room. It wasn't worth it and I felt ripped off as I had no other choice as I needed my own space after some challenging (but amazing) days on the mountain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonEscapee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear London Escapee09,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that your experience at our was not only positive. We would like to respond to some of the issues you mentioned, because I am afraid there has been a miscommunication while you were staying at our lodge.

First of all, it doesn't costs $200 to upgrade to a single room, so that has been a mistake! We are very sorry if this means that you didn't book the upgrade, and therefore you did not get the privacy you were looking for.

Secondly it is not true that guests are obliged to take the 4 course dinner menu! Our guests are free to choose whatever they would like, either any course from this daily menu, or something from the standard dinner menu. I am afraid you have been misinformed, and we apologize for this!

Apparently we have to train our staff more, so that in the future these kind of mistakes don't happen. We hope that nevertheless you enjoyed your holiday in Tanzania, and once again we apologize for the misunderstandings.

Regards,

The Moivaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel has great grounds and truly wonderful to relax. However, it is way overpriced for the quality and standard. I also noted they quote one price and proceed to attempt to charge another. The sole focus appears to be on money and how much and how quick they can extract it from you with little regard for anything else. The food is limited in choice and as average as the rooms for standard and quality. If you can get this hotel at half the rack rate price it's worth doing, at full price... Move on and shop around, you could do much better for your dollar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
1.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
450 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
206 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moivaro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moivaro Lodge

Address: Arusha 00000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $140 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moivaro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moivaro Coffee Plantation Lodge & Estate, the lodge where you will stay in a charming atmosphere and enjoy every comfort you need. Moivaro Lodge is situated right in the heart of beautiful, natural scenery and yet is only 7 km from the town of Arusha: an ideal spot to enjoy the impressive flora and fauna of East Africa. At Moivaro Lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique, friendly and peaceful manner, helping you to prepare for your safaris and cosseting you on your return in the evening. Our spacious thatched brick cottages are set in a lovely tropical garden, with private verandas ensuring every visitor all the privacy needed. Relax and enjoy the beautiful views of Mount Meru from the comfortable veranda, go for a stroll around the Moivaro property, or laze at the pool nestling in the midst of tropical trees and coffee plants. As a daily activity we arrange the Moivaro Village Walk. A unique opportunity to see everyday life in Tanzania and make closer contact with the local people. You can visit a local banana brewery and sample its beer; or hear the story of a local eccentric, and marvel at the tree house he fashioned for himself. A walk is typically 2 hours long and can involve a climb up Oldonyo Maas Hill for those looking for a more demanding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Moivaro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moivaro Lodges And Tented Camps
Moivaro Lodges & Tented Camps Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing