We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start a safari”
Review of Moivaro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moivaro Lodge
Ranked #12 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Monceaux sur Dordogne
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to start a safari”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a long overnight flight, arrival before lunch gave us plenty of time to relax & catch up on sleep. Pool & loungers were welcome. Very quiet & comfortable lodge. Above all, the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help stood out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezArchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    136
    60
    26
    9
See reviews for
62
113
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall, the accommodation is mostly tented camps, the arusha moivaro lodge is their flagship 10/10, their service is terrific, friendly and warm and accommodation is extremely comfortable, food varied and delicious and the team know what you need before you know you need it, fabulous. I was on a 2 week safari staying mostly at tented camps belonging to this group, overall very good but a few were not up to the same standards, especially in cleanliness. This was mostly due to the age of the tents which allowed dirt and many insects in, torn fly wires etc. I would not hesitate to return to the Arusha moivaro lodge, in fact wished I could stay longer

Room Tip: Have a massage at the mt Kilimanjaro moivaro lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msw2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed two nights in early October: the night before we left for the Kili climb and the night upon returning from Kili. I arrived late on the first night, and I thought the room was fine. I had to kill a couple of bugs inside the mosquito netting, but I am not squeamish with bugs. And, you're in Africa, so get used to it. You can't drink the tap water so they give you bottled water. I heard that my neighbor had a sewage smell coming from the bathroom, but I didn't have issues. After the Kili climb, I took a very long hot shower (after not showering for 7 days, you would too), and I used up all my hot water. I am sure the 7 others in my Kili climb group had a share of that hot water. The grounds were very beautiful - bougainvillea and tropical plants blooming everywhere. Some people relaxed by the pool. I relaxed in the bar area in the comfortable verandah seating. We sat by the bonfire at night. I thought it was very pleasant for $105 a night. The reason I didn't give it 4 stars was because it had rained earlier in the day, and my bungalow entrance (inside and out) was infested with a full nest of ants who poured out of the ground. The staff tried to be helpful by spraying the ants, but they just left the dead ants lying there (they looked like a pile of dirt). The food was good and plentiful.

Room Tip: Check immediately if you have a sewage smell coming from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

As for most people we used this as a stop over after arriving at Kili airport. We arrived early afternoon which gave us time to relax around the grounds which are lovely, It was a bit too chilly/cloudy to use the pool though.The evening meal was very good and breakfast the following morning was also very good.

The rooms themselves were very comfortable, nets were provided but we didn't see a single mozzie while we were there.

Overall a very nice way to start our holiday in Tanzania.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rids64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived at Kilimanjaro Airport at 1930 and stayed 1 night at Movairo prior to starting our safari. We were picked up and driven to the lodge, about an hours journey. The lodge itself looked ok from the outside. The rooms were just ok and could definitely do with a bit of a face lift. The shower water was nice and hot but the bathroom was a bit dark and dingy overall. We were leaving for Arusha airport early the next morning so were just looking for a place to sleep after our long-haul flight. The lodge fit the bill. Bed comfortable..Can't comment on the quality of the dinner as we didn't have it, but the breakfast was more than adequate.
One comment was the lack-lustre attitude of the lady at the reception desk on our arrival who didn't seem to care less. Service with a smile would be nice...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The place is beautiful friendly staff and big rooms, food needs major improvement, if you do stay take Daniel for the coffee tour 10 US $ per person,
Wifi is free which is nice, We enjoyed our stay...........

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Tomeri, thank you for staying at Moivaro! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge, and we also enjoyed having you! Of course we are always looking for ways to improve our service, and the food is one of the issues we will definitely address. Hopefully next time you're around we will be able to make your stay at Moivaro even better.

So thank you for your review and we wish you all the best! The Moivaro team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were booked in here by the company that organised our trek up Killimanjaro and frankly this hotel does not seem to have to try too hard because it gets this regular flow of business. The main house is pleasant and there was a fire in the bar which was welcoming and we have could have done with some heating in the lodges. These were very basic with limited amounts of hot water. In fact we rushed down Killi in order to ensure that we could all have showers and the water was pretty tepid by the end. The most disappointing aspect was the food. The breakfast bar was not replenished when items ran out and the dinner was very average. We had far better food cooked by our porters at 15000 feet than in this hotel. And the coffee was appalling which is not good for a coffee plantation! Finally no one seemed to care and the service was very patchy. If you have another option - do not go here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
571 reviews
3.7 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
960 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 42 in Arusha
137 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 170 in Arusha
741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arusha Safari Lodge
Arusha Safari Lodge
#11 of 42 in Arusha
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moivaro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moivaro Lodge

Property: Moivaro Lodge
Address: Arusha 00000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moivaro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moivaro Coffee Plantation Lodge & Estate, the lodge where you will stay in a charming atmosphere and enjoy every comfort you need. Moivaro Lodge is situated right in the heart of beautiful, natural scenery and yet is only 7 km from the town of Arusha: an ideal spot to enjoy the impressive flora and fauna of East Africa. At Moivaro Lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique, friendly and peaceful manner, helping you to prepare for your safaris and cosseting you on your return in the evening. Our spacious thatched brick cottages are set in a lovely tropical garden, with private verandas ensuring every visitor all the privacy needed. Relax and enjoy the beautiful views of Mount Meru from the comfortable veranda, go for a stroll around the Moivaro property, or laze at the pool nestling in the midst of tropical trees and coffee plants. As a daily activity we arrange the Moivaro Village Walk. A unique opportunity to see everyday life in Tanzania and make closer contact with the local people. You can visit a local banana brewery and sample its beer; or hear the story of a local eccentric, and marvel at the tree house he fashioned for himself. A walk is typically 2 hours long and can involve a climb up Oldonyo Maas Hill for those looking for a more demanding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Moivaro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moivaro Lodges And Tented Camps
Moivaro Lodges & Tented Camps Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing