We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moivaro Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$115
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$655
$635
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
75
153
63
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
153
63
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationswimming poolnice bar areaa small gift shopthe cottagesmosquito nettingrelaxing placelush gardenskilimanjaro airportenjoyed my stayeast africagreat place to starttanzanian safaripre and poststayed two nightscouple of nightshot shower
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 328 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great service! Outside fire, fire in the bar area, tea time, to just great hospitality of the staff saying jambo. The manager was very hospitable. Relaxing rooms in the charming bungalos. The food was great- local dishes and fresh vegetables and fruits. Warm cozy environment in the bar/fireplace area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very relaxing, the lodge ground was beautiful green and lush we really enjoyed walking around on the estate and coming back to friendly staff and a nice cool drink at swimming pool, the manager Josef was charming and helpful, the food was nice and prepared with fresh spices.
We loved staying at Moivaro Lodge and would recommend this place to any-one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaTravelPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear African TravelPlan,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Moivaro Lodge, because we certainly enjoyed having you! We hope to see you again one day at our lodge, and share a nice cool drink at the pool..

Regards,

The Moivaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel are lovely but the service is poor and impersonal due, no doubt, due to its guaranteed business from travel companies who use this as a base for tour groups (pre and post Kilimajaro or going on safari).

The hotel is located some distance out of Arusha so you are obliged to pay expensive taxi fares if you want to get out at all. A further disappointment was a very limited dinner menu where you are obliged to order from a $20 fixed menu (four course) rather than being able to choose what you might eat.

My biggest disappointment was that, on returning from Kilimanjaro, they insisted on charging more than $200 for an upgrade to a single room. It wasn't worth it and I felt ripped off as I had no other choice as I needed my own space after some challenging (but amazing) days on the mountain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonEscapee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear London Escapee09,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that your experience at our was not only positive. We would like to respond to some of the issues you mentioned, because I am afraid there has been a miscommunication while you were staying at our lodge.

First of all, it doesn't costs $200 to upgrade to a single room, so that has been a mistake! We are very sorry if this means that you didn't book the upgrade, and therefore you did not get the privacy you were looking for.

Secondly it is not true that guests are obliged to take the 4 course dinner menu! Our guests are free to choose whatever they would like, either any course from this daily menu, or something from the standard dinner menu. I am afraid you have been misinformed, and we apologize for this!

Apparently we have to train our staff more, so that in the future these kind of mistakes don't happen. We hope that nevertheless you enjoyed your holiday in Tanzania, and once again we apologize for the misunderstandings.

Regards,

The Moivaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel has great grounds and truly wonderful to relax. However, it is way overpriced for the quality and standard. I also noted they quote one price and proceed to attempt to charge another. The sole focus appears to be on money and how much and how quick they can extract it from you with little regard for anything else. The food is limited in choice and as average as the rooms for standard and quality. If you can get this hotel at half the rack rate price it's worth doing, at full price... Move on and shop around, you could do much better for your dollar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We only spent a night here but it marked itself in its contrast to the wonderful places and cheerful staff we found in just about every Tanzania venue. The front desk receptionist was surly, sour and acted as if our arrival was an imposition. Hardly a word. The dining wait staff was nice enough, and the manager came by to say hello, but most attention, perhaps rightfully, was on two large tour groups staying there at the same time. The pool and outdoor area is nice, with a great view of Mt. Meru, and the premises are quiet. Whether it was the plain decor, unhappy front desk staff or lack of personal attention, we would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notpassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews