We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the centre of Arusha, within walking distance to the International Conference Centre, airline offices and banks”
Review of The Arusha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The Arusha Hotel, some time ago also called the New Arusha Hotel, is my regular choice for business visits to Arusha.
Everything is within walking distance from the hotel, although cabs are available just outside the reception.
Wireless internet access is available, for good speed and reliable, which is not always the case in other hotels in Arusha I stayed on past visits.
Very good spread for the breakfast buffet and decent food for lunch and supper from the a la carte menu or the buffet.
The superior rooms are well appointed and provide the added space for working in the room, as and when required.
It is not a 'luxury' or '5*' property, but a good solid local 4* with all a business traveller needs.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for The Arusha Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

Great hotel with a fantastic atmosphere and a beautiful garden. I feel at home and relaxed whenever I am staying there. It is an oasis and I like that the hotel arrange cultural and musical events. The gym is great and overlooks the pool. At the same time the hotel is very central. I warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoylifetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We have spent one night at The Arusha Hotel after a successful Kili-climb. Never in my life was I so happy with a hot bath!!!! The hotel, its garden and the rooms are very nice and comfortable, dinner was delicious (they had an Indian night), maybe the best one can get in Tanzania, breakfast not up to expectations, but not very bad either. We also tried the coctails at Hatari Bar, much better than in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egermadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel on 5 different occassions last year. I keep going back to the same hotel again and again because I simply loved its location, Rooms (The new wing is SUPERB) Infact I got a room on the First floor - Pool facing and I always preferred the same room all the time, Service is excellent. The Lobby Manager @ the Reception was extremely professional. Infact I keep calling this gentleman all the time when I book at this hotel.
Breakfast is okay. Nothing great.. Just the usual stuff. But Service in the Restaurant was Good (Except for one day). They have a Bar on the basement level which is just ok. It was not crowded and peaceful. The Chicken Makhani what I ordered for dinner at the Restaurant was simply too perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJose012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stayed at the New Arusha Hotel on the night before climbing Kilimanjaro and on the night of my return, my wife stayed at the hotel for the duration of my climb a total of eight days.
We enjoyed our stay greatly, our excutive room was well appointed and comfortable, the restaurant, food and general facilities were of a very high standard, plus a lovely garden.
What impressed us most of all was the friendly and efficient staff, from reception to the dining room, in fact in all areas of the hotel we found the staff professional and attentive making our stay a pleasant and happy experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babahogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This was my first trip to Tanzania, and I chose this hotel because it seemed secure and the staff was extremely professional on phone and via email. I stayed at the Arusha Hotel for one night on my own before meeting friends at the Arusha airfield the afternoon after my arrival. I was a little nervous about arriving and staying in Arusha on my own, but the hotel made me feel well looked after. The hotel arranged to have a taxi meet me at the airport and I felt very secure there that evening. The next day I asked the concierge if they could arrange for a taxi driver to take me around the local area so I could get a feel for the town. They secured the same taxi driver to tour me around. First we drove all around town and then walked through the market area and even through the grocery store (yes, driver thought this request odd, but I wanted to see it.) We drove on the main road and on the back roads, well "roads" might be stretching it. The room was very nice and huge, a suite actually. Comfortable and clean. Bedroom, sitting room, 2 flat panel tv's, 2 bathrooms. A nice bar/lounge off lobby. Good breakfast. It was too cool for the pool at the time, but looked lovely. Great location and great value. I would definitely suggest it for anyone looking for an Arusha hotel before departing on safari.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyorker020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

i spent 2 nights at the new arusha hotel. it is very nice, clean, and comfortable. good service. breakfast is good. the bathrooms are small, but they're fine. you have to make sure you ask for a room with an air conditioner b/c not all the rooms have them. the location is pretty good too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bij819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 44 in Arusha
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 44 in Arusha
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Arusha
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 44 in Arusha
984 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 44 in Arusha
451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 44 in Arusha
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arusha Hotel

Address: Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: $182 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conferencing and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing