We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Friendly ,Food needs serious improvement”
Review of Moivaro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moivaro Lodge
Ranked #14 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The place is beautiful friendly staff and big rooms, food needs major improvement, if you do stay take Daniel for the coffee tour 10 US $ per person,
Wifi is free which is nice, We enjoyed our stay...........

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Tomeri, thank you for staying at Moivaro! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge, and we also enjoyed having you! Of course we are always looking for ways to improve our service, and the food is one of the issues we will definitely address. Hopefully next time you're around we will be able to make your stay at Moivaro even better.

So thank you for your review and we wish you all the best! The Moivaro team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were booked in here by the company that organised our trek up Killimanjaro and frankly this hotel does not seem to have to try too hard because it gets this regular flow of business. The main house is pleasant and there was a fire in the bar which was welcoming and we have could have done with some heating in the lodges. These were very basic with limited amounts of hot water. In fact we rushed down Killi in order to ensure that we could all have showers and the water was pretty tepid by the end. The most disappointing aspect was the food. The breakfast bar was not replenished when items ran out and the dinner was very average. We had far better food cooked by our porters at 15000 feet than in this hotel. And the coffee was appalling which is not good for a coffee plantation! Finally no one seemed to care and the service was very patchy. If you have another option - do not go here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The surroundings and the property may be very nice, the rooms are terrible. Lousy linens, hardware that is falling apart, lack of proper lighting, lack of functioning electric receptacles, sink that is cracked as well as the water sem being loose. Should I continue?

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Way overpriced. The most disappointing coffee I've tasted and generally the quality of meals was disappointing. Room was clean, limited hot water and intermittent elcectricity. The staff were friendly but service was slow. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Afrovibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We flew into Kilimanjaro Airport at 7pm and were driven here by our trip operator in approx. one hour. Most people here seemed to be heading off to or from safari/ climb Kilimanjaro. The main lodge was beautiful with thatched roof, bamboo and tastefully decorated. They gave us two lodges- one for the kids and one for us and escorted us with their with flashlights. The rooms were decent with a nice fire place (Which was lit for us while we were at dinner- returned back to a nice warm room). Mosquito net in the bedroom but had no problems with mosquitos. The bathroom is a bit odd- open shower and separate toilet with half door- not private. Dinner was good- staff very warm and hospitable. Tried the local beer "Tusker" for the first time and was hooked!
Had time for an early breakfast and got a glimpse of the grounds- lush green and beautiful flowers- pool looked inviting but didn't have the time to test it out. Buffet breakfast with made to order omelet was good. We were first able to see the village on the drive out from the lodge early in the morning as we left for Tarangire National Park and wished we had more time to explore the plantation and area.

Room Tip: Good for overnight stay. Plenty of kids and families. Gets cold at night so do request for the fire...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Luv2travel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here at the beginning of our 6-week, 6,000 mile trip around southern Africa in her pickup truck. We found the plantation just lovely. We stayed in one of the cottages at the lodge, very clean and comfortable, food was just fine and the staff were warm and responsive. Our only complaint was that there was no computer access as they were having lots of power outages. But, that's just Africa.
On our walk around the property we encountered one of the staff and had a great conversation. I still remember his quote: "This is so very good land. If you plant a seed, it will grow."
The sign for the lodge was missing, and we had a bit of trouble finding it, but we were so happy once we did. The quiet location was very soothing after many miles of driving, it was great to find a lodge away from the road traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoVTArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We only stayed one night here, but enjoyed the beautiful location and a guided walk around the plantation and village, which was fun and interesting. Food was good and service staff very friendly. Room a little basic, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Recarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
647 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Usa River
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#11 of 45 in Arusha
140 reviews
3.7 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moivaro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moivaro Lodge

Address: Arusha 00000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: $177 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moivaro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moivaro Coffee Plantation Lodge & Estate, the lodge where you will stay in a charming atmosphere and enjoy every comfort you need. Moivaro Lodge is situated right in the heart of beautiful, natural scenery and yet is only 7 km from the town of Arusha: an ideal spot to enjoy the impressive flora and fauna of East Africa. At Moivaro Lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique, friendly and peaceful manner, helping you to prepare for your safaris and cosseting you on your return in the evening. Our spacious thatched brick cottages are set in a lovely tropical garden, with private verandas ensuring every visitor all the privacy needed. Relax and enjoy the beautiful views of Mount Meru from the comfortable veranda, go for a stroll around the Moivaro property, or laze at the pool nestling in the midst of tropical trees and coffee plants. As a daily activity we arrange the Moivaro Village Walk. A unique opportunity to see everyday life in Tanzania and make closer contact with the local people. You can visit a local banana brewery and sample its beer; or hear the story of a local eccentric, and marvel at the tree house he fashioned for himself. A walk is typically 2 hours long and can involve a climb up Oldonyo Maas Hill for those looking for a more demanding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moivaro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moivaro Lodges & Tented Camps Hotel Arusha
Moivaro Lodges And Tented Camps

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing